We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great theater, great performance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
2700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20566
800-444-1324
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$69*
and up
Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour
Ranked #31 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great theater, great performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We watched National Youth Symphony Orchestra concert, and Joshua Bell played Tchaikovsky violin concerto. Kennedy Center is huge, there are 3 theaters in it. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    230
    50
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must Go to this Memorial Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Kennedy Center is not just for theater and opera -- I went to an amazing conference here for Special Needs Art Education and learned that Kennedy"s sister Jean started this amazing program (VSA), along with being ambassador to Ireland. On the upstairs huge terrance, which surrounds the building, you can walk all the way around and get excellent views of the city and monuments in the distance. Inspiring quotes by Kennedy about the arts' relation to civilization are engraved on the walls, and there is an enormous bronze head of Kennedy on the main floor. Other discoveries: You need a tour guide to see the art, which is roped off in lobbies, so I missed that experience. There are free shows at 6 pm every night on open stages in the Millenium hallway (I saw a local teen musical about National zoo animals missing their home habitats -- good social awareness) -- the day before was Kentucky Blue Grass and the day after was from China... diversity plus. Saw the mystery comedy Shear Madness for half price (rush tickets at box office discounted to $24) and loved it, although I didn't expect to -- not just slapstick, but wordplay and updated with current news references. Clever, gay content, and don't read this if you like surprises, but the audience picks the killer by vote and determines the end of the play. Great set, too, and silly hats and snacks and cocktails available for sale at intermission. TRANSPORTATION: there is a free red shuttle bus between Foggy Bottom Metro station and the K center (people were singing on the bus! a first for me). The gift shop is somewhat overpriced ( I found similar items the next day for a third less) but it is a good cause, so okay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Lebanon, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exciting Kennedy Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Attended a conference at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. It was amazing and exciting. The staff was cordial, efficient and very helpful!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Play at thte Kennedy Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter and granddaughter enjoyed a play while we were on our trip in DC and they both enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Amazing show every night at 6 pm during the summer! I wish we could have spent more time here, there wasn't much of a crowd.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.