We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Hill

Capitol Hill
First Street Southeast, Washington DC, DC 20510 (National Mall)
202.226.8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 249 attractions in Washington DC
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Government Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At the east end of The Mall, the Hill is home to the U.S. Capitol.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

the free guided tour through the capitol is a must even for people from outside the US! the architecture is gorgeous, the statues are great and the information they give you is very interesting!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    257
    54
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice to see in real what you see in films and series”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I am living in The Netherlands and have seen the Capitol in a lot of movies and films. When I had to go to Washington for my work, visiting the Capitol was on my list.
I had a (free) tour in The Capitol, which you can book via there website; it was very interesting to see how the building went larger the more citizens the USA had, and that before The Capitol there was no Washington, just a hill besides the Potomac.
You can get (free) tickets in the corners of the visitors hall for the House of Representatives and the Senate; I went to both.
it was an experience to be in both chambers, although the House of representatives was not in session when I was there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
689 reviews 689 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Awesome look at our government and how it works.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Amazing architecture, which emits power grandeur and greatness.
The tour inside is a great educational tool into the under standing of how our govern -ment works.
This is a must see must do while at our nations capital.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing history and architecture! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

No matter what politics you follow this building is a shrine and masterpiece of anything "American"! The history, sheer size of the building, and everything it represents is amazing. Take a guided tour and see what went into building the flagship of our democracy!

You will never look at D.C. the same...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good to do in dc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Pls remember to book early for the tours through capitol since they are very popular. you are better off with a web booking than standing in queue for the spots of the say. you dont get to see an awfullot though and dont expect to see a senate in session during one of these tours ( they have to be separately arranged thro your senator) but the experience is still worthwhile

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Hill also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Capitol Hill to your Saves list