We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and inexpensive, for where it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters

Save Saved
You added Club Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and inexpensive, for where it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hotel. I got there around dinner time, and the reception clerk on -duty at that time was extremely nice and helpful. The subsequent days, I had mixed experiences. The hotel is a little bit dated, maybe in need of a carpet replacement, but it's hard to beat the location/price ratio.
I also like the "customer request closets' on every floor, and LOVE the fact that they have an espresso machine! Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    187
    64
    29
    24
See reviews for
52
94
64
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked 2 rooms for a 4 night stay in the Capital. The location was great and the price even better! Yes, the rooms are on the small side and the view from them not that great (our rooms had direct views on offices in the building next door), but who cares? We were visiting the city! The hotel is close enough to the White House that we could walk to it! The Metro is around the corner so when we got to tired to walk, we used it. We found both rooms to be very clean, the beds were very comfortable, the wifi worked well, and we got clean towels every day. Plus, the customer service was excellent. What more could we ask for? Well, parking can be an issue. Fortunately I had read some reviews ahead of time so I was ready for it. I ended up finding a Parking just around the corner (I believe in was on H Street) for what I believe was a fair price (with the promise of not going in and out with the car).
I cannot comment on the restaurant as we did not eat there.
Overall, my family and I were very pleased with this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a great experience in Club Quarters Lincoln's Inn Fields in London, we thought we would become a regular... until we reached CQ Washington. The bed is bad! The towels were dirty! These are killers for any hotel in the world. Breakfast is just awful, the rooms are pretty small and the cost-benefit relation is not good at all. The great facilities provided by CQ standard cannot jeopardize the poor quality of the Washington branch. Disappointing...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For the price, and given the great location, this is a decent hotel. Rooms are small and you will hear sirens all night long, but it is clean and serviceable. Customer service was great, too. We ate in the restaurant, and had excellent meals...try the calamari! Parking, as others have pointed out, is not at all convenient. I ended up parking in a different lot, and payed a few dollars less per day (but with no in/out privileges). The subway is right under the hotel, and that makes it very convenient for getting around DC. Restaurants in the area are scarce, we found, except for daytime takeout places and a McDonalds up the street.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The stay would have been perfect except for the parking. It was not located on-site, you had to walk 2.5 blocks to get to the garage. You also must get your parking ticket validated at the hotel, something we forgot about. So, after waiting in line for 30 minutes just to pay for the parking (there were only about 6 people in front of us), we then had to go back to the hotel, then come back to the parking garage and wait another 20 minutes. They WILL NOT accept your check-out statement as proof and there is no automated machine, as you have to give your keys to the attendant. All-in-all, it took us over an hour to get the car, not at all helped by the fact that the attendant working at the garage took ridiculously long to process each person. He was an older man, and a younger person could have done his job in about 1/3 of the time (no lie.). Club Quarters, please find a new system for parking. This one is very inconvenient and time-consuming. If not for the lengthy process just to get the car, the stay would have been perfect!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whenever I travel to DC for work I like to stay at Club Quarters. Others I work with prefer the larger hotels but I like the coziness of the place. Service is quite good, and the rooms are very comfortable. Not huge but I'm always there alone and it works for me. I like the automated check in and check out, too. Very close to our office, and right above the metro station. Also very close to the White House and the Mall. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is showing its age but it's fine. We had a couple of problems: The AC did not work the first night and the room was very stuffy and the bathroom light would go out randomly. The next day they fixed both problems. The location can't be beat though, you're right behind the White House and a short walk from most museums and monuments. However, I would not stay here again since we didn't get any sleep at all. The noise outside is unbelievable. I can sleep through most anything but the non-stop sirens, the night club across the street, the loud drunks walking around, all make for a very loud environment. It's too bad, we loved the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters

Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 161 rooms. The hotel overlooks Farragut square and is just two blocks from the White House and Lafayette Square. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 1 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 38 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Club Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.