We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's good is good; what's bad its bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #115 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Arlington TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“What's good is good; what's bad its bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Where to start....first, the front desk clerk Dennis is pretty much a god. I don't know how he handles phone, counter, reservations, questions, etc all at once, with a smile on his face and best service ever. The good: excellent price for location proximity to State Dept, strategically located near bus B2 should you forget your interview dress slacks like I did and have to go to the nearest full service shopping center. Plenty of coffee, room, nice decor and awesome bathrooms, breakfast was nothing special but the ambience of the dining hall and reception area are nice. Free shuttle to-from Union Station. The bad: you never know what works or doesn't I.e. missing internal pot for coffee maker, cool night means turning on the heater only to have the tar scared out of you when the smoke alarm goes off at 1am. No close by restaurants other than KFC/Taco Bell half block walk. Despite it being behind Amtrak tracks, I couldn't really hear the train. Lastly, internet strength and speed are variable, which is terrible for business, and don't even work in common areas I.e. breakfast area, lobby.

On the whole, I may or may not stay here again; depends on whether I find something better closer to State Dept

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    58
    32
    38
    64
See reviews for
61
41
29
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the secretaries at my office made this hotel reservation. Sounds good online if you don't know Washington very well.
Dicey neighborhood. Haven't lived in DC in over 20 years but when I saw it was on NY Ave I got worried...and I was right. The desk clerk and doorman were pleasant enough but the place is really run down. Parking was very tight.
Scary elevators...but once I got to the room it actually wasn't bad. Modern enough and pretty clean.
Breakfast left a lot to be desired. I only wanted coffee but they had run out. At like $169 a night I'd expect more.
By car it really is only 5 min from Capitol Hill.

Room Tip: Back of the Hotel has noisy trains. Front had a noisy street with trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is far away from the main attractions and there is only one McDonnalds and one TacoBell nearby (within 700 ft), but it has a shuttle service at the early in the morning and at the end of the day to and from the Union Station where the city tour buses depart. It is not near from the hotel, but the service is very good.
From there you can take one of these city tour buses and choose one of the many tours or get a regular bus or metro. It is straightforward. If you want to take a taxi, get one at the hotel and not at the Union Station where you can face long queues sometimes.
The hotel is clean, excelent breakfast with fresh fruits, cereals, waffles, yogurt, etc.included in the price, as well as free parking (if available). There is not any restaurant there or nearby. My suggestion is dinner at the Union Station before come back to the hotel. The room was clean, free wifi, good lcd TV. The front desk team is too serious, but does the job efficiently. they could be more relaxed with the tourists.
Behind the hotel there is a railroad track and trains passes from time to time. If you stay in lower floors, you will be awaken in the mid of the night.
I am from outside US so I ordered some items from Amazon. For my despair some of the items disappeared from the luggage locker. They refunded up to the cost of my reservation, which covered 2/3 of the my loss.
Although this problem, I recommend this hotel due to the nice price (not due the refund) and the shuttle service and I do not recommend to ship mail items to this hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms are near to a very heavy traffic avenue. As I did not stay there, I do not now the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room not clean. If you see sticky brown stuff on the wall you know the place is not wiped down.
Floors so dirty that you do not even want to walk around in your socks. A few holes in the bed cover. I am always concerned about hotel cleanliness because you are in a room where others have slept....icky. Hotels should truly strive to be spotless.

Parking is in a garage attached to the building, tiny and does not feel safe. You have to pay to park. Did not appear to be safe neighborhood, I left early did not want to stay any longer than I needed to.

Got a call in the middle of the night, 3am saying they were the front desk, had problems with their computer and needed additional information from me. I provided no information, told the person I did not know who they were and I would come to the front desk to handle it..I never went. That morning the front desk staff said they did not make the call, that sometimes they get these prank calls and it was a good thing I did not give up information...hotel appeared as if these calls are regular(**I never had this happen in any hotel)..and I have been in hundreds of rooms over my years of travel.

Arrived late or would have booked another room. Not a good sleep. Tried to shower without touching anything. Hosed the place down with lysol spray and alcohol with anything I touched. And yes I do carry lysol with me anywhere I go.

Breakfast area appeared clean. Front desk was nice but nonchalant about my overnight experience. Would never go again. The exact opposite of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC, which very clean.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, Do not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is nowhere near Union Station as advertised. It is a 15 minute drive and would be impossible to walk to. The area is unsavoury and I would not recommend walking around at night. Our room was facing a very noisy main road which made for poor sleep. The next door room were constantly crashing about and hitting the adjoining wall. Very noisy corridors. Upon taking a shower on our last night's stay we discovered that the towels hadn't been replaced so we had to share! Shuttle was very useful to get to Union Station - you would spend a lot on cabs otherwise. Gym includes 3 cardio machines with at least one broken and a weights station that barely functions. Do not stay here - spend a bit more a night and stay somewhere in a nice safe neighbourhood closer to the attractions!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family & I arrived 7/29 @ 3pm. We were shocked @ the neighborhood of this hotel, as that was not displayed online. There is a liquor store across the street & we saw many people with questionable professions surrounding the hotel & in the lobby. We checked in & asked about the shuttle to take us into DC. The man behind the desk was condescending as he explained there was not a shuttle to take us as it only runs in the AM and late PM. He said he could get us a taxi; he waved to a guy waiting in the lobby who said he would take us to Union Station. This taxi was a run down van and the driver had to stop for gas but took us to Union Station. (By the way, the hotel is at least a 15 minute drive from the monuments through the ghetto. You could not walk there.) The next morning we took the shuttle to the city & had been in the city for about an hour when the hotel called me & informed me we had a break-in on our car. They refused to give me more info & refused to come get us after I relayed our location. We arrived from a taxi & the hotel staff was short with us & quickly dismissed us. They offered no help in our time of need. I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Take my advice. Pay a little bit more for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is Martha, i stayed here for one night and i couldn't be happier. Stuff was very friendly especially the guy at front desk.So mad that I forgot his first name but it starts with a D. Thank you so much for helping me choose the touring package. They also let me check out late for free because my flight was later in the day. oh and please tip the shuttle driver, he was amazing. Cant wait to get back next year.

Room Tip: Dont listen to the negative reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Choice Hotels, HostelBookers, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.