We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panache Restaurant

Panache Restaurant
1725 Desales St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4406 (Dupont Circle)
202-293-7760
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Panache Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #464 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between L/M and 17th/Conn.
Transit: Farragut North Metro Station, take Connecticut Ave towards L St or Dupont Circle. Pass the Mayflower Hotel, right on Desales St. Restaurant located on the left hand side.
metropolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The food was good and everything was nice. It was crowded and noisy but since enver going there before, overall, I think it was great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Mo.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice late dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived at the Renaissance Mayflower 9 PM. This small pleasant restaurant is across the street. We had several "small" plates selections. Good food. Good service. Pleasant interior. Nice outdoor patio on the sidewalk, though not much of a scenic view. It is not a "destination" type restaurant, but it is a good late night dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“I would NOT recommend this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have lived in DC for 14 years and have eaten at many of the wonderful restaurants in this city. Panache is not one of them. We ordered the Ahi Tuna entree and it was tough and overcooked even though we ordered it rare (as "the chef recommended it"). The restaurant also failed to remove our appetizer plates from our very small two person table the entire duration of our time at the restaurant - even though several staff came by (including the waiter, busboy, hostess and who I believe to be the manager). There are so many other wonderful restaurants in DC, stay away from this one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, Great Waitstaff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a great meal. Was in DC 5/26/12 to see daughter dance at Kennedy Center. Arrived the day before staying at the Mayflower. Across the street is Panache. Had tapas (on the menu they got about 20 hot and 20 cold.). Like most tapas bars you can either eat off the tapas only or have tapas as an appetizer and entrées. We did both. The "tapas" are really BIG appetizer plates. We ordered mozzarella, grilled portobello with goat cheese, chicken with chorizo (my son's favorite - he is heading off to the CIA after graduation), muscles in red , and rock fish wrapped in potato sliver. Pitcher of fresh Sangria (red), great mix of red wine and fruit, Growing kids hungry so son had rack of lamb- great, Dr. C (wife) had seafood risotto- great. I had pesto chicken fettuccini very good. We had the best waiter, Javier Z. Attentive yet non-intrusive. If you stay at the Mayflower, walk across the street to the left and EAT THERE.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very accommodating for large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We entertained a large group (20) for dinner. We found the service to be top notch. We decided to go family style ordering tapas. The restaurant is directly across the street from the Mayflower Hotel.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panache Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Panache Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panache Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.