We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Hill

Capitol Hill
First Street Southeast, Washington DC, DC 20510 (National Mall)
202.226.8000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Capitol Hill like an insider
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #38 of 472 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the east end of The Mall, the Hill is home to the U.S. Capitol.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Afterall the USA is the richest country on earth!
Of course it is bigger and (perhaps) more interesting than Capitol Hill in Ottawa, but any of the museums on the Mall I found more interesting than the Capitol.
The endless security checks became annoying.
We had a great guide who looked after everything including the 4 (four!) tickets we needed to go from 1 stage to another.
After having seen the Art Deco City Hall in Buffalo, I was not impressed, but was left with the impression that the qaulity of workmanship in Buffalo was much better.
Granted, the Capitol is over 200 years old and the City Hall less than 100, but I was more in awe with the City Hall in Buffalo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    395
    84
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of Walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I like to hear the carillon near the Capitol, have lunch at one of the good restaurants nearby, and visit the House and Senat office buildings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So much history on one block!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Capitol Hill is an amazing place!! Make sure you get a Capitol tour and drop by the Library of Congress. Both are at least as beautiful on the inside as they are on the outside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went for a tour of Capital Hill the Friday after Hurricane sandy hit. There was very few people. I was able to walk in a get a tour ticket and go on the tour in 5 minutes. We had a very knowledgeable guide who was informative and entertaining.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Must see - make sure you get Congress & Senate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well worth the visit - huge visitor centre in the underground at the back (like the Louve in Paris). There is an ok tour of the common areas and Rotunda. Make sure however if you are not from the US that you bring your passport ID and you can get into the Congress viewing gallery (one of the most powerful rooms in the world), and if you ask the guards nicely, they can let you into the Senate viewing gallery on the other side.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Hill also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.