We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian Institution Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
1050 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20560 (National Mall)
(202) 633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Arthur M. Sackler Gallery and the neighboring Freer Gallery of Art form the national museum of Asian art for the United States. As part of the Smithsonian Institution, the galleries are dedicated to advancing public knowledge about the arts and cultures of Asia through exhibitions, publications, research and education. The Sackler Gallery, located at 1050 Independence Avenue S.W., on the National Mall in Washington, is open every day except Dec. 25., from 10 a.m. until 5:30 p.m., and admission is free.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sackler Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We saw a yoga exhibit- packed and really interesting - gem of a gallery- and free lockers to store your coats and suitcases- a real plus

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    76
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Pa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Peacock Room is a Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

After seeing the Peacock Room on a DVD that took a look a the life of artist John Whistler, I found out that the Peacock Room, which he helped design for a wealthy London ship owner, was now enshrined in the Freer Gallery, I made a special effort to see it on a recent visit to Washington, DC. The room had been moved three times from its original house in London to a London gallery then shipped to Freer's mansion in Detroit and finally to Washington to the Freer Gallery. The room is very beautiful and gets its name from Whistler's painting of two fighting peacocks that has a prominent display in the room. In the walls a special framework was designed to exhibit Freer's wonderful collection of Asian porcelain. As they were included in Freer's Detroit mansion, the room holds a special exhibit of old Biblical texts, which will not be up for very much longer. The rest of the Freer has an extensive collection of works from Asian countries. The museum also has a wonderful courtyard with benches and a great display of plants, shrubs and trees.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, Alberta
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“interesting special exhibit on yoga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

this is a smaller museum that is underground for the most part. it features asian art and has special exhibits that revolve so that it keeps fresh. the museum is quiet and little traveled, and is a great place on a rainy day where you want to go through things at a deliberate place. note that it is smaller than a number of the other smithsonian museums, and will take only about half a day to go through.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful old Bibles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had an unexpected rainy Sunday afternoon and we went to the Freer. We visited the Peacock room and saw the oldest Bible sections we've seen yet! The codex of the Gospels is from the 4th to 5th century and the Psalms is from the 7th. We have been to many Cathedrals and not seen such early Bibles. While encased in glass, you can get very close. Nice museum.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Asian Art Treasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I am always enlightened when viewing special exhibits at the Freer and Sackler Gallery. And it is always nice to revisit the permanent collections. Our December 2013 focused on the exhibit about the history of Yoga.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian Institution Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian Institution Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian Institution Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.