We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would lobe to get to stay there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #67 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
A TripAdvisor Member
“would lobe to get to stay there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010 via mobile

The one thing was a dirty toilet. It didn't ruin our stay because the service, room, and location made up for it. Loved that it was in the heart of town. The room was a tad small but to be expected of an old building. The staff were very courteous and the restaurant has the best quiche and french toast for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    399
    164
    63
    34
See reviews for
178
258
63
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

It is a good location for sightseeing. The walk isnt easy but it is doable and the cab would be about $10 to the national mall.
there are some good bars and clubs very close to the hotel in the evenings.

The hotel itself is quite pleasant and definately one of the better crowne plazas I have visited. Staff are courteous and helpfull and the starbucks on the ground floor is convenient for morning coffee (although there is also a machine in the room)

The club rooms are tastefull and there is some interesting information on the previous uses of this historic building

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed at the Hamilton for business and conference. Great friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good location to all of DC(via metro). Should be top 5 choices for any business traveler doing business in downtown DC.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Was in D.C. to see the usual tourists sites, so Crowne Plaza Hamilton worked for us. 7 blocks to the white house, just a bit further to the national mall and the main museums. Plenty of restaurants were nearby. Just a $16 cab ride from DCA. airport

Hotel is a bit older, but they spend on the key renovations so still comfortable and appealing.

three tips :take the city bike tour which hits many key tourists sites

was able to get a 5% rebate on my stay info at www.rebategal.com
good for 5% rebate at all priority club hotels.

Old Ebbit's Grill restaurant was very good

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Crowne Plaza Washington, located at 14th / K street is just a short walk away from the White House, the Mall and the Capitol. Metro's just a block away and the bus to exciting Georgetown is in front of the door. As a Starbucks store is in the house and even provides room charge, the infrastructure could not be better. The hotel itself is located in a historic buildung. The lobby is restored nicely while the rooms are refurbished and comfortable. As upgraded due Platinum status in Priority Club we got a suite for an unbeatable rate, which was an outstanding value. The suite was modern and nicely furnished. Most of the staff were helpful and nice. The staff in the restaurant 14k, where we had complimentary breakfast was not as professional as extected. Large groups and plenty of guest led to slow service. That might be improved by the management. Parking is 34 $ for valet and the charges for internet are 12,95 $. In my eyes internet charges in the US are not state of the art and should be removed. All in all, nice stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I've stayed at the Hamilton for business and decided to take my girlfriend for a few days to site see. We had a great time and the hotel was fantastic. We got in very early on Wednesday morning, yet they still let us check-in and bring our bags to our room. I'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We enjoyed my stay here. My sole purpose was to see the memorials and monuments and this was the perfect location. Everyone I encountered was extremely polite and helpful not to mention accommodating...I had to check out by 12pm but my car was able to stay in their garage until 5pm - that helped a ton. I will say room was just a tad small and there were a few cosmetic repairs needed but all in all this was a great hotel. I will definitely consider staying here again in the future.

had a Starbucks - huge plus!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.