We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

the rooms was in great shapes and the staffs were wonderful. an employee name jesse on the breakfast staff was very friendly and wonderful to talk to. we enjoyed talking to jesse. the front desk clerks was very helpful and very friendly. i have traveled all over the country and never came across so many friendly people working in one place. the breakfast staff was unbelievable. my kids just love jesse because he was very friendly and show them how to make waffles. jesse took time out to talk to them and make them laugh. we never came across and like jesse in our life. he just so friendly that we couldn't wait to see jesse again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    173
    47
    11
    2
See reviews for
125
87
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, CO
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here 4 days for a business trip and this place was wonderful. I normally stay at Courtyards but we had a big group and this was the place for location, but we found out, it was the place for so much more. Room was very spacious considering it was in downtown, fantastic breakfast buffet with everything you could ask for. And at midnight when there is still much work to be done, the little mini market and fresh coffee is waiting for you. I'll be sure to come back here when in the area again!

Room Tip: Just ask for something not too high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked through hotels.com at the Marriott Courtyard across the street from the Spy Museum. When I arrived, I was told they overbooked and were sending me to a different hotel for my first night. They sent me to the Fairfield Inn about 5 blocks away.

I stayed here when it was a Red Roof a couple of years ago and it was mediocre at best. Thankfully, that is not the case anymore.

The lobby wasn't even recognizable from when it was Red Roof. It is MUCH nicer now. The elevator requires your keycard to get to your floor.

The room is also much nicer now. About what you'd expect from a Fairfield Inn. Same with the bathroom.

Unfortunately, you can still hear noise from the room next door. It wasn't horrible, but it was there.
One note... the price is about twice what it was before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel can be summed up in several words: clean, friendly, fresh, quiet, convenient to the Verizon Center and a great value. A 4 star hotel which treats you like a 5 star guest. I would return and wold recommend this hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at this hotel are some of the cheeriest and most polite I have ever encountered. This is not a flash hotel, but clean, comfy and does the trick. The location is perfect, easy access to main attractions and the convention center.

Room Tip: As for a room on the outside wall of the hotel otherwise you might end up facing a brick wall on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A totally antiquated "business center" with two ancient PCs, and two equally ancient printers, set along side a wall in the dining area. Miniscule lobby so no place to hold a meeting unless you want to go back to your room. Place is fine for tourists -- fine, that is, if you don't mind hearing bathroom sounds from adjacent rooms -- but business travelers will not be pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel, located in “Chinatown” is superbly situated close to the convention centre and many of the museums and monuments in Washington. It is also only 2 blocks away from a Metro stop. There are homeless people around, but they did not bother us during our 8 night stay. You need a room key to gain entrance to the hotel after 10:00 PM. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a reasonable free breakfast that is fairly good. It had bagels, muffins drinks, cereal, oatmeal, and yogurt. It is the almost identical breakfast offered in other Fairfield Inns.
The hotel is fairly clean and the bed was very comfortable. However considering the rate ($225 per night, reduced from $260 per night because our stay was longer than 7 nights), it should offer a lot more. When you check in as a Marriott Rewards member you are asked to spin the “wheel of fortune” to see how many extra rewards points you win. I was asked to spin it twice as it has not gotten around all the way! I thought for a minute I was on the Price is Right! It is the last thing I wanted to do late at night after traveling no matter how many points they add. The towels are a bit of a joke. They are bare thin and will actually tear if you pull at them too hard. It is hard to comprehend how the Marriott Corporation does not make them invest in better quality towels. The soap and shampoo are of inferior quality and certainly the worse I have encountered in any stay at a Marriott property. The last point is that we were accommodated in a handicapped room even though we are not handicapped and did not request one. I suspect they had no other rooms when we arrived late, but they never even mentioned it when we checked in. It took a bit of getting used to as the sink and the light switches are placed lower. The door was very difficult to unlock from the inside, which I suspect because of the electronic gadget on it to make it open electronically (we could never figure out how it worked). One also has to wonder how the hotel would have accommodated an actual handicapped person in the eight days we occupied the room.
All in all, a good location, but certainly it did not offer good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Address: 500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.