We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awful!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #115 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just Awful!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room not clean. If you see sticky brown stuff on the wall you know the place is not wiped down.
Floors so dirty that you do not even want to walk around in your socks. A few holes in the bed cover. I am always concerned about hotel cleanliness because you are in a room where others have slept....icky. Hotels should truly strive to be spotless.

Parking is in a garage attached to the building, tiny and does not feel safe. You have to pay to park. Did not appear to be safe neighborhood, I left early did not want to stay any longer than I needed to.

Got a call in the middle of the night, 3am saying they were the front desk, had problems with their computer and needed additional information from me. I provided no information, told the person I did not know who they were and I would come to the front desk to handle it..I never went. That morning the front desk staff said they did not make the call, that sometimes they get these prank calls and it was a good thing I did not give up information...hotel appeared as if these calls are regular(**I never had this happen in any hotel)..and I have been in hundreds of rooms over my years of travel.

Arrived late or would have booked another room. Not a good sleep. Tried to shower without touching anything. Hosed the place down with lysol spray and alcohol with anything I touched. And yes I do carry lysol with me anywhere I go.

Breakfast area appeared clean. Front desk was nice but nonchalant about my overnight experience. Would never go again. The exact opposite of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC, which very clean.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, Do not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    56
    29
    37
    61
See reviews for
60
35
29
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is nowhere near Union Station as advertised. It is a 15 minute drive and would be impossible to walk to. The area is unsavoury and I would not recommend walking around at night. Our room was facing a very noisy main road which made for poor sleep. The next door room were constantly crashing about and hitting the adjoining wall. Very noisy corridors. Upon taking a shower on our last night's stay we discovered that the towels hadn't been replaced so we had to share! Shuttle was very useful to get to Union Station - you would spend a lot on cabs otherwise. Gym includes 3 cardio machines with at least one broken and a weights station that barely functions. Do not stay here - spend a bit more a night and stay somewhere in a nice safe neighbourhood closer to the attractions!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family & I arrived 7/29 @ 3pm. We were shocked @ the neighborhood of this hotel, as that was not displayed online. There is a liquor store across the street & we saw many people with questionable professions surrounding the hotel & in the lobby. We checked in & asked about the shuttle to take us into DC. The man behind the desk was condescending as he explained there was not a shuttle to take us as it only runs in the AM and late PM. He said he could get us a taxi; he waved to a guy waiting in the lobby who said he would take us to Union Station. This taxi was a run down van and the driver had to stop for gas but took us to Union Station. (By the way, the hotel is at least a 15 minute drive from the monuments through the ghetto. You could not walk there.) The next morning we took the shuttle to the city & had been in the city for about an hour when the hotel called me & informed me we had a break-in on our car. They refused to give me more info & refused to come get us after I relayed our location. We arrived from a taxi & the hotel staff was short with us & quickly dismissed us. They offered no help in our time of need. I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Take my advice. Pay a little bit more for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is Martha, i stayed here for one night and i couldn't be happier. Stuff was very friendly especially the guy at front desk.So mad that I forgot his first name but it starts with a D. Thank you so much for helping me choose the touring package. They also let me check out late for free because my flight was later in the day. oh and please tip the shuttle driver, he was amazing. Cant wait to get back next year.

Room Tip: Dont listen to the negative reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very impressed with the staff at this hotel. The front desk people were helpful, the shuttle drivers were polite and alway prompt. My family loved the breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: This hotel was a little inconvenient to the Washington sightseeing spots, but worth it if you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiraearly, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful reviews of our staff and our property. I'm so happy to here your stay was a comfortable one for you and your family. Our comfort Inn & Suites staff prides ourselves on guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The first thing you need to know is that this property is nowhere near Union Station. Maybe as a pigeon flies it might be a mile and a half or so but that pigeon does not need to negotiate rush hour traffic or muggers. You do not want to have to walk anywhere around the vicinity of this hotel - it does not feel safe, day or night. Once you are inside the premises it seems safe enough, but the viability of this hotel as a tourist/business facility depends 100% on their free, safe, shuttle bus to Union Station, where you can find a wide variety of restaurants and shops or take the Metro or Amtrak and get anywhere in the world. So any problems with the shuttle are a serious problem with the hotel.
And there are SERIOUS problems with the shuttle. There are two vehicles that do the shuttle. One is a 15-passenger van (too small during high-demand periods) the other is a larger capacity mini-bus (sometimes too small as well) that has so many rattles, clangs, and thunks that it sounds like it's on its deathbed. For the most part there is only one driver during shuttle hours, and the traffic in DC can easily reach gridlock levels then. So the promise that the shuttle makes two round trips per hour? Poppycock. Not guaranteed, and not always possible. This is not the fault of the drivers, it's the inherent limitations of their equipment and work schedules. The drivers, in fact (gold stars to Mike and Cynthia) make a heroic effort, but they are under impossible constraints.
The rooms are kind of an afterthought here unless you have your own car because in DC it's location location location. Mine (multiple nights) was average to a little below. Not much noise from the neighbors; more from New York Avenue below the window. On the other side of the hotel you would get the noise from the Amtrak trains so it's a tossup. My room was directly across from the ice machine, that's my punishment for the ultra-low Priceline rate that I paid.
Breakfast average. Didn't use the hotel wifi, brought my own so no opinion.
Room door deadbolt could not be used because the bolt and the hole in the frame did not line up. I relied on the slider in case of an intruder which was somewhat scary as a woman traveling alone but I tend to err on the side of bravery. There are not enough electrical outlets in the room to plug in a computer, wifi hotspot, and cell phone at the same time. When I fiddled with trying to plug in the microwave behind the tv cabinet, sparks ensued which was pretty scary.
I guess the conclusion is that you get what you pay for (duh) and DC is a pricey town. If you need to come in under $100 a night you can do it here; just be prepared to suffer some inconveniences.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiraearly, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I apologize and express my deepest concerns for the inconveniences you suffered on your stay here at Comfort Inn & Suites. We have made great improvements to both of our transportation vehicles in order to better serve our many guests. Although we are not in downtown DC we try to make sure we accommodate all of our guests needs. I hope that we can change your perception on your future trips to Washington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got off AMTRAK and had no trouble finding the shuttle to the hotel. It was a bit farther from Union Station but it was next to the railway tracks. Shuttle was handy and the price was right. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would think twice about walking around the neighbourhood at night and did not see any nearby amenities. Staff suggested the shuttle to Union Station as the best place for a meal so I might be right in my caution. Breakfast was good and the room was more than adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiraearly, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback on your stay in Washington. Our surrounding area is undergoing some major city wide projects so we hope to have more restaraunts, stores, etc in the near future. I'm glad that our staff made you feel welcome and we'll look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Choice Hotels and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.