We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay, What A Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Commack, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay, What A Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I just got back from a four day stay at the Courtyard by Marriott\US Capitol. At first I was worried after reading some reviews, but this place was awesome! Everyone was very friendly. The room were clean. The bed (especially the pillows) were extremely comfortable. This hotel is just a few feet from DC Metro. By all means use the Metro to get around DC. The Metro runs behind the hotel, our room overlooked the tracks, but you do not hear or feel the train go by! I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review! I am very happy that the hotel and staff meet your exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to your next visit with us when you travel to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    145
    53
    15
    16
See reviews for
83
66
31
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as a family vacation. We found that it met our needs for a place to sleep and keep our things but found the location hard to get to.

Pros: It is located right next to a metro light rail station that services everything in DC. Was very easy to get around once you're there. Rooms were very nice. Comfortable beds. Nice choices for eating options in and around the hotel.

Cons: They have check-in on the 2nd floor which means having to lug all of your luggage with you. Not sure if this is because of the security built in because of the neighborhood it's in or because of the space they have. Staff was kind of indifferent to us. Not really welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your experience. I sincerely apologize that the team did not exceed your expectations. The leadership team is continues to work to improve the guest experience. I am happy you enjoyed the close proximity to the metro. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Never being to DC before the hotel staff was very helpful.

Pros: right next to the metro. Room key to get to floors above 2nd & in front after 10. Pool. Valet parking(secure under). Resturants in walking distance. Comfy bed
Cons: not a great view. Construction. Limited parking. $33 for valet over night. Not in walking distance to DC attractions. Small, but works.

**beware of construction on the roads (but could not hear it in the room)
**get all day pass for metro. Ask the guards they will help you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the close proximity to the metro. The NoMa neighborhood around the hotel continues to be one of the fastest growing areas in DC and we are very excited for new stores and restaurants that are coming into the area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great experience at the Courtyard Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol. The rooms were large, clean and nicely appointed. Similarly, the staff was professional and very accommodating. There are computers and printers available for travelers who need to print out boarding passes, etc. Next to the hotel is a 7-11, which is nice if you want to buy a few snacks for the room at night or to grab a quick breakfast on-the-go in the morning. The parking was expensive ($33 a night for valet parking), but the cars were kept in a nice secure area and the parking staff was efficient and responsive to our needs. The price for our room was well-below a lot of the other DC hotels and we were very happy with our experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in DC! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip to attend a show at the Convention Center. It was a vey nice hotel, clean and a great staff. My room was comfortable and really nicely decorated. The desk was good sized and made it a great work area. The bar area was large with nice lounge areas with plenty of televisions. The food menu had lots of choices and the food was well portioned. Two of us ate there both nights with no complaints. There is a lot of construction around the area so be prepared for some detours if diving. The weather was nice so we walked to the convention center which took about 30 minutes. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the Bistro Bar. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in DC for a convention. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

to begin with the hotel was rather hard to get into with limited parking for hotel guests out the front to unload and hand over to te valet.The street is extreamly narow and really shuld be one way but isnt. also the hotel only offers valet parking so you have to go down there. the hotel shares lifts and ground floor with some form of a hospital located on the other side of the building so the lobby is located on the second floor. the room itself was clean and nice with a comfy bed was a bit small but was fine. in order to get onto any guest floor you require a room key which is good because the few times i did go outside at night there were a few dodgy people around asking for money ect (there is also a security guard on duty 24 hrs which is good) there is a 7/11 located below the hotel which is super convienient also the metro station is only about 200mts from the hotel which is convienient altough trying to work out what sort of ticket to buy is complicated (we ended up catching a taxi lol) the hotel is also not close to any of the DC tourist attractions so dont expect to walk. for the price the hotel was good value but i would concider staying somewhere else just for convienience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights last week. Odd hotel, you check in on the 2nd floor, and later need your room key to get past the 2nd floor or come down from your room. Typical Marriott room, 711 next store, deli and 5 guys burgers across the street. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Expensive parking but this is DC. Another traveler told me the happy hour beer is almost $7, wonder what it is when it isn't on special. lol

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location and our friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in DC – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Address: 1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.