We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closing week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renwick Gallery

Renwick Gallery
17th Street and Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
202-357-2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum of American craft art that begins with James Renwick’s architectural design of the building itself.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
263 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Closing week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sadly this was my first visit and will be the last for 2 years as they totally renovate the building.What a beautiful spot this is.The stairs alone were worth the visit-marble and beautiul.A lovely selection of American painters in the Grand Salon and a view of the ceramics exhibition and we were out of the door.Well worth catching before they close doors.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    36
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thomas Gray exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a wonderful, small museum. And, it is free. The exhibit area is not large, so you do not feel overwhelmed. It has a nice gift shop and is very close to other museums. A quick walk from the Metro.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My FAVORITE of all the FREE Smithsonian Galleries!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

OMG ... was just wandering and because I love architecture this building caught my eye and I went in. What a blessing I did, a blend of nice portrait art and "thoughtful", and deeply creative contemporary art. I state it this way because I'm not really attracted to modern or contemporary art but the items there were so creative in a utilitarian sense with such a depth of meaning I couldn't leave and probably spent more time here than in the National Gallery as there was an hour long video regarding all the different exhibits. Definitely not to be missed is the Bureau of Bureaucracy:http://www.kimschmahmann.com/pages/g_bureau.html

This is the type of depth found in many of the works here! A not to be missed very small and intimate gallery!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely little art museum with free admission just steps from White House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The Renwick Gallery is a great little museum focused on American crafts and decorative arts. Just a few steps from the White House and admission is free. Beautiful building and collection, changing exhibits. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
753 reviews
374 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Nice art museum, though with lots of competition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is an interesting specialty museum that is a remote subsite of the Smithsonian American Art Museum. Its permanent collection, housed primarily on its second floor, consists primarily of modern sculpture (including a lot of glasswork) and paintings that seem to be refugees from the main American Art Museum (though excellently curated and put into context). The temporary exhibits are novel and interesting, and on this visit consisted of the works of Thomas Day, a master craftsman and free man of color in North Carolina before the Civil War. With the Corcoran almost next door and the National Gallery of Art and the Hirshhorn a long walk away on the Mall, this museum suffers slightly from the competition. However, it is definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renwick Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Renwick Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renwick Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.