We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
Save
You added Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Price Click B&B Site
Ranked #19 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This property is in a great location for wonderful restaurants & and is very close to transportation. It is a two minute walk to Connecticut Street which is lined with wonderful shops & place to eat. The Metro train is just around the corner and provides a simple way to access the Smithsonians and the Zoo.

The house is nice and breakfast was self serve. Very happy with the value for price! The neighbourhood was great and seemed to be in a very affluent area.

Tip: If you are light sleeper bring ear plugs! The floors are very sqeaky (it's an old house ... to be expected!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I recently spent three months as a visiting scholar with a DC university, and took accommodation at the Ivy Mansion. When I left in December, it was my home away from home.

It is difficult to speak highly enough of the Ivy Mansion. The proprietress, Dana, promises 'gracious living' and 'gentle prices' and that is precisely what she delivers - and more. The Ivy Mansion is located one short block from vibrant Dupont Circle, yet is quiet, private, and personal. The building itself is beautiful and Dana has tastefully decorated each room to reflect the character of three incredible women.

I stayed in the Annie Bell room on the second floor. The other guests were all delightful people and made the stay all the more pleasant. I had been traveling in the States extensively and over a number of months, staying in hotels. This became a very lonely existence, but that changed when staying at the Ivy Mansion. Another long-term guest who stayed in the apartment above became a great friend and showed me around DC and surrounds. Dana herself has terrific knowledge of her fabulous city and also provided me with cheap tickets to events at the Kennedy Center.

I would happily and enthusiastically recommend the Ivy Mansion for both short stays and for longer term accommodation needs. You will not be disappointed. I look forward to returning to DC with my family and we will definitely stay with Dana at the Ivy Mansion.

Thanks Dana, and thank you Jim and all the other guests who made my stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: The Ivy Mansion has a number of accommodation options. Speak with Dana, who can offer flexibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we arrived the owner was not home as previously advised due to a family issue as such it took us a while to figure out how to get in but we did. We went up to our room which was very large and nice, the wood floors were creaky but that is expected in an old house.

The location was great and nice and quite. The shared bathroom was not a problem at all and the shower head was great!

Breakfast was included but was limited supplies due to the owner not being there but did not bother us as we found what we wanted fine.

We had a lovely night with the other guests who were staying and it felt like a home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I always imagined how it was to live in a Brownstone in DC, and finally realized this dream at Ivy Mansion while attending a conference at the nearby Hilton.

One difficult thing with being on the road for work is that sense of alienation as you tend to stay in gray hotels most of the time. Ivy Mansion instead gave me that warm feeling of going home after being in a hotel the whole day.

Looking at maps, Ivy Mansion looks far from the Dupont station, but actually, the distance makes only for a short walk since the blocks in Dupont are not kilometric like those at the National Mall. Dupont itself is made for walking, with nice shops and restos along the way. It is worth remembering though that Dupont can be an expensive area to stay in.

I stayed in a second floor room, with shared bathroom. But since there are only two bedrooms in this floor, there is little traffic in the bathroom. My own bedroom has a king bed and even a daybed.

Floors do squeak, but it is natural in a house of this age. Though the house is old, it has been renovated and is very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The location is fantastic! You can’t beat it. It’s on a beautiful, tree-lined street near DuPont Circle. Just around the corner within an easy walking distance are several wonderful restaurants: Bistro du Coin, La Tomate, Bistro Bistro, Pizzeria Paradiso and a Starbucks, of course. We had great dinners at all these restaurants and also a nice breakfast at the Café DuPont in the Hotel DuPont. The Phillips Collection museum is just one block down the street (if you like Renoir, you have to go there!). The Ivy Mansion is a nicely remodeled, well-maintained older home. We were in the third floor suite. It was very clean, spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has double sinks and a great shower with lots of different shower heads. This room also has its own A/C which helps on the warm, humid days. We met Dana, the owner, briefly and she was very helpful and gave us a lot of great tips on where to go for dinner, etc. Unfortunately, she had to leave our second day there, but she left us with pretty much everything we needed for our stay and gave us her number to call with any questions. The breakfast is just help-yourself cereal, English muffins, fruit, and yogurt, so the main thing is to be aware that if you want a big breakfast, you will have to go out. I would definitely stay at the Ivy Mansion again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Dana was very kind & accommodating. She has a lovely place and knows her city. Great location and one of the best areas for dining in DC. One of the best spots is the French "Bistro du Coin"... literally a block away. Great atmosphere, cafe style, great menu, great desserts, reasonable.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I stayed in the Ivy Mansion from January - March 2011, after returning from a foreign service posting abroad. The room I rented fell within the limit of the Home Service Transfer Allowance that I received upon my return to Washington, and negotiating payment with Dana, the proprietor, was a breeze. In addition, Dana’s bookkeeper provided me with timely receipts for reimbursement purposes. The B&B was perfect for my temporary stay in Washington—with kitchen access, washer and dryer on site, and linens provided, everything I needed was on the premises. The room was cozy and private, and the location was perfect—right off Dupont Circle, and steps from the Red Line Metro and countless restaurants and bars. This B&B would be a great fit for other medium-term residents of Washington, DC.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Address: 1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Washington, DC Bed and Breakfast inn offering vacation, business and short term rental accommodation. Exceptionally located in the heart of Dupont Circle, the Ivy Mansion will make your stay in DC comfortable, convenient and cost competitive. We are a 3-minute walk to the Metro, steps from the Hilton Towers, and a short ride to the Convention Center, White House, Marriott Wardman, Smithsonian Museums, and the National Mall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Mansion At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.