We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow with a Capital WOW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille - Washington DC

Capital Grille - Washington DC
Washington DC, DC (Downtown / Chinatown)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $60 - $70
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 6th Street
Transit: National Archives Metro Stop
West Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow with a Capital WOW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had reservations on a Saturday night for 7pm and were seated right away which was nice. Excellent wine and the French Onion Soup was out of this world. My husband said that his Kona Sirloin steak was the best Sirloin steak he has ever had. Our waiter was extremely knowledgable with the menu and made great suggestions. The service was impeccable. Be prepared to pay though. Prices are a little high, however for the service and the quality of the food, we did not mind paying. My rating would have received an excellent, but my husbands dessert was a trio of sorbet, instead of the mint that was told was one of the trio combinations, he received a peanut butter flavor. Not good when you are allergic to Peanuts after you take a bite to realize it was peanut butter. Luckily, the one small bite did not give him much of a reaction.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    62
    40
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Steak house vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place was packed - a noisy, active and lively scene. The fare is basic high-end steak house - you know big steaks, side dishes like creamed spinach and french fries. If you like the steak house vibe this is a good place to take the steak eaters in your life while visiting the capital.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Crock of French Onion Soup Anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Soup was delicious. Spend the extra $2.00 to get the crock. It is oozing with cheese and served piping hot with crunchy french bread. The burgers were quite big. The ribeye sandwich was good but a little fatty. The parmesean fries were a little unusual. Would stick with the soup and salad next time. Also....they really need a kids menu.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overbooked and Not Sorry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had reservations for 8:30. We did not get sat until 9:45PM for dinner. Not a sorry, nothing from management, nothing removed from the bill. I guess they are so big they forgot how to treat the patron.

Food was great. Service was incredible. But the overall experience was tainted due to the overbooking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Had a Delicious Meal Like Usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a deliciousl meal like usual. You can see from my posts that if there is a Capitol Grille in an area, we usually go because we know the food will be good.
I had the wedge salad, as I always do, and it was delicious and I actually went outside the box and tried the fish special that was outstanding. Absolutely outstanding. I'm not usually all that willing to try new things when the tried and true menu items are usually delicious, but wow- what a great meal! It was a blackened fish and it is my favorite way to eat fish and they did not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille - Washington DC also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille - Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille - Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.