We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms aside, the poor service should drive you away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Washington to your Saves list
Quality Inn Washington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   501 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Osceola Wi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rooms aside, the poor service should drive you away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The poor reviews about this place do not lie. It is dumpy, we got over that part. The worst part of it is the horrible service from the staff. Very non-responsive and also uninformed. I asked about a vending machine, they said yes they have them and pointed me in a direction. There was a pop machine and that was it. Sadly that was the best service we got from the staff! After the trip we contacted the corporate office, sounds like this place is being stripped of its Quality Inn name - good move by corporate because i would not want to be associated with this particular location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    27
    19
    49
See reviews for
21
32
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is a massive disappointment. It was sold to us as a 3 star property but there's a huge discrepancy between the quality of rooms. Some staff are incredibly unhelpful. The property completely lacks appeal, is tired, warn, dirty and in a poor area. The breakfast room is too small for the volume of people that stay at the property. The only positive is its distance to Washington, DC. Taxi fare to Union Station is $10 + tip. No restaurants in walking distance but can get food delivered. This hotel should not be in the Quality Inn program, completely dishonors the brand. Apart from hotel, we enjoyed our stay in Washington and the big bus tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with five children leaves us few options with regard to hotels. We must book 2 rooms, and we admittedly look for a bargain. That being said, this was too much of a bargain for my liking.

First, when making reservations we were assured of receiving adjoining rooms only to be told upon arrival that there are no adjoining rooms.

It was telling that the front desk worker was behind bullet proof glass. That was the first clue that we were in an unsavory neighborhood.

One immediately noticed how run down the facility is. Threadbare bedding, holes in the walls, peeling paint, and worn out furniture all indicated the lack if upkeep and concern for the facility by hotel management. The rooms were not filthy, but I would not call them clean. There was also a strong, unpleasant odor in one of our two rooms.

The breakfast was okay, but the room where it was served was tiny and overcrowded, giving us no choice but to take our food back to our rooms. No small feat for a family with 5 children, including an infant.

The walk to the metro station was made longer by construction in New York Ave. We had to walk through the warehouse district. It was very obviously not a good neighborhood. After one day of walking, we decided to drive to Union Station and pay to park for the day.

We have stayed on the cheap many times, but this was one if the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. I would never stay here again, and I recommend caution when planning your DC vacation at this facility.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Reception staff unfriendly, they get irritated once you ask second Q. They just dismiss guests and pay no attention to any requests.
Terrible rooms, dirty, run down.
You can not find worse breakfast in this country, do not even try.
DO NOT EVER STAY THERE, BETTER STAY AWAY

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Bad case of bed bugs. Called the General Manager three times with no return call. I think that says enough. I would recommend booking a room somewhere else in the hopes of finding a place where management cares.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The rooms are run down, the breakfast is pathetic, there are insects infesting the rooms, the cable TV doesn't work well and the wireless internet is slow.

The area is horrible and the price is extortionate for the terrible quality.

Do yourself a massive favour and stay at the CourtYard Marriott next to Noma station, it is everything this place is not.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Unfortunately not much to like about this hotel. Reception staff friendly and that's about where the good stops. Rooms old and run down, smelly. Locations near to NOTHING! They give you directions to walk to nearest Metro station, be prepared for a long long walk. And we have been told by many do NOT do this walk after dark. A taxi driver told us not to go out of our room after dark in this area! Not very comforting. It is only an $8 -$9 taxi fare down to union station. Nowhere close by to get any sort of food. The breakfast is very sparse and if you leave it til later to go over there is nothing much left and if you ask for things, the reception is far from friendly. The room to have the breakfast in is so tiny that you will be lucky to get a table to eat at. With this many rooms in the place, this is quite inadequate.

Room Tip: Think all rooms much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Washington

Address: 501 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Quality Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.