We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #84 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Virginia Beach VA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pretty good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Courtyard while visiting our daughter who lives a few blocks away. As you will see by the photos, parking is a difficult situation with only valet (which I hate) and expensive (which I hate even more). Luckily, we were able to park at our daughter's place so we dodged the bullet on parking.

The location is pretty good as I indicated but there is a lot of construction going on right there. Of course they stop work at night so it was never an issue. Perhaps best of all for the location is the Metro station basically attached. Right next to the ground floor entry is a 7-11 which is just perfect to get coffee in the morning. There is a Starbucks in the 2nd floor hotel lobby however I think it is nasty so I was happy to avoid the sludge.

The service was average as expected. The room was what you expect, nothing fancy. There was a small refrigerator and a coffee maker, neither of which we used. No safe in the room which seemed highly unusual especially for such an inner city setting. Short walk to Union station. We Paid $139 a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the easy access it provides to the metro. The parking prices are competitive with the other hotels in the area. The hotel does plan to have safes installed in all the rooms in the future. We currently have safes in some of the rooms as well as safety deposit boxes available behind the front desk. We are committed to providing extraordinary service and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area! - Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    158
    59
    18
    16
See reviews for
98
74
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Service bad, room noise, parking car - Need to pay 33 usd. Second fl. Many people's when check in, but all people not for check in. Service vey bad, the gril front desk did not smile. Train is behind, very noise. Price is very high. 182 usd for hotel?????

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Wang, I apologize for the service issues you experienced during your stay. We set our parking prices to be competitive with the local market. I do sincerely value the feedback as the hotel continues to improve our service and amenities. At Marriott, we are committed to providing exceptional service and when we fall short we feel that has a team we have failed. The leadership team in the hotel is committed to resolving issues such as these from happening again. Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at this newer Courtyard. Facility was very nice - as was the staff. There is a "real" dinning room and the food was quite good. It needs to be as the options in this general "emerging" area are limited to sandwich shops. And while the NoMa Metro is right next door, cabs are very difficult to get from this location. Best to plan ahead.
If you, like me, enjoyed trains as a kid, you will enjoy watching all the trains run in and out of Union Station ( a couple of blocks south) but the activity on the 6 tracks right below your window may impact your sleep - particularly early am. Ask for a room away from the tracks.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI-CYTD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Bistro, located in our lobby. We continue to work with Amtrak to reduce the amount of noise generated by the trains. We are all committed to providing exceptional service and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. - Chris Zanzano, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel has the best staff and the best service I have seen in a long time. From the moment we pulled up to the curb until the time we waited for our transportation back to the airport, every employee we encountered genuinely smiled, said hello or may I help you, or just started a conversation with us. It was truly a pleasure being there. The hotel was also very very clean. The food was tasty at the bistro bar where we ate breakfast. The hotel is nicely located right next to a Metro stop, which was a plus for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssaund, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are very happy to hear that our entire team provided extraordinary service and you enjoyed the hotel during your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your in DC. – Shelly Saunders, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a nice and clean hotel. It is conveniently located a few doors down from a metro stop, which made it fast and easy to get into the city. My husband and I arrived very early in the morning and had no issues getting right into our room. My only complaint about this hotel was the noise. I had a hard time sleeping with the sound of the train going by. There was also construction going on right outside our window. Other than that, I'd highly recommend this for your stay in D.C.!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssaund, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the easy access it provides to the metro and many of the DC sights. We do apologize about the noise disturbances you experienced during your stay. We continue to work with the construction companies and the Amtrak to reduce the amount of noise. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your in DC. - Shelly Saunders, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room was spacious, clean, had everything we needed, and the location combined with available late-checkout luggage storage and extended valet parking coverage made this a perfect base for sightseeing in DC as well as a day trip to Annapolis. Front desk staff could not be nicer - every staff member we met on the property had a smile on their face and a friendly word to say. Food at the bistro bar was good quality and tasted fresh, and the bartender was very friendly, funny and pleasant. The Five Guys Burgers across the street are a nice mealtime option if you are *really* hungry - huge portions and excellent taste. In-house convenience store / market and another one right next door (7-11) have you covered for snacks, necessities, small items you may need. Metro stop literally in front of the hotel... 15 minutes to the sights on the National Mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssaund, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are delighted to hear that our front desk staff exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the food and service in the Bistro. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. - Shelly Saunders, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice being able to walk out door of hotel and hop on the Metro's red line. This revitalized area of Washington has everything you will need to make your stay comfortable...restaurants and a nice clean grocery store and a drug store....all within walking distance. Staff has been helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and inviting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssaund, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the great comment! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. - Shelly Saunders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol

Address: 1325 2nd Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located one metro rail stop from Union Station, the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak train. Within easy reach of US Capitol, National Mall and The Whitehouse, use this hotel as your launch pad and enjoy the sights and sounds of Washington. Hotel amenities include The Bistro, free wi-fi, pool, GoBoard, and 24 hour business and print center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington, Dc / u.s. Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC / U.S. Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.