We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Washington DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
Save Saved
You added Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Price Click B&B Site
Ranked #23 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Ivy Mansion is a great place to stay while in Washington DC. Dana is an amazing host. Dupont Circle is a very quiet and beautiful neighborhood. The Dupond Circle subway Station is only 5 minute walk from Ivy Mansion. In our room, we had everything that we ever needed. We had our own bathroom, sitting area, pantry and even a small sitting area in the back of the unit.
We will definitely recommend The Ivy mansion to anyone looking to stay in a B&B in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The location of Ivy Mansion was great. The owner was very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. It is in a nice neighborhood. Though parking in the area is at a premium, there was free on-street parking available nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Came here for a concert at the Verizon Center and our weekend getaway for our anniversary. Excellent location; Dana provided a parking pass so it was not a hassle once we were stationary. Room is BEAUTIFUL; we stayed in the Ella Jo. Amenities have completely updated bathroom and bedroom. Was very relaxing and serene, and exactly what we needed. Would definitely come here again if another Groupon goes up. Breakfast is continental and exactly what we needed; did not feel crowded, which we were worried about since this was our first experience in a B&B.

Room Tip: I only saw the Ella Jo, but it is big enough for either a couple or a small family to enjoy when vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great location. Accommodating and friendly. We arrived late (100am) and they gave us the combination to the lock box that contained our key. Would stay here again on my next visit to DC. Room was large and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First of all, the owner-manager is a very nice and helpful person, she will really make you feel at home. The room we stayed in was pretty big, very good bed and linens. The only not so great thing is the bathroom`s location, even though it is for your own use only, it is outside the bedroom. It was not a problem for us this time, cause we were the only guests the two nights we stayed there. The neighborhood is nice, safe and quiet by night, and only a block away you´ll find restaurants and convenience stores. There are buses and subway nearby, but you can easily take a 20 minute walk to the White House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We loved the location of this place. We stayed in the Garden Apartment for a few weeks. The quality of the accomodation was average. Not amazing but not too bad. The owner Dana was nice, but a little disorganized. The kitchen was not stocked very well. Overall a good fit for what we needed but there are probably nicer places out there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIvyMansion, Owner at Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback; guest commentary is the main way that I can improve the experience of staying at the Ivy Mansion B&B! Since your last visit, I replaced the cookware with a larger set and increased the dinnerware and cutlery sets from 4 to 8 place settings. The new microwave--larger and jazzier what with the fun metallic red color--complements the existing blender, coffee pot and tea kettle. I will place a reminder in the guest manual (which certainly has helped me to become more organized!) for guests to ask for anything at all that is not in the apartment.

Also, in spring 2013, I replaced all the carpet, the dining table set as well as the futon-- all fully functional before, but the new style is more sophisticated (see management photos). Hope to replace the sofa bed and coffee table in early 2014 and welcome all ideas! I'll post them on our facebook page! www.facebook.com/TheIvyMansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Apartment at the Ivy Mansion for 6 nights. Our son was living in Washington so he suggested this place. We drove from the Chicago area to Washington, D.C. Dana gave us a parking pass for the week at no extra charge. If you do drive and park there just be aware of the street cleaning signs. The apartment was just like home, full kitchen and washer & dryer. The bedroom had plenty of space and the bed was comfortable. Wi-fi was also included so I could use my I-pad while there. We parked our car and took the Metro all week. The DuPont station is a quick walk from the Ivy Mansion. There were plenty of restaurants and shopping in the area. Dana did all she could to make sure we were comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Address: 1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Washington, DC Bed and Breakfast inn offering vacation, business and short term rental accommodation. Exceptionally located in the heart of Dupont Circle, the Ivy Mansion will make your stay in DC comfortable, convenient and cost competitive. We are a 3-minute walk to the Metro, steps from the Hilton Towers, and a short ride to the Convention Center, White House, Marriott Wardman, Smithsonian Museums, and the National Mall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Mansion At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.