We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #115 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“In need of renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is reasonably priced and,shuttle journey to Union Statio  taken into account, reasonably close to downtown DC. The hotel had seen better days but the rooms we very large and comfortable. Breakfast included but otherwise no bar and you have to phone out for food. You would NOT walk in this neighbourhood at night - so be warned.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    30
    38
    63
See reviews for
60
38
29
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed several nights in Comfort Inn, and as a budget traveler I always consider the price and the value of the place or product in my reviews...They have a shuttle service to and from the Union Station which runs around every 30-45 min, considering the traffic, so they're good on that part...Rooms are nice enough, beds are comfortable, toilet and bath are clean..Sleep was an issue during the first night, cos my room was on the side of the road, and the hotel was immediately adjacent to the road...But around 12 MN, passing vehicles get less, so was able to get some sleep, however though, around 5 in the morning, you'll start to hear the bangs of the doors of the other rooms..So they were my alarm clock...If you're the type who's not sensitive to noise OR you're good with 5-6 hours of sleep, then this can be your hotel...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends during July. I had been visiting from a different state to have a few days off from my summer job.
The hotel is approx 15 minutes away by shuttle bus (free service) which picks visitors up on a half-hour basis. Although I appreciated the good service, there was no set meeting point and there were often more than the 12 seater bus to pick up meaning we had to wait our turn.
The hotel rooms were very fusty, but extremely comfortable and definitely value for money. Special mention to the cleaning staff who kept the place very tidy and welcoming.
The only very bad drawback of the hotel is the surrounding area which we didn't feel safe in at night (as a group of young girls this is understandable). Another point was the breakfast was served extremely early in the morning and coming down at 7.30am, the breakfast host had aleady started turning machines off! There wasn't a good variety, but then again it was free!
I would say that this hotel would accomodate mixed groups or older couples or indeed solo travellers who are looking for just somewhere to rest their heads between sight-seeing. I would not recommend it for anyone staying in the DC area for a week/fortnight.

Room Tip: Top floor, at the back. If you're not fussy on the view, it's quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homburg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Comfort Inn New York Avenue offers clean and spacious rooms and a good breakfast buffet, but the hotel is not centrally located and there is no public transport available near the hotel.
We had to catch a flight late at night and asked the lady at the reception in the evening to call a taxi for 3 a.m. When we were ready for departure there was no taxi waiting for us and the guy at the reception didn't help us to get a taxi at all. We had to stand in the rain in the front of the hotel to flag down a taxi. Finally we reached the airport at the last minute.
I wouldn't stay at the Comfort Inn New York Avenue again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! We stayed here in mid-May with a large group of students visiting Washington DC. It was our worst hotel experience ever...by far.

There was an intense bed bug infestation in Room 317 the first night; bed bugs were on the walls and sheets with both occupants waking up with multiple bite marks. AGAIN, bed bugs were present on the SECOND night, in Room 320, after all rooms were supposedly checked and treated. Other rooms showed previous bedbug issues on linens.

There was a great deal of exterior noise --- front had noise from trucks starting around 4ish and back had noise from trains. Bus parking is also extremely difficult, even though the parking lot is gated; there is simply not much room to maneuver.

The cleaning was nonexistent in some rooms --- some rooms did not have new sheets the 2nd night (AFTER the bed bug issue) – beds were simply remade; one room was skipped entirely and they did NOT put the do not disturb/clean sign out – no trash taken out, no clean towels, nothing.

Upon arrival, another room had to ask for a new flat sheet because it had several large stains on it. The new sheet had a cigarette burn hole on it.

When we checked all of our rooms for bed bugs after the first night, we lifted mattresses and found food particles in between the mattresses in multiple rooms. Filth was common behind the beds also. One bed had a broken box spring.

Room 306 smelled like cat urine (previous infestations and treatments often smell like this, acc. to internet sources) when they walked in so they had to be moved to another room (315), which smelled of vomit.

