We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phillips Collection

The Phillips Collection
1600 21st St. N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)
202 387 2151
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #17 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Americas First Museum of American Art" boasts a collection of over 2,500 19th and 20th-century masters, both American and European, including Renoir, Picasso, Gauguin, Manet, OKeefe and more.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm so glad American friends recommended a visit to this amazing collection of both American and European art. The Renoir Boating Party and the Rothko room are alone worth the visit, but add the El Greco, other European Masters, and great American art and it is unmissable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    130
    28
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If only for The Luncheon of the Boat Party, GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was impressed by the El Greco, I liked two of the Van Gogh's, Matisse is always interesting, then I turned the corner and saw The Luncheon of the Boat Party and it was as if it exploded off the wall it made such a huge impact! Renoir just captured a moment that is so worth studying. It is simply an incredible work of art.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I loved this collection for its splendid choices of artists and works. It seems that this collection represents some of the most important works of contemporary art. I loved the Rothko room, a rare opportunity to experience an artist view and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a remarkable collection of art. If you like modern art, don't miss it. From Degas to Picasso to Harry Callahan plus many, many more. There are plenty of places to see art in DC and if you like the Hirshhorn, you'll love this.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, DE
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This gem of a museum has wonderful art in a lovely setting. Staff is helpful and it was not crowded on a Sunday afternoon. We were able to take time and appreciate the art. It is a block from the metro station,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Phillips Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phillips Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.