We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Verizon Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #56 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Southern Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Close to Verizon Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great hotel. Quick check in and nice staff. Person checking us in was great and very friendly. Room was great, got the king bed. Would definitely stay here again. Nice short walk to Verizon Center. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear ardufresne,

Thank you so much for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

It's always great for our hotel team to receive such great feedback from our valued guests. We're happy to hear that you felt our team was friendly and that our location was a great fit for you on your visit to our Nation's Capital.

We hope to be able to host you on your next visit to the city. Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    172
    47
    11
    2
See reviews for
122
87
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland or
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stay in Fairfields a lot, and chose this one based on all the great reviews and mapping the area. While it was fine, it was not a top experience. Positives: clean room, fast elevator, nice staff, super close to metro. Negatives: Verizon center crowds when there is an event there, which happened to be all 4 nights we were in town. Not just a crowded hotel, but all the sidewalks and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was ridiculous, get there when it starts (7am on wkends, 6:30 wkdays) or forget it. Huge lines, no tables, the staff lady said she cant get those powdered eggs out fast enough! A bit more of a walk than expected to sites. In hindsight, I would pay the extra and stay at the JW Marriott. There's so much walking to do in DC that every block adds a lot (and we are active adults). I was also suprised there was no fridge or microwave in the room, that was disappointing though I've read now that maybe you can specially request that? Seems odd and not like most.

Bottom line, for a budget trip or Verizon center event, it's a great place. Otherwise, consider other options.

Room Tip: Request a view, and a fridget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear embr,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC!

We appreciate your business and your valuable feedback. I'm happy to hear that there were a few positives during your stay. I apologize that there were parts of your stay that were not able to meet your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future to regain your trust and provide a more enjoyable experience.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss your stay.


Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in DC for 3 days with our 2 daughters. When we arrived, the valet lot was full so Jonathan walked across the street with my husband and helped him find a parking spot right by the hotel. The next day, we took the Metro for the first time, he went with us to the station and showed us how to purchase the passes work the trains. He even helped me overcome my fear of escalators! He was great with our children and kept them occupied. I would highly recommend this hotel, not only for Jonathan's amazing service, but it is close to the Mall and in the Chinatown neighborhood, so their are many restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Carla TOM,

Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. Jonathan takes such pride in delivering exceptional service, and I'm thrilled to hear that he was able to make an excellent impact on your visit. It's great to hear that you felt our location was the perfect fit for your family on your visit to Washington, DC.

We would love to have the opportunity to host you on your future travels to our city. Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent! We came to celebrate our daughter 15 birthday it was awesome. Really enjoy the closeness to everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed for one week. The breakfast included a variety of healthy things. We would definitely recommended 100%.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Madeline M,

Thank you for staying with us!

We appreciate your business and your feedback. We love our location in Chinatown and are happy to hear that you did as well. It's great to hear that our breakfast was a great way to start your day.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for future reservation needs when visiting our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the White House in Chinatown neighborhood.
The room was very comfortable and clean.
The staff was friendly and hospitality.
We went for vacations with my sister and we have a really good time there. At night when we came back to the hotel we usually eat in the Irish pub downstairs, it is open until 11 pm !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear JoMarre,

Thank you so much for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC.

We are happy to hear that our hotel was a great fit for you on your travels to our Nation's Capital. Our hotel team loves hearing from our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such great feedback.

We hope to be able to host you on your future travels to Washington, DC.

Please feel free to reach ou to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If your going to an event at the Verizon Center this is the place to stay. The rates are really good compared to other area hotels. The rooms are clean and the beds give a great nights sleep. There is plenty of draw space and a closet for those items that need hanging. The bathroom looks brand new and the water pressure and temperature in the shower are perfect. Plenty of towels and supplies and a huge mirror if two need to get ready at the same time.
We had room 723 and even though it was on the alley side we had a nice view of the area. It was quiet and had plenty of outlets for those can't live without items. Although we did not have a mini refridge (I understand you can request a room with one) I simply got a few buckets of ice and used a plastic bag in the extra 'trash can' to keep a few items cold. Ice is available only feet from the elevator on several floors.
Jonathan at the Concierge was always ready to help and recommended a wonderful restaurant for us to dine at and knew his way around DC. He told us how far places were and our options, car, taxi, metro, or walk it. He always asked how things were and greeted us with a smile. The rest of the staff was also a pleasurable.
Breakfast was great, Those in charge always made sure selections were fresh and stocked. Real fresh fruit cocktail and eggs. Oatmeal was hot and not those 'instant' packets and a nice selection of bagels and breads. Waffles with strawberry topping and whipped creme if you like. They have healthy low-fat or sugar free selections as well.
Parking was fast and efficient as was check-in and out. I noted another review that knocked their customer service and said homeless people were always in the lobby...I saw non and wonder if they simply reviewed the wrong hotel as I saw nothing of the sort. I found the internet to be a little slow, but when I needed a hand or paper to make copies all I needed was to ask. They also have great coffee, tea, or hot cocoa 24/7 in the lobby and some great fresh baked cookies till about 5.
Clean, modern, friendly, & convenient sums it up. Very enjoyable weekend stay.

Room Tip: 723 2 queen beds, very quiet, maybe not the best view but not a bad one either. Great heat and a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear GaryG668,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC. We are so happy to her that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It's our goal to deliver exceptional service and to ensure that you have a wonderful experience. It's always a pleasure to be able to share such wonderful feedback with our team.

It sounds as if our breakfast was able to get your day started off just the way you wanted. In addition, our location was a perfect fit for your needs.

We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to host you on your future travels to Washington, DC.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.


Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights thanksgiving week. Got a great deal through AAA. Very happy with all aspects of the hotel, especially the breakfast, which offered a great variety. The location of the hotel was perfect for sightseeing and the metro. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Called up on the day of our arrival to ask for a quiet room. They blocked one off at the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear KTL2012,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback.

We are happy to hear that our breakfast was a great way to start your day on your visit. Also, we love our location in Chinatown and being so close to all of the sites and attractions and we're thrilled to hear that you did as well.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you on your future visits to our Nation's Capital, and I would be happy to take care of your reservation needs directly.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Address: 500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.