We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than youth hostel, worse than a motel; no WiFi in the room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of District Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added District Hotel Washington to your Saves list
District Hotel Washington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Austin, Texas
1 review
“better than youth hostel, worse than a motel; no WiFi in the room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The accommodations were very basic; there wasn't even a coffee maker in the room. The location is really good, but that likely won't be enough for me stay here again. The thing that prevents me from going here again is that there was no internet connection in the hotel room. The friendly front desk advised me to use my computer in the lobby. But the lobby has a youth hostel feel to it.

They really need to add true WiFi access.

Another thing: turning on the bathroom light, also turns on the bathroom fan. This fan is VERY loud and pretty much drowns out any other sound. So you can't shave while listening to anything.

One more thing: the cleaning supplies cart was parked right outside my room. This is usually parked inside a janitorial closet. But during the 48 hours I was there, the cart never moved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Old room that had not been renovated in at least 25 years. Cracked tub in shower, missing light bulbs above sink, grimy old carpet, stained bed spread. I should have checked TripAdvisor before booking at this hotel.
Location is just 2 blocks from the metro and 15 min walk to the Mall or GWU. Front desk staff was fairly helpful with providing directions around town. If you like the location, make sure you get a good deal on price, because I would not think it is often sold out.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CD430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for 3 nights, Sept.5-8. It was a pre-paid reservation through Expedia. We only stayed 1 night. It was one horrible night.
We went there all the way from.Puerto Rico. It was a quick getaway, and the pictures looked nice. I didn't see the reviews on this site...never again. If I would have read all these comments, I would have avoided one of the worst nights if my life. This place needs to be shutdown immediately. The smell is foul, the room is disgusting. The door did not close, the staff is rude...please, DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE WE MADE: DO NOT STAY HERE. We could not get a refund, but we didn't care. We checked out on Sept. 6 and went to the Holiday Inn on C Street. It was heaven, and our vacation was saved. The District Hotel is a dump, and on Monday I'll call to require an inspection from the Health Department.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

OK, that's a pretty basic hotel, bathrooms are a bit old and equipment is not top of the top, but I found staff friendly and the location is really excellent, 15 minutes walk from White House.
Don't expect huge variety at breakfast, although we did not have problems of refills.
There is a great "Whole Foods" supermarket minutes away.
My only real criticism is about aircon, which is REALLY noisy.
Should this hotel be in a remote suburb, I would rate it as "Poor" (for the price), but for our family trip, it proved "Very good".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtonsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulee Dam, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked a room on the web handled by Hotelopia. When getting to the hotel for checking in there was no room available, the hotel staff claimed that there had been some rooms 'out of service'. They had relocated us to another hotel further away from the city to a room without a daylight window in the basement, that did not like. Trying to contact the Hotelopia and get a refund was unsuccessful so we had to accept the other hotel.
It is very strange that from one evening to the afternoon the other day that rooms just no longer are avaliable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Bo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The people at the front desk is amazingly rude, they doesn't help you, they have terrible mannners. The cleaning service never give soap, we have to take one ourselves. The breakfast it's very simple (waffles, pancakes,coffee, non natural orange juice) and runs out veryfas, if you ask the hotel guy to refill something he says only ask another one. There is one latin guy who speaks spanish (my first languague) with the staff but whenever I ask him anything in spanish he always speaks in english. The bed is old as the hotel, the room is very tiny, there's no way you open to bags at the same time. The room's door open from inside in the way to the hall not to your room, it always seems to be open even if its not. The walls are very thin you can listen everything other peoples say. There is no closet, the elevator its been broken for a long time. DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL

Helpful?
2 Thank terehu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We found District Hotel on the hostels website but booked en-suite room for 2 of us. We were pleasantly surprised when we got there as it is a small hotel. It is old but very nice and clean. The elevator does not work so ask for lower floor if you do not want to walk 4 levels with your bags. The breakfast is included and they have an awesome waffle maker. If you go earlier, we found more options for bagels and bakery goods that we did not get when we went there at 9am. Breakfast is from 6:30 to 9:30am. Our room was very small with tiny bathroom but we had TV, AC, table and phone in the room. They have free WiFi as well as free business center and printer. Only 1 out of 3 computers worked so it is better to use your own in the room. They also had ice machine so we enjoyed our cold drink at night. Considering hotels are very expensive close to the centre, the location is very good. It is 10 min walk to the closest subway (you have few to choose from) and 20 min walk to the White House. The walk is great but if you cannot handle 40C weather, it might be hard. We were in Washington for the 4th of July and it is very hot. Spring or fall might be a better option to travel to this city. There is also Whole Food supermarket as well as liquor store close to the hotel. You can take a bus/subway/bus to Dulles airport but for us Super Shuttle (1-800-blue-van) seems like a better idea. Ask them if they have a promotion. We only learnt later that it is only $5.00 for the second passenger ($10 regular price). We did not get discount online as you need to put a code “ride” when making reservation. The service is horrible, the girl hang up on us when we called to talk about it but we got to the airport without hassle. Enjoy your stay. It is a beautiful city and great vacation destination with or without kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#112 of 138 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#119 of 138 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#105 of 138 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#114 of 138 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#109 of 138 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#116 of 138 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing