We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Hill

Capitol Hill
First Street Southeast, Washington DC, DC 20510 (National Mall)
202.226.8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #26 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Government Buildings, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the east end of The Mall, the Hill is home to the U.S. Capitol.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Book!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were advised before we went to book a tour time before our trip and I'm so glad we did.

Despite turning up on time at what we thought was the front (facing the mall) we made a quick dash around the back and although late made it onto the next tour.

The tour is short, comprising of a movie and then a tour of several rooms. And It would have been nice to look around the rooms more, but I understand they have to get lots of people in and out so this would not be possible.

It's worth spending some time looking around outside to, there's some lovely architecture here

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    363
    73
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harwinton, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The National Mall, Washington, D.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Whether you agree or disagree with the things that go on in Washington, the very idea that you can walk right up the steps of our Nation's Captiol is an empowering and inspiring notion. There aren't many other places in the world in which you can do this so take advantage, be grateful and pause a moment to thank those who make it possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This tour is a must see. So much beauty steeped in history. Everywhere you look you will be in awe of such a beautiful place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jacinto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Take the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Make time to take the tour, its amazing and far better then just walking around on your own. you also get to see places that by yourself you can not.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Loved the Emancipation Hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This review is of our return visit to the capitol Building, we actually managed to enter the building and tour the Emancipation Hall. It was incredibly busy and HOT.

The lines to get timed passes were so long that we did not bother to stand in line. We got the necessary printed material, read it and went through the different sections of the emancipation hall. The hall has sculptures and statutes of persons that influenced the course of history from different states; Arizona, Hawaii, North Dakota and Wyoming to mention but a few.

The Emancipation hall was built by slaves, and was named so in honor of those slaves who built it. From what I gathered from some of the visitors, getting a timed pass is worth the wait. I recommend you do, if you have the patience to do so.
Access is through the Visitors Center which was constructed in 2000, but not opened to the public until 2008. Security is highest at this location and any other public buildings in the DC area. No water, food or liquids of any nature is allowed. Security screening is like that at the airport; my daughter forgot her belt on, and triggered the scan alarms and had to go back through the screen. Photographs are not allowed until you go through security.

Since I did not go through other exhibitions, I’m not sure if photographs are allowed past the Emancipation hall. We entered through the tunnel from the Library of Congress.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Hill also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.