We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle
Save Saved
You added Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Price Click B&B Site
Ranked #23 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The location is fantastic! You can’t beat it. It’s on a beautiful, tree-lined street near DuPont Circle. Just around the corner within an easy walking distance are several wonderful restaurants: Bistro du Coin, La Tomate, Bistro Bistro, Pizzeria Paradiso and a Starbucks, of course. We had great dinners at all these restaurants and also a nice breakfast at the Café DuPont in the Hotel DuPont. The Phillips Collection museum is just one block down the street (if you like Renoir, you have to go there!). The Ivy Mansion is a nicely remodeled, well-maintained older home. We were in the third floor suite. It was very clean, spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has double sinks and a great shower with lots of different shower heads. This room also has its own A/C which helps on the warm, humid days. We met Dana, the owner, briefly and she was very helpful and gave us a lot of great tips on where to go for dinner, etc. Unfortunately, she had to leave our second day there, but she left us with pretty much everything we needed for our stay and gave us her number to call with any questions. The breakfast is just help-yourself cereal, English muffins, fruit, and yogurt, so the main thing is to be aware that if you want a big breakfast, you will have to go out. I would definitely stay at the Ivy Mansion again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Dana was very kind & accommodating. She has a lovely place and knows her city. Great location and one of the best areas for dining in DC. One of the best spots is the French "Bistro du Coin"... literally a block away. Great atmosphere, cafe style, great menu, great desserts, reasonable.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I stayed in the Ivy Mansion from January - March 2011, after returning from a foreign service posting abroad. The room I rented fell within the limit of the Home Service Transfer Allowance that I received upon my return to Washington, and negotiating payment with Dana, the proprietor, was a breeze. In addition, Dana’s bookkeeper provided me with timely receipts for reimbursement purposes. The B&B was perfect for my temporary stay in Washington—with kitchen access, washer and dryer on site, and linens provided, everything I needed was on the premises. The room was cozy and private, and the location was perfect—right off Dupont Circle, and steps from the Red Line Metro and countless restaurants and bars. This B&B would be a great fit for other medium-term residents of Washington, DC.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the apartment for five nights. It was clean and comfortable and felt like a second home. Dana was extremely helpful, recommending restaurants and attractions. Very convenient to the Metro, great restaurants, and upscale Connecticut Ave. shops such as the Kid's Closet. Located on a quiet, residential street one block from the Phillips Collection, an excellent art museum. Walking in the very safe neighborhood gives you the opportunity to see many embassies.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Opted for this instead of hotel when I came to DC on business. What a find! Hostess was awesome and could come and go as I pleased. So close to metro, shops and restraurants (be sure to check out Teaism and their special salty oat cookies right around the corner). Place was immaculate, beds super comfortable with extra pillows and clean sheets. Help yourself continental breakfast was perfect with quick healthy cereals and yogurts. Accomodations are so great that I will never stay anywhere else in DC if there is a room at Ivy Mansion - I'm serious! It's that good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFayette, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We highly suggest the Ivy Mansion for your stay in DC. IT's a great location. Safe neighborhood, close to metro, eating and fun!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Couldn't find a more gracious host and idyllic setting. The rooms are great and so close to everything. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle

Address: 1705 21st St NW, 21st & R Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Washington, DC Bed and Breakfast inn offering vacation, business and short term rental accommodation. Exceptionally located in the heart of Dupont Circle, the Ivy Mansion will make your stay in DC comfortable, convenient and cost competitive. We are a 3-minute walk to the Metro, steps from the Hilton Towers, and a short ride to the Convention Center, White House, Marriott Wardman, Smithsonian Museums, and the National Mall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Mansion At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Mansion at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.