We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Covington, Virginia
1 review
“Would Stay Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for the Redskins/Chargers game. Wanted to stay in a safe area close to the Metro. Capital Hill/Navy Yard Marriott met all of our expectations. Property clean, staff went above their call of duty to help. Room clean and laid out nicely. Breakfast was excellent and priced well for the portion received. Metro on next block. Only downfall, fee to pay for parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    132
    47
    14
    16
See reviews for
74
64
31
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for the Marine Corp Marathon and very pleased minus a couple of problems. One we were scheduled with a shuttle to take us to the metro at 4:30am and although we came down 3 minutes after the shuttle never came. We were told by another person also waiting there before us that the shuttle never came and left empty. We all left at around 4:45am.
The other problem is that they put a $380 dollar hold on our account which we had already paid for head of time.

Other than that the hotel was very clean and was at a perfect location for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
My apologies for the accounting error and that is not a common practice at the hotel. I am sure that we rectified the issue in a timely manner. Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness and location. Hope you choose ti visit us next year for the event.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull,UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for my 40th birthday for a week at the beginning of October.

It was a great stay. Good location, just out of town so not busy but served by the metro right next door, or a ten minute awl to Union Station.

The room was excellent. Spacious, comfortable and a great bathroom.

The staff where, on the whole, OK.

My only gripe was the room still wasn't serviced by 1600 hours? After a day walking around DC the last thing I wanted to come back to was an unserviced room. Staff made out we didm;t want it serviced, so was slightly miffed by that, but a free drink in the bar and an hour later it was all sorted.

Already planning a return trip to DC and we would certainly use this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Happy Birthday! Really sory for the mix up with your room being cleaned. Happy to hear that we were able to provide accomidations while taking care of the error. Thank you for the feedback and positive comments.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is hotel that is in walking distance from main attractions of Washington, DC near the Capitol. You may find promotions for $70 per night. The hotel is decent. Also the metro station is in one minute from hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Very happy to hear that our loction was ideal for your travels to Washington DC. Teh metro access is a great option at a very low cost. Looking forward to your next visit with us in the future.

General Manager - Chris Zanzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For Marine Corp Marathon Weekend, all hotels closer to the city proper were filled. This Marriott although not the most convenient to inner city DC, is conveniently located near the Metro. Staff are extremely accomodating and helpful. Due to the marathon and homecoming at an area college, we had to sign a "Quiet Agreement". It worked - no crazy loud neighbors. Had a good nights sleep for the 3 that were there. Beds are very comfortable, rooms including bathroom are clean. Cannot comment on the coffee at the bistro (they brew Starbucks) - had a coffee from Au Bon Pain next door. Restuarants in the immediate vicintiy are not noteworthy. ATF headquarters is down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the Metro - the hotel is conveniently located near the NoMa stop on the redli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for choosig to stay with us while you were here for the marathon and thank you for your service. The quiet agreement help protect all guests during city events to get a great nights sleep when staying with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Traveled in Oct 2013 for a conference at the Convention center. (The closer hotels were full). Marriottt's website says the hotel is only a few miles away....but it's really in another world. Located directly across form the federal ATF HQ, there are few restaurants and NO taxi service. Want a 5 Guys burger? No problem. It's across the street. Want a muffin from 7-Eleven or AU Bon Pair? It's right next door. But if you want a reasonably priced dinner and drink - forget it. I ordered a gin on the rocks and was charged $8.95 for a ONE OUNCE POUR. Seriously- there was way more ice than liquid in the glass. A burger is $12.50. Trip advisor says I'm only a mile away from the Tune Inn- a Diners Drive-ins and Dives location famous for the beer batter burger. I saw the bar staff pour 1 oz drinks over and over and over. If you want to get. Buzz on....don't spend your money here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations while you stayed with us. The Noma area continues to develop and provide more dinning options for dinner very closeto the hotel. As you may already know the red line is only 300 ft from the hotel that can provide you access to all of Washington DC dinning options.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

this was a very pleasant stay at a lovely hotel,
they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The staff are super helpful, the proximity to the metro fantastic and it has Star bucks in the foyer...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback and I am happy that the hotel was able to exceed your expectations! Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Address: 1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.