We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #116 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
1 review
“Great hotel and amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in this hotel during the 4th of July rush. The hotel was sold out but the staff and services we received was outstanding. Got room service daily and if I call for fresh towels , it would arrive within minutes. Very well organized and managed. The manager Chirag Patel was very welcoming and took care of all our needs. I do visit DC for business purposes and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    31
    36
    59
See reviews for
58
34
27
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Comfort Inn on New York Avenue made my stay at Washington DC a wonderful one. The staff were amazing and friendly!!! they were very helpful and didn't get annoyed with all my questions!! The breakfast place was clean and well stocked and had food that everyone in my family would be satisfied with. Our room was very clean and spacious for my kids to enjoy. Also it had everything that we wanted and even more in the room. we stayed there on the 4th of July weekend and found that it was a very convenient location.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Comfort Inn on New York Avenue was a great experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious. The amenities were up to date and modern. It had everything that we expected and more in the room. The breakfast was clean and well stocked.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The problem was not that the staff were extremely uncooperative, rude, impolite and unbelievably mean ( i mean seriously like premeditated mean). The problem was also not that our room smelled like vomit all the time. The problem was also NOT that it is a million miles away from anything good in the city of Washington DC.

The biggest problem for me was the fact that despite booking MONTHS ago, when we arrived at the hotel after a long bus ride, back aches, extreme hunger and thirst, these guys made some silly excuse about "water leakage/ seepage" due to which apparently they had to shut down the whole of the 7th floor and this PROBLEM , miraculously disappeared within 24 hours of its start. The worst is yet to come- Their duty manager had the nerve to tell me that she had been "trying to get in touch". I mean dear GOD, how hard is it in the age of technology to get in touch with a person? EMAIL, TELEPHONE, TEXT!!!

a. Obviously they over booked and did not have the guts to look their guests squarely and simply own up to being careless and sloppy with their reservations.

b. They sent us to a sister concern hotel which was another 20 miles away from DC (we might as well have stayed in Baltimore for the night). Now this other comfort inn was WAYYYY BETTER but really far so we had to return to the sloppy comfort inn (which as i have mentioned smelled like vomit).

c. They did not even give us transport back to the city the next day and we had to spend quite a bit of cash for the ride back from ALMOST BALTIMORE to WASHINGTON DC. They grudgingly offered us a room upgrade but didn't matter because by then we were miffed, extremely inconvenienced and exasperated at the attitude of the staff.

All the restaurants/ other hotels we ate in while we stayed in DC gave bad reviews of this hotel.

I loved the city, I loved every single place I went to/ ate in and all the cab drivers I met.

But everything was ruined at the end of the day when I had to step in here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipatel82, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We sincerely apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We pride ourselves on Customer Service, and will take your comments seriously to ensure customer satisfaction. We hope to retain your business in the future. Please feel free to contact at chirag.patel@axarmgmt.com for additional comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my husband stayed at Comfort inn, Washington for 2 nights.
We were disappointed by the location, it doesn't look safe, but the staff seemed very friendly. We arrived at midnight and we were both a little peckish. The manager Raj Rathod was extremely accommodating and went and got some fruit for us. He was very helpful throughout our stay.
We had a pleasant stay, the rooms were clean and clean towels and linen.
I think it could do with changing the décor. The dark carpet and the dark furniture was unwelcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We choose this hotel because I have used Comfort Inns through out the states and always been very satisfied. I made a big mistake in not checking a) Location [I usually do a virtual 'google map' walk around the area and b) not looking at Trip Advisor for reviews something I usually always do. It was the last stay in our month long trip across the States and proved a disappointment. I have written to Choice Hotels and they have passed my complaint onto the hotel.

As previously stated it is not a good location and being 3 females on our own would not venture out after dark - one of us even was not sure about going down one level and along the corridor to the vending machine!

The shuttle was 80% good and very handy to get you to Union Street Station but at one point my daughter who had rung up for the shuttle and was there on time had to wait over an hour, in the dark, outside the station before it arrived. She insisted on seeing the manager and complaining when she got back - not made any easier by the staff insisting he was busy!

I am sure for the money there must be better places in Washington?

However I must stay 90% of the staff were very friendly and did try to help.

Oh nearly forgot I drew the straw for sleeping on the pull down sofa bed - they be sloped from the head to the feet at about a 30% angle! I did complain but nothing was done about it but seeing as were there for only 3 nights I suppose they did not consider it worth the effort to try and fix.

My advice is look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is very bad, also not a safe area. Carpets are dirty.Train goes by right behind the building every half an hour...it disturbs your sleep. Staff was very nice, but I did not like the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.