We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient family fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #52 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“convenient family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

the rooms are updated but small.
the location is fabuloso as it is next to the metro (which we never took) plus a bunch of restaurants and a walgreen's for family needs.
the hotel has a great morning breakfast and two concierges (jay is awesome) who will steer you in the right direction.
on the edge of a very small chinatown which is fun.

i thought since this was a fairfield inn it would be worse than a marriot or courtyard but not the case.

Room Tip: higher up...a few honks and sirens at night. a suite is a normal from with a partition...not real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    192
    50
    11
    2
See reviews for
140
98
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend . I was checked in immediately and given the room with a king bed and a refrigerator on a high floor. We were in a the middle if China town and took advantage of the the Asian hibachi grille across the street . The room was very clean and kept tidy during my stay . I notice the closet could only hold the ironing board that was stored there . I did try the Irish Pub in the building and it was decent the pub have you another entry to the hotel with your room key. Over all it was a good choice and I d stay there again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here over the Memorial day weekend 2014. Good room, nice location, near to metro , downtown. The great folks that work there make a big difference! Very friendly and very helpful. We will be sure to stay there the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

May partner and I stayed here in December and found the hotel and its staff extremely accommodating, we had absolutely no issue! The rooms are new, clean and spacious.

The location however, not as great! The hotel borderlines on chinatown and if you walk in the wrong direction you can come across some unfriendly characters.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I travel to DC a lot and normally stay in Crystal City. Let me start off that this is a Fairfield Inn, but I think it has a lot of promise. Be prepared for the "people are everywhere". I did notice that there was a police present in the area, but using just good old common sense (you are in a big city), you should be ok, Located in the heart of China town, lots of choices for food, 2 short blocks to metro, close to where I was meeting. Standard hot breakfast - my complaint - no bottled water to take for the day. I would recommend they upgrade their towel - too ruff for me. I asked for a quite room rather then the "view" - I was good with the noise level. I would recommend this place and would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Was on a business trip for a couple of nights and put up here. It is very nice and clean. Easy walk to Gallery Place Metro and in the middle of China Town so if you like Chinese (and other Asian) food - this place was great for easy and quick access. Room was clean and comfortable. I did laugh a bit at the Irish Pub/restaurant downstairs in the middle of China Town. At least the outdoor awning had the name written in Chinese. Breakfast and internet included. Breakfast was slightly above the average standard fare. Lots of fruit available as well as the more standard fare. Would have no problem staying here again. One ding - no refrigerators in the room. I have come to really expect that and it is so convenient to keep some cold drinks nearby when working in the room.

Green Features: Green practices regarding hotels and bed linens in place
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel was perfect – clean, comfortable and within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in DC.
We visited DC for one night for the SAVOR craft beer festival (beer and food pairing). The Fairfield was the closest hotel to the event at the National Building museum (.2 mi).
Rooms were available when we checked in a little early at 1:30. My favorite part about check-in was the “no party” agreement was signed. Management has a policy that all guests need to sign a disclosure that no smoking and no partying would take place on premises. Sounded good to me, as we planned to do all partying off site. The hotel is for sleeping!
The bed was comfortable, and the room was very clean. My husband (6’3”) was very happy with the shower. The shower head was above him, and we had plenty of hot water and water pressure.
We got to breakfast around 8:45 on Saturday. Typical hotel continental breakfast – make your own waffles, bagels, muffins, cereal and milk, yogurt, eggs, juice, etc. Food was plentiful and adequate and good for a post-party way to start the day.
I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in DC.

Room Tip: We had room 815 and it was very quiet. Our friends had room 712, and the church bells woke them in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Address: 500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.