We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, reliable business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters in Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Solid, reliable business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here while in DC for a couple nights for government meetings. Located short walk from many business/govt/sight-seeing attractions. If you're familiar with the Metro, I don't know of another hotel with better location- the Farragut West station is just outside the main entrance- very convenient. It's a business hotel, however, so temper your expectations if you're with family or on sightseeing trip. Rooms are very small, generally, and you have to request certain items such as iron & ironing board or additional pillows/sheets etc. Not a lot of storage in the room (I had a "queen" which was two twins sheeted together). Bathroom has odd shape with toilet in the corner at an angle- can be a risk for items knocked off the counter. Nice walk-in shower, not a tub. Adjustable shower head which is also a hand-held.

I normally bring my own white-noise machine but the nightstand card indicated they were available on request from the desk. You'll need one if you're a light sleeper. You're in downtown DC where there is apparently a requirement that sirens must sound endlessly from around sundown to midnight. There is a Secret Service facility just down the street and various law enforcement agencies escort delegations and dignitaries through the streets around the hotel. Be prepared for random street closures too. The hip-hop concert in Farragut Park (or somewhere close) was aggravating enough and caused vibrations in room windows (6th floor). But that's endemic to the area, not the hotel. Still, I'd like to see hotels push to limit that crap. It was a Wednesday night and booming, annoyingly juvenile music at 11:30pm is ridiculous. Especially when you have an early morning meeting.

Decent curtains but there is plenty of light bleed around the edges. Digital A/C in the room worked great. Beds were acceptable but I like firm mattresses. Helpful/friendly staff.

Not an interstate motel but not the Ritz. Just fine for business trip.

Room Tip: Noise from inside hotel or adjoining rooms (side, above, or below) isn't a problem. It's fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    227
    83
    31
    31
See reviews for
60
120
69
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I planned to arrive early for a conference on a Sunday night but did not want to pay the conference rate in a nearby hotel. I found this hotel through Booking.com at a room rate of $199 ( total was $228 with hotel tax). At this price and location it was a great value.

Hotel is in a great location next to or close to Metro stations.

Very good stay. Quick check-in. Room size is sufficient; desk more than adequate to work at; WIFI was a little spotty that night. Great security in all aspects - room keys needed to access upper floors. Executive lounge is not large and does not have many computer work stations/printers but I did not need them. I did not check-out the fitness area.

Café Soleil, attached to the hotel, is just as the name applies - good basic meals that will satisfy most business travelers. I ate a late dinner upon arrival and a breakfast buffet the next morning.

Only drawback was street noise late at night. There must have been an after-hours club nearby.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room if that is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is the 1st one on the list of recommended hotels for classes that I am taking with Management Concepts. The hotel is conveniently located 1 block from my class and only a couple of blocks from the White House, National Mall and other tourist attractions. It is also adjacent to the Farragut West Metro station which means no waiting on shuttles should you desire to visit other parts of the city. Complimentary water bottles and welcome snacks in the room are a nice touch. The reason for my 4 vs 5 is that the rooms are adequate, but small and so is the fitness facility (only 1 treadmill); however, you can have a stepper and yoga equipment delivered to your room. But the VERY BEST thing about this hotel is the staff and the customer service. I just completed my 3rd stay and the service I have received thus far is consistent and top notch. I would be remised if I didn't take the opportunity to thank Behailu (one of the most patient CSRs I've ever dealt with), Nebiat (went beyond to resolve administrative error), Carl (anticipated my needs without me having to ask), and Somia (service with a beautiful smile) for their outstanding service. Any issues I had (personal or otherwise) were resolved immediately and satisfactorily. I look forward to seeing them every time I'm there.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed my room on the 9th floor facing Farragut Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only had two nights in Washington so booked here as it was very close to the sights. The White House is literally the next block over!
Other guests have commented on the helpful staff but we didn't really have a lot to do with them, you are encouraged to use the machines to check in and out.
The rooms are small, but have everything you need, I've stayed in smaller! They are looking a bit worn, it seems to be a busy place so maybe running repairs are a problem.
We were there Saturday and Sunday and found the area very quite, many places to eat around the hotel were shut at the weekends. We left Monday evening and the area was much busier. The station right next to the hotel is closed on the weekend but we used it Monday evening to get straight to Ronald Regan airport which was very convenient.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent Hotel. This was my second stay here, my first stay was in October 2014 and now April 2015. The hotel offers excellent personalised reception. I will always remember Somia, Behailu and Nebiat among others for their attention to customer issues. They are very good at their work, would always help me with the Map. Mark you am from Kenya en our roads are not as complicated as those of DC.....I really appreciate the hospitality.

I will always look forward to come back and enjoy coffee en tea on second floor 24 hours a day..and meet these nice people. For the club on second floor, ..It's nice. I remember waking up at 2.30am one day to get a warm cup of tea. Keep it up club quarters!

I can't forget to thank the lady who daily kept my room 313 clean. She is wonderful... would always find the room neatly done after my day's engagement.

The hotel is convenient for walking to and from the IMF and World Bank and is pocket friendly.

Room Tip: Side facing the park is wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is conveniently located near to the World Bank, IMF, White House and the U.S. Treasury. The breakfast downstairs is $16 and not included with the room. The business lounge is good but rooms are some of the smallest in this area. Basic but good.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Location, helpful staff, and best price around.
That said, I concur with previous reviewers about the loud club noise, small rooms, and the minimalist approach this hotel takes. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was very basic and expensive ($15 / person). But, breakfast is available at a number of nearby (next door actually) places that the locals use every day. For the two nights we were here, it was okay, had the location we wanted and had the best price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.

Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#88 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters in Washington, D.C. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Washington DC is located on Farragut Square, two blocks from the White House, and a short walk to all monuments and museums. Club Quarters hotels provide contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere. Innovative and complimentary features include free, fast WiFi in guest rooms and throughout the hotel, our Club Living Room - a lounge area for socializing, relaxing or working with computer work stations and wireless network printing, free, chilled purified water stations with refillable bottles located throughout the hotel, and an easy-to-use and understand Guest Loyalty Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Club Quarters in Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters in Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.