We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, straightforward and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters to your Saves list
Club Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple, straightforward and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Club Quarters is a really good find. Its a great location, reasonably central and right next to a Metro station. Despite the sub-zero temperatures the room was well heated and the air conditioning worked excellently to keep everything toasty.

The rooms are small by US standards but normal size in city hotels in Europe. The room includes all that you need and the desk and chair are actually suitable for working at. The chair goes up and down like a desk chair should and there are electric sockets just where you need them for a laptop and phone etc and an adjustable desk light. Nice little touch, there is a charger station by the bedside where you can plug everything in overnight.

The bathroom was clean and the shower effective and the hot water was actually hot enough to wet shave in. The bed was super comfortable and the curtains include blackout and my room (504) had a great view of Farragul Square (in the snow!).

Location is great with The White House two blocks away and some of the monuments close enough to walk to. For a central Washington location it is really good value for money. Staff were friendly and efficient. Club Quarters have a strange check-in machine for you to use when you arrive. If you haven't encountered this before it allows you to self check-in, but you will need the front desk staff to demonstrate this, which makes me wonder why they bother if staff and going to operate it! It makes check out much quicker though as it prints your bill for you.

The online printing service was not working when I was there and I think the Club Lounge is a bit of a let down - not worth the bother. I had room service food delivered in from a local restaurant rather than the Cafe onsite, but that worked well and was tasty.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the end overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    206
    76
    30
    27
See reviews for
56
109
66
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Club Quarters is an easy hotel to stay in with a great central location, super friendly staff and basic clean rooms.

Pros:
Convenient location, close to Metro and easy to get to museums, GWU, Georgetown and Dupont Circle
Staff goes above above and beyond in friendliness and customer service
Clean and tidy rooms
Bottled water machine in the hallway is a great feature

Cons:
Slight mold/damp smell in two different rooms. It isn't terrible, but it is worth noting.
Small-ish rooms

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at Club Quarters because it was very great deal for it's location. It is only a few feet away from a metro station (perfect for those on business), blocks away from the White House, and comes with all the basic amenities (unlimited free bottled & filtered water is a plus). The hotel itself is small, so do not expect a very spacious room. It was cute, clean, and comfortable. As soon as we walked into the hotel, my friend and I were greeted by very nice staff. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to those who need a good place to stay. Best deal in Downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at CQ with friends to attend a wedding in Georgetown. It was perfect for us. Staff was welcoming and freindly. We had lunch in Cafe Sole and it was delicious. We ordered the flatbreads - yummy ! Room was so comfortable and clean ... we lounged in the 2nd fl living room when we first arrived to catch up - enjoyed a cappacino and some great girl catch up time before the hustle of the evening .... Very much recommended !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at Club Quarters for 2 weeks on a business trip. It is a smaller hotel and a very friendly one, which I prefer to the impersonal chains like Hilton. Had a lovely suite with fridge and nice sitting area and a desk to work. the room were very clean and well maintained. Cozy and well furnished. The hotel is very centralized and barely a couple of blocks from the white house. the staff was very helpful and friendly and addressed issues promptly and professionally.
there is a restaurant attached so it is convenient on cold nights if you don't want to venture out.

I would certainly return and stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortagne-sur-Sevre, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I really recommend this hotel which lived up to our expectations.
The room itself is pretty small but that really didn't matter as it was very tastefully decorated and fitted out with nice furniture and a comfortable bed with a cosy bedspread.Another important factor was that it was pristine both in the bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was small again, but modern and fitted with a good, powerful shower and abundant hot water.
Another practical point concerning the room was that it was equipped with a coffee maker, microwave and fridge which really came in handy.
We were also impressed with the lounge on the 2nd floor which is open to guests and has free refreshments - snacks, tea, coffee and soft drinks on weekdays but just tea and coffee on weekends. The lounge is also very comfortable with plenty of easy chairs, a TV, 2 computers allowing you to surf the Internet, a printer and newspapers.
The hotel front desk staff were friendly and professional and were always very helpful.
Regarding the location of the hotel, we were only 5 minutes away from the White House so it is centrally located meaning that the main monuments were within walking distance! For those of you who like travelling via the Metro, there is a station right under the hotel - you can't get closer than that!
All in all, great value for money - we'd definitely go back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liberty, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It is 2:24 am on December 30th and I can't sleep because extremely loud, obnoxious music is coming from a club at a nearby building. This is an early Monday morning, with guests going to work in the morning. The club is throbbing and loud out in the street and the rooms fronting the street get the full effect. I talked to the hotel manager who was aware of the problem. Other guests had already complained. He said that the clubs are supposed to stop at 2:30 am. He had called down to the club, but it didn't seem to have any effect. He says that they have a deal with the club. If enough guests complain the club pays a fine. I don't see how that will help me get sleep.

The hotel seems nice in many respects. Rooms are small but nice. Bed is hard but comfortable. It has a nice club room. All that is irrelevant if the guests can't get any sleep.

I can't see why the club has to pump its noise out into the street. If this hotel wants to get any repeat business they need to bump up the noise insulation, or get tough with the club operators.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters

Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 161 rooms. The hotel overlooks Farragut square and is just two blocks from the White House and Lafayette Square. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 1 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 38 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Club Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.