We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jonathan made our stay amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #52 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Jamison, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jonathan made our stay amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in DC for 3 days with our 2 daughters. When we arrived, the valet lot was full so Jonathan walked across the street with my husband and helped him find a parking spot right by the hotel. The next day, we took the Metro for the first time, he went with us to the station and showed us how to purchase the passes work the trains. He even helped me overcome my fear of escalators! He was great with our children and kept them occupied. I would highly recommend this hotel, not only for Jonathan's amazing service, but it is close to the Mall and in the Chinatown neighborhood, so their are many restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Carla TOM,

Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. Jonathan takes such pride in delivering exceptional service, and I'm thrilled to hear that he was able to make an excellent impact on your visit. It's great to hear that you felt our location was the perfect fit for your family on your visit to Washington, DC.

We would love to have the opportunity to host you on your future travels to our city. Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    192
    50
    11
    2
See reviews for
140
98
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent! We came to celebrate our daughter 15 birthday it was awesome. Really enjoy the closeness to everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed for one week. The breakfast included a variety of healthy things. We would definitely recommended 100%.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Madeline M,

Thank you for staying with us!

We appreciate your business and your feedback. We love our location in Chinatown and are happy to hear that you did as well. It's great to hear that our breakfast was a great way to start your day.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for future reservation needs when visiting our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the White House in Chinatown neighborhood.
The room was very comfortable and clean.
The staff was friendly and hospitality.
We went for vacations with my sister and we have a really good time there. At night when we came back to the hotel we usually eat in the Irish pub downstairs, it is open until 11 pm !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear JoMarre,

Thank you so much for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC.

We are happy to hear that our hotel was a great fit for you on your travels to our Nation's Capital. Our hotel team loves hearing from our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such great feedback.

We hope to be able to host you on your future travels to Washington, DC.

Please feel free to reach ou to me directly for any future reservation needs.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If your going to an event at the Verizon Center this is the place to stay. The rates are really good compared to other area hotels. The rooms are clean and the beds give a great nights sleep. There is plenty of draw space and a closet for those items that need hanging. The bathroom looks brand new and the water pressure and temperature in the shower are perfect. Plenty of towels and supplies and a huge mirror if two need to get ready at the same time.
We had room 723 and even though it was on the alley side we had a nice view of the area. It was quiet and had plenty of outlets for those can't live without items. Although we did not have a mini refridge (I understand you can request a room with one) I simply got a few buckets of ice and used a plastic bag in the extra 'trash can' to keep a few items cold. Ice is available only feet from the elevator on several floors.
Jonathan at the Concierge was always ready to help and recommended a wonderful restaurant for us to dine at and knew his way around DC. He told us how far places were and our options, car, taxi, metro, or walk it. He always asked how things were and greeted us with a smile. The rest of the staff was also a pleasurable.
Breakfast was great, Those in charge always made sure selections were fresh and stocked. Real fresh fruit cocktail and eggs. Oatmeal was hot and not those 'instant' packets and a nice selection of bagels and breads. Waffles with strawberry topping and whipped creme if you like. They have healthy low-fat or sugar free selections as well.
Parking was fast and efficient as was check-in and out. I noted another review that knocked their customer service and said homeless people were always in the lobby...I saw non and wonder if they simply reviewed the wrong hotel as I saw nothing of the sort. I found the internet to be a little slow, but when I needed a hand or paper to make copies all I needed was to ask. They also have great coffee, tea, or hot cocoa 24/7 in the lobby and some great fresh baked cookies till about 5.
Clean, modern, friendly, & convenient sums it up. Very enjoyable weekend stay.

Room Tip: 723 2 queen beds, very quiet, maybe not the best view but not a bad one either. Great heat and a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear GaryG668,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC. We are so happy to her that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It's our goal to deliver exceptional service and to ensure that you have a wonderful experience. It's always a pleasure to be able to share such wonderful feedback with our team.

It sounds as if our breakfast was able to get your day started off just the way you wanted. In addition, our location was a perfect fit for your needs.

We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to host you on your future travels to Washington, DC.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for any future reservation needs.


Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights thanksgiving week. Got a great deal through AAA. Very happy with all aspects of the hotel, especially the breakfast, which offered a great variety. The location of the hotel was perfect for sightseeing and the metro. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Called up on the day of our arrival to ask for a quiet room. They blocked one off at the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear KTL2012,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback.

We are happy to hear that our breakfast was a great way to start your day on your visit. Also, we love our location in Chinatown and being so close to all of the sites and attractions and we're thrilled to hear that you did as well.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you on your future visits to our Nation's Capital, and I would be happy to take care of your reservation needs directly.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our room was very comfortable with spacious king bed and even a small sofa for seating. The view out our window was of a lovely church across the road. I did use the advice of other travelers in asking for a room away from the elevators and ice machine and the room we received met those requests. The restaurant accessed through a keyed door was perfect for a real meal after thirteen hours of travel but is pub style not family style dining. The breakfast each morning was very generous with choices of hot and cold items that gave great nutritious options. The dining area was kept clean and superbly managed by the staff. We received help with directions and arranging a driver from the front desk as well as the concierge. The metro and bus systems are very easy to use from this hotel and I loved not having a car to deal with. A very easy walk brought us to the White House, Capitol and Mall. The location is really outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ffxvttraveler,

Thank you so much for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you felt our hotel was a perfect fit for you on your visit. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay, and it's always a pleasure to be able to provide them with such great testimony from our valued guests.

We love our location and are happy to hear that you did as well.

We would love to host you on your future travels to our Nation's Capital, and I would be happy to take care of your reservation needs directly.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was centrally located in DC - which I found appealing. The customer service - not so much. In fact, between the lackluster service and the homeless people wandering into the lobby, I wouldn't recommend the place to anyone.

By terrible customer service, I mean specifically requesting foam pillows (due to a feather allergy, but regardless of the reason...) and having none in the room upon check in. When I called the front desk to ask for some, the attendant said that they don't have any (the hotel was not even close to sold out). When I explained my reservation and allergy, she then said that she wouldn't be able to get them (with a tone that said "suck it up"). Now, as someone who has worked in the hotel industry for years, I know both how to be polite and also that IT IS YOUR JOB to go retrieve the pillows - especially when someone is highly allergic to feathers.

The beds were too old (hard and worn), there was 1 clean towel in the room at check in, the valet HAD to park the car if you were parking at the hotel, so I found myself waiting for about 40 minutes on the curb for the valet to come back. Also, the hotel isn't in the greatest of neighborhoods. Typically, I'd be inclined to overlook that fact, but in combination with everything else, I give this place 2 stars.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasfc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear C H,

Thank you for staying at our Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC.

On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize for the poor experience you encountered on your visit to our property. We strive to deliver exceptional service and to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Unfortunately, we were unable to deliver on these promises for you.

I would be happy to discuss this further with you if you would like to give me a call.

Sincerely,
Ryan Urgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Address: 500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.