We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairfield Inn & Suites, great location for food and the mall!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fairfield Inn & Suites, great location for food and the mall!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

our family of 4 travelled to Washington DC in early August 2012. We stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites, it is located in "China Town" which really wasn't a town at all - but was a perfect location to park once and walk the remainder of our vacation. There were plenty of restuarants (from upscale to McDonalds) to choose from and then you could walk down to 'the mall' for sight seeing. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the food was an added bonus. They always had coffee, tea , cold water and cookies out in the afternoons and evenings and their continental breakfast had quite a variety. There were; breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fruit, yoghurt, begals, toast ,muffins, oatmeal and a variety of cereals. We'd eat breakfast, grab an apple or something for later and be on our way. The hotel rooms were overly spacious, but for a family of four - it was enough. We weren't there for the room. The beds were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    182
    47
    11
    2
See reviews for
135
91
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the free breakfast is nothing special, but if you don't stay a whole week is more then ok. The location of this hotel is great: within a few blocks you have at least 20 good restaurants in all price ranges, the Verizon Center and easy access to public transportation. Good business hotel for the convention center or to explore DC for a few days.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and I couldn't have been happier that we did!
ALL staff members were courteous, the place is CLEAN, breakfast was just perfect and the location is great for touring and dining. I especially liked the fact that you needed to use your room key to use the elevator > a nice layer of security!!
I do agree with another reviewer who thought that the towels were thin and need to be replaced. But, oh well .........
Keep up the good work Fairfield Inn and Suites! We had a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Go for a high room as the city is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a very nice hotel in a good location. It's your typical Marriott room, but very clean and great staff. Asked for a mini-fridge, came in 5 minutes. We never had to take a taxi or metro - everything walkable from here. LOTS of close restaurants. Best part of staying here - every day at 5:00 they brought out fresh baked cookies. Yum!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th of 10 floors - very little street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last week and were very pleased with the entire visit. Our room was a little pricey, but well worth it when we look at the exemplary service that was extended to us.Your staff was courteous and friendly and functioned well as a team. Check in was very smooth even though there were maybe 5 people ahead of us. Noticing that we were exhausted from our trip, Richard, the concierge came from behind his desk and with a huge smile that was so infectious, welcomed us and said, "We've been waithing for you"! That made the stress of fighting the traffic and having to wait for the valet dissolve immediately. My husbands' biggest concern was how would I entertain myself while he was attending his convention. Richard promised my husband to take total care of me and he did just that. He set me up a fabulous bus tour and mapped out the easiest walking routes to all museums for me. He told me some of the rich history of DC and even mapped out a tour of Lincoln's home. I felt very special and I noticed that he treated everyone just like he treated me!! I am a platinum rewards member with Marriott and I just want to say that you have the best concierge in the country!! I've been around. The continental breakfast was fantastic and could rival any 5 star hotel. Looking forward to coming again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here on points with my mom. The hotel itself is fantastic. Clean, comfortable, great staff, very secure. The area though is borderline. The panhandlers were much more shall we say "assertive" than we've found in previous visits, particularly around the Chinatown metro. A room key was needed to use the elevator, which was both good (for security sake) and bad (hmmm, why do we need a key to use the elevator?).

My mom does smoke, and the area designated for smokers outside is isolated and we were approached standing out there. We live in an urban area ourselves, so we're not "green" when it comes to being in a city, but just be aware if you stay here.

That said, it was a great location, convenient to Ford's Theater, the Verizon Center, the Metro and mall. We didn't partake of the free breakfast, but it looked plentiful. Cookies and water in the lobby, comfy sofas, TV, and business center.

Another review mentioned the towels, they need to be replaced, very threadbare. The beds were completely comfortable, the room spotless and we didn't hear a peep at night. The bathroom was great, a huge space for toiletries etc, good water pressure etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is right on the edge of D.C.'s China Town, which makes it a convenient walk to surrounding museums and the National Monuments.
The hotel is clean but the rooms are very small, especially when you consider the price you are paying.
The staff is extremely accommodating and the breakfast is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown

Address: 500 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Washington DC Downtown)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently opened & completely renovated hotel offers comfort & convenience to the busy business traveler looking for quality & value while visiting our National’s Capital. As the only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott located in the Washington DC city center, our hotel features a custom design package with upgraded services & amenities designed specifically with the business traveler in mind. 198 elegant & functional guestrooms offering plush bedding, LCD flat screen TVs with premium channels, spacious work desk with plug-in-panel and complimentary Wi-Fi & hard wired internet access • Complimentary expanded continental breakfast • 24 hour access fitness room and business center • The Irish Channel, on-site restaurant open for lunch & dinner & offering room service from 11am-11pm • Concierge service • Valet parking • Same-day dry cleaning service. Located in the bustling Chinatown neighborhood & in close proximity to: Gallery Place/Chinatown metro (2 blocks) • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6 blocks) • Verizon Center (2 blocks) • U.S. Capitol (1 mile) • Union Station (1 mile) • Government & association offices nearby • Airports: Reagan National (DCA) - 6.5 miles, Dulles Int'l (IAD) - 25 miles, Baltimore/Washington (BWI) - 35 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc / Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.