We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to take photos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Creek Park

Rock Creek Park
3545 Williamsburg Ln NW, Washington, DC 20008, Washington DC, DC 20015
202 282 1063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 485 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Running, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Not just a park in the city, but a kind of leisurely museum, with a scattering of Civil War forts, a cemetery and a 19th-century mill within its bounds.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to take photos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I got a new reflex camera and I'm taking photos to everything ! , This is a awesome place in DC to take photos and walk, I saw a lot of people running in this place through the snow, I should take my running shoes =)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    53
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Countryside in the City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Saturdays and Sundays in Rock Creek Park, without cars along a long stretch, cannot be beat! Cyclists, hikers, runners, rollerbladers...everyone enjoying the two-lane, winding road through a canopy of color this fall, without the hassle of cars. A must-do in DC!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with much to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you visit DC please and can take some time to visit Rock Creek Park it will be worth the time! It is a wonderful place with trails, and other facilities such as a Nature Center. You can hike, bike and run on the trails and often you will be surprised at the variety of wildlife you can see. I have seen Great Blue Herons in the creeks looking for a meal.

They have a working mill in the park, at Pierce Mill and they have small festivals there which are fun to visit.

It is well worth the time to visit the park!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Had to jump the fence . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

because of the lockdown, but it was worth it. Can't believe that you are so close to DC, but you feel like a world away. We walked to the Boundary Bridge and back (5 miles), and it was perfect. I can see why so many people love this park. Give it a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect fall treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

For a lovely afternoon break on a sunny fall day, head to Rock Creek Park. Any section from Maryland down to the Kennedy Center will have something to offer. One of my favorites is the section between Peirce Mill and the National Zoo, where you can bike, jog, or stroll along broad paved path -- or, if you want something more strenuous, hike and scramble over the steep and sometimes tricky western ridge trail.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Creek Park also viewed

 

Been to Rock Creek Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Creek Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.