Bottom line, this hotel was a nightmare. Our travel company worked for months to obtain a partial refund for our stay. After the fact, the hotel said they made some changes in the housekeeping staff. The manager did give us large plastic bags (on our request) to wrap all of our suitcases in (so we could try to contain the bed bug problem on our buses). When we bring student groups back to DC, we will never, ever stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

stayed here a few times, different name back then. Hotel has changed a wee bit, still has the same reception, and dull corridors. the staff, well the same lady throughout my visit, was very nice and so helpful, she moved me a room facing the front as opposed to the back, overlooking the railway line. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. I think this hotel is used mainly by businessmen, who are not there for the views, there are none really, just of the busy main road outside it. I like this place though, it has everything you need, its a pity there is not some kind of cafe on site, not much choice nearby. I had to go the service station opposite and buy some snack things. Macdonalds further down. I will go back to this hotel, good price and easy to get to location

Room Tip: all kingsize rooms face the back, overlooking the busy railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I read a lot of the reviews on this hotel. I was scrambling to get a hotel and I basically did 25 bids on priceline and searched everywhere close to my work. I finally "settled" on this hotel. I knew that it might not be in a great area, but I took a chance.

Now I've stayed in about 10 different hotels from here to Arlington while in the DC area. The hotel is very clean, very spacious, staff are friendly, quick and get you in to your room. Despite what some might say on here, there are TONS of people coming and going from this hotel. I saw old couples, young couples, traveling professionals, young, old, whatever. For the price, you know what you're getting when you get a room here.

And for what folks say about the "area". You're in a big city, yes, you may see a liquor store. Yes, you may see a homeless person. Welcome to the United States!

The hotel room was very clean and spacious. It's pretty plain and the furniture was pretty standard hotel issue. I am here now as I write this and went and checked out the gym and the eating areas. Both better than I've been in while I stayed in other hotels...that cost more and were closer to Downtown DC.

And I also heard of "Dennis" as mentioned in another review. Very friendly guy. He didn't check me in, but was very helpful to someone checking in next to me.

If you're a business traveler or an out of towner, you'd be fine staying here. The free shuttle is WAY better than paying for a taxi to Union Station. From Union Station, you can take the Metro anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Address: 1600 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue welcomes you to Washington DC home of our Nation’s many magnificent museums, attractions, and rich history.The Comfort Inn & Suites New York Avenue is a great start to your trip.The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour hot beverage bar, 24 hour fitness center and business center, free wireless internet access. We offer room types to fit any traveler’s need. We have double queen rooms, deluxe king size rooms with pull out sleeper sofas, double queen suites with a separate living area and king size suites with a separate living area. When you want to spoil yourself or just relax after a long day of touring, we offer Jacuzzi suites with a roman style Jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area. All rooms are furnished with in-room safe, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, 32” Plasma TV and lounge chair, work desk and executive chair. Control your own comfort in your room with individually controlled HVAC unit. Start your morning with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with its abundant selection of hot and cold breakfast items to include our eggs, sausage, and fresh hot waffles. Take our complimentary shuttle service to the Union Station where you can do a little shopping, a little eating and take off on one of the city tours that start from the Union Station. If you want to take your time and plan out your own sightseeing tour, you can also conveniently hop onto the Metro to take you anywhere in Washington, DC to tour your favorite sights in the Nation’s Capital.After a fun filled day, kick back and relax in your spacious clean room with all the comfort of home. While visiting Washington DC may we suggest some of DC must see and do…See the magnificent jewels, dinosaurs and mammals on display at the National Museum of Natural History, the airplanes and interactive flight simulators at the National Air and Space Museum, and the stories, arts and crafts at the National Museum of the American Indian. Art lovers won't want to miss a visit to the National Gallery of Art, while the National Archives is a must for any American history buff. Tour the Capitol Hill neighborhood and explore the U.S. Capitol, Library of Congress and Supreme Court. The neighborhood is also home to Union Station and the Folger Shakespeare Library, which houses the largest collection of Shakespeare memorabilia outside of England. Go undercover at the International Spy Museum, where you can crack codes, take on covers and even let your group take on its own covert operation. Or, stop by the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum, the newest addition to the Smithsonian system.Ride to the top of the Washington Monument (tickets required) or the Old Post Office Pavilion for a panoramic view of the city. Animal lovers may also wish to pay a visit to the National Zoo, home to giant pandas, cheetahs, tigers and other exotic species.Discover DC's theatre scene. The Kennedy Center's Millennium Stage offers free performances at 6:30 pm nightly. Other theatres, such as the Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, regularly present familiar classics. For something a bit more contemporary, catch a show at Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company or Studio Theatre.Sports fans can watch the Washington Nationals, Washington Wizards, Washington Mystics, Washington Capitals or DC United in action.If you are looking for nightlife, head to U Street for live jazz music or Adams Morgan to experience DC's eclectic, international scene.If you love nature, take stroll at the National Arboretum just two three lights from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Choice Hotels, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn And Suites Near Union Station
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
President Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.