We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of District Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added District Hotel Washington to your Saves list
District Hotel Washington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simple but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

OK, that's a pretty basic hotel, bathrooms are a bit old and equipment is not top of the top, but I found staff friendly and the location is really excellent, 15 minutes walk from White House.
Don't expect huge variety at breakfast, although we did not have problems of refills.
There is a great "Whole Foods" supermarket minutes away.
My only real criticism is about aircon, which is REALLY noisy.
Should this hotel be in a remote suburb, I would rate it as "Poor" (for the price), but for our family trip, it proved "Very good".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    70
    106
    75
    152
See reviews for
44
122
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coulee Dam, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked a room on the web handled by Hotelopia. When getting to the hotel for checking in there was no room available, the hotel staff claimed that there had been some rooms 'out of service'. They had relocated us to another hotel further away from the city to a room without a daylight window in the basement, that did not like. Trying to contact the Hotelopia and get a refund was unsuccessful so we had to accept the other hotel.
It is very strange that from one evening to the afternoon the other day that rooms just no longer are avaliable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The people at the front desk is amazingly rude, they doesn't help you, they have terrible mannners. The cleaning service never give soap, we have to take one ourselves. The breakfast it's very simple (waffles, pancakes,coffee, non natural orange juice) and runs out veryfas, if you ask the hotel guy to refill something he says only ask another one. There is one latin guy who speaks spanish (my first languague) with the staff but whenever I ask him anything in spanish he always speaks in english. The bed is old as the hotel, the room is very tiny, there's no way you open to bags at the same time. The room's door open from inside in the way to the hall not to your room, it always seems to be open even if its not. The walls are very thin you can listen everything other peoples say. There is no closet, the elevator its been broken for a long time. DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We found District Hotel on the hostels website but booked en-suite room for 2 of us. We were pleasantly surprised when we got there as it is a small hotel. It is old but very nice and clean. The elevator does not work so ask for lower floor if you do not want to walk 4 levels with your bags. The breakfast is included and they have an awesome waffle maker. If you go earlier, we found more options for bagels and bakery goods that we did not get when we went there at 9am. Breakfast is from 6:30 to 9:30am. Our room was very small with tiny bathroom but we had TV, AC, table and phone in the room. They have free WiFi as well as free business center and printer. Only 1 out of 3 computers worked so it is better to use your own in the room. They also had ice machine so we enjoyed our cold drink at night. Considering hotels are very expensive close to the centre, the location is very good. It is 10 min walk to the closest subway (you have few to choose from) and 20 min walk to the White House. The walk is great but if you cannot handle 40C weather, it might be hard. We were in Washington for the 4th of July and it is very hot. Spring or fall might be a better option to travel to this city. There is also Whole Food supermarket as well as liquor store close to the hotel. You can take a bus/subway/bus to Dulles airport but for us Super Shuttle (1-800-blue-van) seems like a better idea. Ask them if they have a promotion. We only learnt later that it is only $5.00 for the second passenger ($10 regular price). We did not get discount online as you need to put a code “ride” when making reservation. The service is horrible, the girl hang up on us when we called to talk about it but we got to the airport without hassle. Enjoy your stay. It is a beautiful city and great vacation destination with or without kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

ok, the room was about 1 foot larger than the bed, which was only a double, the bed was broken. then the toilet didnt work, when we informed the front desk, they told us to fix it. im not a plumber, i dont know how to fix it. When i told him I could not fix it, they laughed at me. would not move us to another room, had a room without a toilet. DO NOT GO HERE

Room Tip: best tip to get a better room, go else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here for a week in June while in DC for work. Check-in was pleasant, and the clerk offered me a room on the bottom floor. The room itself was shabby and lacked easily accessible electrical outlets for charging my gadgets, but it was clean. The bed was covered with a comfy and sparkling white duvet that surprised me, given the dated carpeting and strictly business towels. No sign of bedbugs or any other beasties, and believe me, I looked. The furniture is the style described as "brown furniture" in the antique trade -- working class wood furniture from the 1920s-1950s -- and the carpet was definitely spotted and worn. The internet worked as promised. The air conditioner worked very well, and the room was positively chilly until I turned it from 65 (!!) to 75. Breakfast was marginal: fresh waffles (but just 2 irons), bagels and cream cheese, and very nice walnut bread; coffee, tea, and orange juice to drink. The same thing everyday, from 6:30 to 9:30, with the Washington Post. I made a plate and took it back to my room to avoid the crowded sofa & coffee tables arranged in two conversation groups. It is a bit of a walk to the metro, and yes, by the time you're there, you might as well walk if you're headed to the White House/Smithsonian/Convention Centre area. I found the walk down 14th, 15th, and 17th interesting -- each street has its own character and I got to experience more of the city this way. Be forewarned, however, if you're not accustomed to 30 minute brisk walks. The immediate neighborhood had several good restaurants (10 minute delivery for excellent Thai food from Teakwood), a nice coffee shop with wireless, and a 7-11 two or three doors down. These amenities -- and the pleasant walks -- really convinced me of the value of staying here rather than at the much more expensive downtown hotels nearer my work. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with a toddler last May 2012, I was nervous after reading some reviews about this hotel. We got a king bed with an alright size room, it was clean and the carpet was new, even the bathroom was new seems like they just renovated it. We checked everything, there was no bedbugs at all, the walls are thin though and yeah the elevator is not working but a little exercise in the stairs is fine. We did not eat their for breakfast so I can't say so much about it but when we pass by the lobby in the morning, it was crowded coz theres a lot of people eating breakfast there.

My experience in this hotel wasn't as bad at all compared to some reviews, but if you go to DC and looking for a place to just sleep and shower and not staying in your room like you're in your honeymoon, this hotel would be a good price and location.

Room Tip: You might wanna be there at 3pm check in time so you can get the first better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Hotel Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.