We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Eldon Luxury Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Eldon Luxury Suites to your Saves list
The Eldon Luxury Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   933 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Mount Vernon Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed for a whole week at this place, that in fact is not exactly a hotel, it is more like an apartment. It certainly is very spacious and has a great kitchen. The location is not so nice, mainly after dark (but if you are going to the Convention Center, it is one of the best spots to stay in). Some days the wifi was not working, and took them more than 12 hours to fix it. They made me change rooms twice in a week, telling me the reason was "reservation problems with other guests". On the first day, when I asked for a taxi, the receptionist said to a guy standing at the reception to take me to where I wanted to go. I thought he was a taxi driver working for the hotel, but he wasn't; the taxi didn't have a taximeter and he decided to charge me 20 dollars for a 10 dollar ride, while he was asking annoying questions about my personal life. After that, I didn't trust the hotel to ask for another taxis. Very close you can find the metro station and if you walk to the I street you can also find some nice restaurants/stores.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    95
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
76
65
15
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed four nights at The Eldon, and I was very impressed by the quality of the rooms and hotel. The decor and accouterments live up to the Luxury in the name. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was extraordinarily spacious. Seated lighting, marble tile floors, and wood walls made for a very comfortable setting while in the room. The only down side was the in-room internet was problematic. They placed wi-fi boosters in the rooms, but I ended up disconnecting the booster and plugging my laptop directly into the jack. Breakfast was a little disappointing considering the $5.00 charge, but all other amenities were very good.

Room Tip: Corner suites are a little smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here while attending a convention in DC. The location is great, less than 2 blocks from the Convention Center. It is also convenient to the subway and tourist attractions in the Capital. I was blown away by the quality of the accommodations in the one bedroom Independence Suite. Every aspect was spacious, with a huge flat screen in the living room and a very comfortable bed. The sofa bed and the fully functional kitchen would make this a great place to stay for a family with children, as well. I most definitely will stay hear the next time I'm in town for a convention or just to sight see.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great value for the money. After reading reviews on several site I was surprised when I got there. It was clean, quite, and yes there is construction going on but I never noticed any noise. As far has the boarded up building, this is no fault of the hotel. My stay was great and I also plan to stay a week in July.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Eldon Suites has been a mixed experience. First the positives, our suite is equivalent to a one bedroom apartment. Since we are he for several nights it is nice to have room to spread out. Also, the kitchen area includes a full fridge, cook top, micro and dishwasher. On the not-so-positive side, the entire block is under construction or vacant, boarded up buildings. The windows in our room are not even close to sound proof so be prepred for lots of street noise. There are blinds, but no curtains on the windows so lots of light comes in. Housekeeping is adequate, but not impeccable. We chose this for its proximity to the convention center, but i doubt I'd return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Eldon Luxury Suites on New Year's Eve 2012. We chose this hotel because of its cheap price and location in DC near the Convention Center metro station. This hotel definitely lived up to its good reviews. The rooms are spacious and modern. We got a free upgrade to the Freedom Suite, and ended up entertaining some friends there, so it was great to have the nice living room area and kitchen. The hotel is located in a part of town that's seeing a lot of development, so the neighborhood will change a lot in the coming years. There's not really much in the way of restaurants or bars right near it, but the metro station is only a few blocks away and Chinatown and other neighborhoods are only a short walk away. The hotel is also about a block away from the Convention Center so if I had any occasion to be there, I'd definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is a real find, especially at the price we paid ($108+tax&parking via travelocity). We happened to need to switch hotels on Xmas eve and this deal came up. It's a luxury experience in a small, modern, boutique hotel about 3 blocks from the Metro. Pros: Beautiful, modern, one- bedroom "condo"; gorgeous granite/stainless full kitchen; luxury shower with full body jets which my family LOVED; really clean...I'd say spotless; comfy beds and bed linens; space for family of four (master bedroom plus fold-out couch in living room). Cons: none for us, but reading other reviews, I will agree that the stone floor is cold (bring slippers or wear those provided by the hotel); TV is only in the living room; no full-length mirror; no restaurant/pool/gym on site; towels were so-so. Overall, the experience so exceeded our expectations that the cons were inconsequential to us. We will definintely stay again if price is comparable to other suite hotels.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view but not sure which rooms would have a view. Have to ask front desk for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn
#85 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
The Henley Park Hotel
#72 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Downt...
#64 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#65 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Cambria Suites - Washington, DC ...
#38 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eldon Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eldon Luxury Suites

Address: 933 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eldon Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Washington D.C. Convention Center and the Mount Vernon Square Metro Station, The Eldon Suites is at the center of D.C.'s new downtown. With one, two and three bedroom units and Penthouse ranging from 650 to over 1500 square feet, The Eldon truly defines stylish, exclusive accommodations right in the heart of the nation's capital just a short cab ride to the White House, the US Capitol, the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian, and walking distance to many popular attractions in Washington D.C.Originally built in 1929 by David L. Stern, the current redevelopment project at 933 L Street in NW Washington D.C. is part of an ongoing revitalization of the neighborhood and has resulted in a completely renovated interior as well as a historically restored exterior. The luxury units include granite floors, custom wood walls, sumptuous bathrooms with side shower massage jets, and luxury fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops and full-size appliances. Plus, there are queen size sofa beds in all units. The Eldon offers an unparalleled experience of elegance and style unequaled anywhere in Washington, D.C. There are 50 luxurious apartments/guest rooms, including four spacious suite layouts that delight the senses. Balancing substance and style the suites are indulgent in design, with sumptuous bedding, lavish bathrooms, world class amenities andstate-of-the art in-room entertainment technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Eldon Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eldon Luxury Hotel Washington Dc
Eldon Luxury Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eldon Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.