We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott near U.S. Capitol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #84 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marriott near U.S. Capitol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is hotel that is in walking distance from main attractions of Washington, DC near the Capitol. You may find promotions for $70 per night. The hotel is decent. Also the metro station is in one minute from hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Very happy to hear that our loction was ideal for your travels to Washington DC. Teh metro access is a great option at a very low cost. Looking forward to your next visit with us in the future.

General Manager - Chris Zanzano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    141
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
79
65
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For Marine Corp Marathon Weekend, all hotels closer to the city proper were filled. This Marriott although not the most convenient to inner city DC, is conveniently located near the Metro. Staff are extremely accomodating and helpful. Due to the marathon and homecoming at an area college, we had to sign a "Quiet Agreement". It worked - no crazy loud neighbors. Had a good nights sleep for the 3 that were there. Beds are very comfortable, rooms including bathroom are clean. Cannot comment on the coffee at the bistro (they brew Starbucks) - had a coffee from Au Bon Pain next door. Restuarants in the immediate vicintiy are not noteworthy. ATF headquarters is down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the Metro - the hotel is conveniently located near the NoMa stop on the redli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for choosig to stay with us while you were here for the marathon and thank you for your service. The quiet agreement help protect all guests during city events to get a great nights sleep when staying with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Traveled in Oct 2013 for a conference at the Convention center. (The closer hotels were full). Marriottt's website says the hotel is only a few miles away....but it's really in another world. Located directly across form the federal ATF HQ, there are few restaurants and NO taxi service. Want a 5 Guys burger? No problem. It's across the street. Want a muffin from 7-Eleven or AU Bon Pair? It's right next door. But if you want a reasonably priced dinner and drink - forget it. I ordered a gin on the rocks and was charged $8.95 for a ONE OUNCE POUR. Seriously- there was way more ice than liquid in the glass. A burger is $12.50. Trip advisor says I'm only a mile away from the Tune Inn- a Diners Drive-ins and Dives location famous for the beer batter burger. I saw the bar staff pour 1 oz drinks over and over and over. If you want to get. Buzz on....don't spend your money here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations while you stayed with us. The Noma area continues to develop and provide more dinning options for dinner very closeto the hotel. As you may already know the red line is only 300 ft from the hotel that can provide you access to all of Washington DC dinning options.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

this was a very pleasant stay at a lovely hotel,
they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The staff are super helpful, the proximity to the metro fantastic and it has Star bucks in the foyer...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback and I am happy that the hotel was able to exceed your expectations! Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, california
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our family stayed at this Courtyard for a wedding. The facility itself is quite nice. Rooms/beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are large and modern. Staff was warm and accommodating. There is some food available on site, and a few fast food places in the surrounding blocks. The NoMa Gaulladet metro station is right next door.

What could be improved:
My handicapped mother was put in an accessible room - as far from the elevator as you could possibly get! Can't understand why an accessible room requires so much walking to get to it.
Bathrooms are not well lighted, and the only mirrors are in the bathroom, which made getting ready for the wedding difficult.
The pillows are awful - so hard and thick that you wake up with a neck ache.
Worse of all - the noise from the metro is so loud until midnight and then again early in the morning.

Room Tip: Get one as far from the train tracks as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while attending a wedding. Happy to hear that the staff and rooms were warm and accommodating. We have just updated our bedding package and all rooms with new pillows this year.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. We arrived to be told that we had to lug 10 bags of luggage up to the 2nd floor to check in. I handed over 2 vouchers from our travel agent and within about 1 minute was given the keycard. When we got to the room we realised we had only been given 1 room, instead of 2. Back to reception where they tell us yes they have a room available at $125 a night. Alarmed, I said that wasn't correct as we had 2 rooms booked. The woman on reception hadn't even noticed that she was holding 2 vouchers, not 1. All good in the end except the rooms weren't exactly close together and travelling with 4 children this wasn't really acceptable.
On a Saturday afternoon in a strange town, there was nowhere to eat that was open because of the government shutdown. We had been handed a map at reception, which wasn't really helpful as the hotel street wasn't even shown on the map. After walking around a bit we found a McDonalds where we felt very unsafe and promptly left after eating our good.
Metro train line was closed for maintenance, but Metro staff were more helpful than hotel staff who weren't even aware trains weren't running. Anyway a short trip on the free shuttle bus and we were off to see Washington sights.
Food in the restaurant was reasonable enough, although on the first night the staff were very slow and forgot our requests a couple of times. In fact, I think the kids are still waiting for their crayons. Breakfast variety offered was fine, although a little pricey.
Our room overlooked the railway lines. Thank goodness the trains weren't running until the Monday morning, as they were very noisy when they did resume. Overall, a nice enough hotel, but we would have preferred to stay right in Washington. We will be back, but not to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am sorry to hear about to stay with us. As you can imagine the government shutdown had an impact on all aspects of Washington DC and it's visitors. Having the metro 300 ft from our front door is a great benefit to all our guests. Sorry that it was not working during your visit.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. It's a great place for a business stay as it is close to the metro (pretty much right out the door) and it has various restaurants (not high end) around to choose from. There are also a couple of grocery stores within walking distance. There isn't any breakfast included in the stay, but they have a cafe, The Bistro, on the 2nd floor. It was very overprices. Save a lot of money by getting breakfast downstairs at the Au Bon Pain.

The gym and the pool are both on the 2nd floor as well. The pool is about the size of a giant hot tub, but it's better than nothing I guess!

Overall it was an average stay. Nothing bad, but nothing extraordinary either. I'd stay here again for business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am happy that you were able to get a great nights rest and the hotel met your business needs. As you know Courtyard was built and designed for business travelers. Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Chris Zanzano - General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Address: 1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.