We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarrassed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Capitol

U.S. Capitol
East Capitol St NE & First St SE, Washington DC, DC 20515
202-226-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #30 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Government Buildings, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Capitol is among the most architecturally impressive and symbolically important buildings in the world. The Senate and the House of Representatives have met here for more than two centuries. Begun in 1793, the Capitol has been built, burnt, rebuilt, extended, and restored; today, it stands as a monument not only to its builders but also to the American people and their government.
ANTIOCH
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Embarrassed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I actually took the tour in September and was lost for words and is why it took me so long to review with out using profanity. The tour guide was a person with the heaviest accent that I have heard in a long time, I could barely understand him and you would think that the u. s . government could at least get someone that could explain our history better and clearly, A VETERAN THAT IS APPALLED AT OUR GOVERNMENT, THEY CARE NOTHING ABOUT THE HISTORY OF OUR NATION AND ITS PEOPLE.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    330
    98
    49
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakota Dunes, SD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Once the Shutdown is Over, Make Plans to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Capitol was everything that I had hoped it would be and more. While many of the historical venues and attractions in Washington are free of charge, you can visit the Capitol without hassle by securing visitor passes online before your visit. This will eliminate long lines and unnecessary waiting once you reach your scheduled visit day. The brief film at the beginning is very engaging, and the tour guides are extremely knowledgeable. You may also visit a session, if one is taking place during your visit. Might I also suggest the visit of the museum within the lower level, broken down into vignettes of specific historical time periods as this was very educational and entertaining for the children. It was a great visit overall, and one that I would love to do again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Another Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Timed tickets which you must pre-book online. Well organised and plenty of security checks of course. A short cinema show first before the tours start. The tour guides now use wireless headsets and you earpieces/headphones to follow them with as there are LOADS of tours and people all around you and you would not hear anything if they had to shout.Lots of history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela, Hawaii
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“VERY INTERESTING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I contacted my state representative a few months in advance of our trip to D.C. to see if they could get me a tour of the Capitol Building. We met them in their office near the Capitol and they had an intern take us on a private tour. It was very interesting and we even got to sit in on the Senate in session. I highly recommend seeing the Capitol.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

You need to do the tour, so anybody who wants to go at their own pace should look elsewhere (no self guided tours allowed). I thoroughly enjoyed it. All of the history! And there is even an underground tunnel connecting to the Library of Congress! I only wish you could walk by the actual House and Senate chambers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Capitol also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.