We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #82 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just a stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel just so busy because of the building work and roadworks. Good location to the metro station. Because of the location not many places to eat of an evening as they all seem to close early. But for that price you can't really complain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in DC – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    195
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
121
87
38
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seongnam
Level Contributor
411 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Best part was the location practically right outside the NoMa-Gallaudet metro stop...room was spacious and clean...great wifi and having the business center was nice to be able to print out some stuff...staff were very efficient and friendly...not much in the immediate surroundings of the hotel other than a 7-eleven and a Five Guys Burgers though...otherwise, a great choice for traveling in DC!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I am so pleased you had a wonderful visit to our hotel and DC. The location can’t be beat! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel...the rooms are comfortable and clean but you can hear everything in the hallway. Location was okay...next to a metro stop but so much construction in the area made it a bit hard to navigate. We had a nightmare the 2nd night...a group of kids from Italy were on our floor...slamming doors and screaming the hallways...called reception 3 times and nothing. My husband yelled at them...then I did (not quite as nicely as he did)...then I had to go down to reception to pitch a fit. (Seriously, the noise was ridiculous...doors slammed more than 40 times in an hour...and I mean SLAMMED!) finally a security guard came up...they called all of their chaperones...it finally quieted down around midnight. Honestly not sure if I would recommend or stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I apologize that you were not able to get a sound night sleep. We are looking forward to the completion on the construction in the area. The neighborhood around the hotel continues to be one of the fastest growing sections of the city. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My friends and I went on a girls trip and stayed at this hotel. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The assistant manager, Micah was awesome! He was very professional, helpful and truly made our experience great! The bartender, Amanuel makes the best drinks so be sure to stop by during happy hour! Overall, our experience was one of the best experiences I've had visiting a hotel and will defintley stay there again! Micah truly cares about the customers and works hard to ensure thier happiness!!!! :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the larger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again soon. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are nice and large, the internet works great, the subway station is only 1 minute away.
Like others have mentioned there are train tracks right behind the hotel, it didn't bother me, I slept very well, the windows are sound proof.
The 7 eleven next door was so convenient.
It's a great hotel if you want to stay away from downtown, but still have an easy access to everything by subway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback about your experience at the Courtyard US Capitol. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and accommodations. We look forward to seeing you next time you travel to DC. – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a good time. The hotel's location is convenient as it is about 1min's walk from the NoMa stop of the MetroRail. Also, there are two bikeshare stations nearby if you choose to move around town with those. The exercise room is small, but good and the pool next to it seemed nice enough as well. We did not have breakfast there so can't comment on that. The room was spacious and everything was clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service we provided and the neighborhood around the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
588 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Second time I've stayed here in the last year. Very friendly staff, free wi-fi, 2 minute walk from Metro Red LIne, 1 station from US Capitol. Also has small library with books re fun things to do in DC.

No security problems whatever.
You can pay a LOT more in DC, and I'm not sure I'd walk many blocks in this neighborhood, which is changing for the better. But getting from hotel to Metro is fine - literally half a block (hint, take Florida Av exit from Metro to cut your walk by 1/2)

Had 1 dinner at 5 Guys which is across the street; there is a convenience store right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay. I am delighted that you continue to return to our hotel. The NoMa neighborhood continues to be one of the fastest growing areas in DC and we are very excited for the stores that are coming into the area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! – Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/...
#60 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#78 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#42 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Address: 1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.