We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the Kennedy Center...5 stars for sure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
2700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20566
800-444-1324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's the Kennedy Center...5 stars for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Surprised my boyfriend with tickets to see Book of Mormon for his birthday. He travels to New York frequently for work and had tried to catch it there numerous times. Bought the tickets on StubHub since the performance was sold out and ended up paying as much as I would have if we had gone to see it on Broadway. The show was wonderful, the seats were great and the surprise worked out well. The Kennedy Center is a must visit for anyone coming to DC. One note--when we were walking in, there was a woman entering with her infant and the ticket collector's face fell when she saw her...in a very nice way. Even infants going to see a show at the Kennedy Center have to have a ticket and the collector very obviously was upset about having to tell the woman.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    218
    47
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A Night at the Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were here for an Opera... a Wagner Opera... so we knew we were in for the long haul. We got there early for the six o'clock start and walked around. The views from the terrace is as good a vistas as you will get in DC. This place is huge... and it can dwarf you quickly.

The Opera House is modernistic in the realm of Opera Houses, but the acoustics and sight lines are superb. The cafe is cafeteria style and has a nice selection of nibbles for pre-performance dining... and the dining room is restaurant unto itself... and better suited for a later starting performance.

While the Opera tix can be pricey, there is a free offering of music at six most evenings, so check the sched and you might get some free entertainment at a champagne venue.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We attended the Million Dollar Quartet in the Eisenhower Hall.
An excellent show. We also saw the free concert from 5-6pm daily. A wonderful violinist, beautiful pianist and great classical guitarist.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
470 reviews 470 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“lovely venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a great place to see a show and enjoy the arts. I always love coming here. Tip: take the Metro. Flat rate parking of $22 is outrageous for a 2 1/2 stay.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Quartet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wow! We loved this show -- so much fun -- and the actors had THE most amazing voices. And the acting? Wow! We had a great time -- we recommend it to anyone who likes rock 'n roll.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.