We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, welcoming and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Guest House

International Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Guest House
1441 Kennedy St NW, Washington DC, DC 20011-6824 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spotless, welcoming and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for here for 4 nights when visiting Washington. We were warmly welcomed by our hosts Orv and Clita , and shown to a spotlessly clean room which was attractively furnished and the beds were very comfortable. Orv helpfully explained about the local buses and where to eat locally. We were able to buy metro cards at the guest house. The house is staffed by volunteers from the Mennonite church who go out of their way to be helpful and friendly.
The house is attractively furnished with polished oak floors and has a very friendly, warm ambience.
We always looked forward to returning in the evening to have a supper of homemade biscuits and tea with our hosts and fellow guests and chatting about the events of the day.
At breakfast we always began with devotions which was a nice calming start to the day. Breakfast was continental and orange juice,cereal, homemade granola, muffins and tea and coffee were served every morning.
The house is in a quiet street, is cleaned daily and is a delightful place to stay at a very reasonable cost.
It is near 2 bus stops, and buses run about every 5 to 10 minutes to the city.
We would highly recommend this guest house and would definitely return there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had a delightful overnight stay at this guest house. It is set on a lovely street with accessible parking in front. The volunteers who manage it do an outstanding job. Everything is spotless.The Ladies Restroom which is located on the 2nd floor is large and most likely recently updated. There is a separate tub and shower. Guest rooms are on the 3rd floor. Nicely decorated and the beds are super comfortable. Hardwood floors throughout the house. Sitting and breakfast rooms are on the 1st floor. In the evening the staff serve fresh brewed tea and homemade cookies. It was a pleasant way to relax and enjoy meeting other guests. Everyone who works there is warm, friendly and very helpful. All this at an extremely reasonable price. Couldn't ask for anything better!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Last weekend my friend and I had the pleasure of staying for the first time in the Int'l Guest House. It felt like a fun trip into the countryside, only we were in the heart of D.C. - beautiful patchwork quilts on the beds, homemade breakfast family-style with all the guests, and the most gracious, friendly, positive, interesting host/hostesses. The facility is clean, inviting, and makes you feel relaxed and at ease. Conversation flows between the diverse guests (Dominican Republic, Holland, and several states were represented during our too-short visit). I stayed at a different hostel in D.C. last year - and enjoyed the experience. But this Guest House now tops my D.C. list. The volunteer staff made us feel like long-lost friends and could not have been more accommodating. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Bathroom may be on a different floor than your bedroom. If you have an issue with stairs, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

$80 for my wife and I including parking, wifi, breakfast and all taxes. You will have to ask if u can have yr own room otherwise it will be dorm style. Note they are all single beds and bathrooms are not ensuite. In fact the bathroom may be on another floor! Run by Mennonite volunteers the Breakfast starts w a prayer and soon there is interesting conversation around the table among guests and volunteers. 11pm curfew and need to be out of room for short time while they clean. Nice LR and all amenities of a house. We are going back next week. Safe and pretty location. One bus straight to White House every few minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The International Guest House is such a great place to stay. The room was comfortable and the whole house was clean, top to bottom. Breakfast of warm muffins was a yummy way to start each day. Evening tea time was really fun. Each night, the host would suggest a topic of conversation, but by our last evening there, so many of us had been there for several nights, the host didn't even need to start conversation. The house is conveniently located between 2 bus routes that take you to the mall and are easy transfers to other Washington DC attractions. The staff at the Guest House were very helpful in finding our way. There are some stores and restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a place to store your own food, so you don't always have to eat out. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The price is what catches the eye (it's great value), then perhaps the location (it's a bit out of the way) - but investigate further and you'll find one of the most interesting and unusual accommodation options in DC.

The IGH is run by Mennonites, a Christian group who advocate simple living and nonviolence. Though I share these convictions, I was a bit nervous about staying there as I'm not religious. I shouldn't have worried - my wife and I couldn't have hoped for a more welcoming place to stay on our honeymoon trip.

The place is scrupulously clean, the rooms are comfortable and (importantly in DC) air-conditioned, but it was the host couple and the volunteer staff who really made the visit an absolute joy. Everyone was so friendly and pleasant, and this mood seemed to pass on to the other guests, all of whom were fascinating people in their own right. Chats over breakfast and in the evening became highlights of our trip to Washington.

Let's be clear - if you want all-night partying or sybaritic luxury (nothing wrong with either, of course), this isn't the place for you. But if inexpensive, comfortable, wholesome-warm-welcoming tickles your fancy, this is a great option. Certainly I'd take this over a faceless Holiday Inn-clone stop every day of the week.

Oh, and I could start talking about the breakfast muffins and the home-baked cookies at evening tea - but I'll let you discover those yourself!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here last year and it was awesome. This year there were different hosts and a different vibe. It was not as clean as last year. The floors were very creaky and the beds had something to protect the mattress and it seemed to make a crunching noise every time you turned over. Last year our beds were made each day and you got a fresh towel. This year we got a different towel but our beds were not made.

The tea time and breakfast were still great. It was a wonderful time to chat with the other guests. The have added fresh fruit and peanut butter to breakfast which is wonderful to have an option other than bread, muffins and cereal.

The hosts are very knowledgeable and can help you get anywhere you need to go in DC. Overall our stay was fine, but we probably would not stay there again if we were in DC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Address: 1441 Kennedy St NW, Washington DC, DC 20011-6824
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added International Guest House to your Saves list