We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharing Arts for Free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
2700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20566
800-444-1324
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$69*
and up
Arlington National Cemetery and War Memorials Tour
Ranked #31 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Beijing, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sharing Arts for Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Whenever the day of the year, take the free shuttle bus from GWU (Foggy Bottom) and reach the Center before 6 pm for free performance on Millenium stage. Always worth it - changes every day, extremely diverse, dancing, singing, jazz, classical music, flamenco, etc. Never got tired of this !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    230
    50
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Free musical performance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Happenings every Wednesday at 6 pm - free!. I went there and it was a live music performance by a Serbian artiste. He played memorable music themes from popular movies on the classical guitar. It was about an hour long performance. Snapping pictures at the vast Kennedy center was also great in the evening, but bring along a good camera for this rather vantage location.
How to get there - I took the Metro and stop at Foggy-bottom station. Then follow the signs, it's about a mile away walk past the George Washington University campus.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Very Majestic Enterance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I enjoyed attending a performance of the National Symphony Orchestra. Loved the red carpet. The bust of President Kennedy, in the hall, outside the Opera Concert Hall, is modern and well done. A very elegant building. The tall ceilings with flags gives the Center a sense of American cultural pride.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful "White Christmas"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Two of my best gal pals and I just went to the Kennedy Center for opening night of "White Christmas." It was absolutely wonderful! The production was great, especially considering we were almost in the back row. Plus, the center is only a short walk from the Metro station, and all the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful, as usual. I have loved seeing shows here for years, and will continue to do so for many more!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Nutcracker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I went with two colleagues to see Ballet West perform the Nutcracker at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Beautiful place. Very nice and affordable gift shop. I the gift shop stayed open a little later after performances. No photos are allowed in the theater.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.