We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Unsafe. Has Train Tracks Running Right Through it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #119 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New Jersey
1 review
“Dirty and Unsafe. Has Train Tracks Running Right Through it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was very dirty all around.

The elevator barely worked and was constantly worried that it would break at any moment and we would be stuck in there.

The staff was terrible and rude also.

The parking lot and front of hotel is very unsafe. There were several scary homeless people hiding in parking lot and people loitering there all night making noise, hotel staff would not do anything about it.

There are train tracks almost literally running through the middle of this hotel. Be prepared to be up all night from train noise.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    59
    36
    38
    65
See reviews for
62
45
29
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We stayed in this hotel last night. It was clean, friendly ... but noisy. The restaurant (decent food but not great) was so loud that my wife and I couldn't talk. When we retired to our room the air conditioner was rather noisy. Fortunately temps were such that we simply turned it off, but the entire building has a low background humming sound. Easily slept (helped that we were tired), but noticeable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The rooms were big and comfortable and the reception staff (the day staff) were very friendly. There was an Indian receptionist who was watching TV when we wanted to check in and pretended not to see us for a fair while. The breakfast was served with plastic cutlery - it's a hotel, not a motel - and the hot food (sausages and liquid eggs) were not refilled after it was finished at 830, after which families started strolling in. The eggs had obviously spoiled and smelled but of course, no one fixed that. The latin maid stood next to the food and did nothing except talk without taking a breath - seriously. It was constant, mindless chatter to those who don't speak the language. As we were sitting quite close to her, we could barely hear ourselves think. The front desk people were very very friendly and offered to fix our problems immediately. There are good and bad things about this hotel but nothing too daunting I guess.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I was very satisfied with the overall value of the room for the price that I paid. I was able to get a suite for what many hotels would only offer a basic room. The Management staff was very polite and accommodating. I would recommend it to others for a good value for the money and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipatel82, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. Our staff has been notified of your review and the entire staff is happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your business and taking time to posting a review online. We hope to see you soon!

Chirag Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahçeli
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

No downstairs, public washroom. Hot breakfast menu was tasteless/boring. Original room had faulty lighting and a 'three-legged' fridge. All door hinges need oiling and external doors need dampeners, plus hotel sandwiched between 6 lane highway and busy 4 track railroad line - sleeping is not easy. No restaurant/bar in hotel and none locally. Maintenance, carpet cleaning and re-decoration urgently required. Hotel is 4+ miles from Whitehouse (20+ $ taxi fare).

Pluses - helpful staff, clean bedding/towels, comfortable mattress, good air conditioning, complimentary daily Union Street transport and hotel wifi.

Not recommended for tourist usage.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipatel82, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at our property. While we cant do anything about our location, we are working on changing carpets throughout our hotel among other upgrades. We do strive to ensure all our guests have a comfortable stay. We sincerely hope to have you again as a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

Very good!!!
I like the breakfest and the rooms.
Maybe need more attention at the carpet, cleaning or changing. But it is everything ok. Very nice hotel, good local, near gas station, near Washington monuments.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipatel82, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Felipe,

Thank you for your review. Our entire staff discuss every feedback left by our customers and implement on going service strategies to ensure our guests are completely satisfied with their stay with us. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

New York Ave isn't as shady as it used to be first of all. Yes, it still has a cast of characters roaming around outside late at night but you are going to see that in any American city. When checking in, the front desk rep was obviously new but was trying his best and was very apologetic for the wait. I had reserved the suite and there were problems with the air conditioner. They were in the process of getting it fixed so they comped my parking for the 3 nights, which was a nice gesture of service. After about an hour of being in the room, the front desk guy and a security guy came in and completely removed the air conditioning unit. They took another unit out of an empty room and brought in and changed it out. It was a big job. If I hadn't booked the hot tub suite I'm sure they would have just moved me to another room. Those AC units are huge and it wasn't an easy job for them to come in and take care of that problem. For going to concerts at the 9:30 Club this is a good location and the staff really puts forth effort in taking care of you.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.