We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would anyone want to stay in a shoebox?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters

Save Saved
You added Club Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Why would anyone want to stay in a shoebox?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I get it that business travel does not need to be frivolous. And everyone appreciates a reasonable room price. But this place goes too far. I have stayed there twice now. I thought maybe the first time I got a lousy room as it was so small I thought my feet might hang out the window at the bottom of the bed and the bathroom barely had room for me to fit into it. But I stayed there again, got a different room and same thing...ultra small. Other than that it was clean. Room service was good. I just prefer not to feel claustrophobic! And defined don't stay here if you plan more than one to the room. That would be awful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    187
    63
    29
    24
See reviews for
52
94
64
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for on a Saturday and Sunday night and had difficulty sleeping because of the noise of fire engines and police cars. Moreover, the heating system was also incredibly noisy when it turned itself on and off - so I ended up choosing to keep my room very chilly. Not a good way to start a meeting on Monday morning! On the plus side is the convenient location and the proximity to most of the major tourist sights of DC as well as to decent restaurants. I liked the excellent WIFI and the Club lounge on the 2nd floor with good coffee and snacks. But the need to sleep outweighs all of the advantages for me so I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I went to Washington DC Valentine’s Day weekend. It was a last moment decision.
There really were not many rooms left to choose from in the city. End up at Club Quarter I paid for one of the bigger most expensive room at the Club Quarters and when I arrived they stuck me in a shoe box sized room. I went back down to the front desk and they finally gave me the room size that I paid for. The restaurant is a 3 on a scale of 1-10. The 2 rooms that I saw were both clean and updated. It located on a VERY noisy street. I have stayed in the same general area many times the fire department and/or ambulances must be next to the hotel because I was woken up a minimum of 15 times by them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrumbateman, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located just over a block from the back door of the White House and close to great shopping.

The room had everything we needed - we actually booked a club room but upgraded when we arrived to a suite for only an extra $25 a night. This is much cheaper than booking a suite online. Bathroom fairly basic, but this is a 3* hotel.

There is a hotel lounge that provides free tea, coffee and sodas, as well as snacks in the evenings.
On site restaurant is good. Hotel also provides free refillable water bottles.

I'd be more than happy to stay here again if I come back to Washington.

Room Tip: Upgrades to suite may be available on arrival for a much smaller fee than booking a suite online
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks on a business trip. If you want a clean room, modern bathroom, a reasonably priced restaurant, a lounge offering espresso, cappuccino and snacks - this is the place. Staff are super friendly and helpful -- ask for Rany for seamless service! The rooms are a little small but are user-friendly. Location is very central (2 blocks away from White House) and a Farragut West metro station is right next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

From the time I checked in to the time I checked out, the staff at Club Quarters Washington DC was very pleasant.

What I liked
-seamless check in and check out
- the happy hour in the restaurant. The food - not so great
- friendly staff
- convenient location

What I disliked
- size of room BUT it was sufficient for what we needed it for
- no ice machine on the floor

As you can see my likes outweigh the dislikes. My bed was comfortable and it was clean.

I would definitely stay again because of the location!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really like these hotels. First of all, each floor of the hotel has a free plastic bottle dispenser and a cold water cooler which is great for people who are heading out to (or coming back from) a long sightseeing walk. Yes the rooms are pretty small, but hopefully you aren't spending your entire trip sitting in your room. Although they are small, the rooms a very clean and the location is very convenient. You're only a couple of blocks from the white house and just a 2 or 3 minute walk to the metro station. There are a couple of decent restaurants and bars within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters

Address: 839 17th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 161 rooms. The hotel overlooks Farragut square and is just two blocks from the White House and Lafayette Square. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 1 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 38 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Club Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Quarters Hotel Washington Dc
Club Quarters Washington Dc
Club Quarters Dc
Quarters Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.