We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #60 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for three days at The Hamilton on our first visit to DC and overall I would recommend this hotel. Its location is excellent, just a five minute walk from the White House and very close to a well-connected Metro station, making sight seeing very easy. Also, the breakfasts were very good. We had booked an executive room and this meant that we got a continental breakfast included and I would recommend this option to anyone as you not only get a bigger room but also good value from the breakfast - lots of fresh fruit, pastries and toast.
On the down side there are a couple of things which could be improved. Without doubt the main failing of this hotel is the lift/elevator situation. There are allegedly four, but it seems that only two are ever working at any one time. They are small (max. 6 adults, less if you have luggage) and the result was tiresome queues waiting for a lift (or if one did turn up, a lift with enough space to fit in).or stops on almost every floor on your way down (we were on the 12th) as there were so many people waiting for the lift.
We also had a few issues with our room but, to the hotel's credit, they did give us a courtesy call to check if all was ok and they did correct two of the three issues - the third related to a leaky seal at the base of the toilet which I guess would not be immediately fixable but was unpleasant nevertheless.
However, the best thing about this hotel is the beds. It would not be an exaggeration to say that these were the comfiest beds I've stayed in at a hotel. After a long day of sight seeing these beds were amazing- super comfortable with high quality bedding, absolutely brilliant.
So overall, a hotel well worth considering if you are in DC.

Room Tip: If you go for an executive room you get free continental breakfast included- well worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Jbro1979,

We appreciate you sharing your expereiences during your recent stay with us. We are certainly very happy that you enjoyed many things about your stay from the service to the comfortable beds and the location itself.

During your stay, our property did also unfortunately have elevator issues that impacted our guests heavily. This situation was resolved with the Elevator Company and our Engineering department working cohesively together. While I am happy it is resolved, the fact that it impacted so many guests is disheartening as a Hospitality professional.

We would be honored to have you return in the future to assure you that all aspects of your commentary have been addressed.

At your service,
Nicole, Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    521
    181
    72
    39
See reviews for
247
325
71
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I ended up here after our other hotel over booked. I was not disappointed! Very helpful staff when we first arrived. Hotel and rooms were beautiful. I believe my favorite thing would have to be the Starbucks downstairs! The only thing I would say about the hotel is the elevators are extremely small, talk about claustrophobic! Breakfast in the morning was very good, would definitely recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Stephanie p,

We appreciate the recent comments you shared regarding your stay with at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza. It was a pleasure for all of us to be at your service and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel was close to all the major attractions and within a very short walking distance to the Metro. The staff was very nice and helpful. I was disappointed with cleanliness of the room, normally I complain but I just didn't want it to ruin my mini-vacation. The glass top by the TV had a glass ring, the headboard had grease marks from someones head (i cleaned it), the bathroom had dust and hair on the floor and floor had drips of something on it. I opted to just clean it myself. The second day the cleaning crew forgot to replace wash rags and the bath mat.

Overall the room was very modern and the styling of the hotel was very charming. Maybe that is what won me over in the end to not complain. The bed was much to be desired, not something that I would have liked to lay on after a long day of walking.

On a side note, I know it was not intentional but the valet left blue pen marks on the leather on my door panel. Which doesn't come off easily, so I was very upset that they didn't take the same care that I do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear MrsNeh18,

We very much appreciate you sharing your experiences during your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. We do recognize that there are some areas we can improve upon and I have personally spoken to the appropriate department managers that will be addressing the items which you have noted. We appreciate all commentary to ensure that we act upon it appropriately to ensure all future guests will be fully satisfied as well.

We would be honored to be at your service once again for your next visit to the Washington, DC. and you can reach out to me directly to set this up. More importantly, you would be able to experience the changes made to ensure complete satisfaction.

At your service,
Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent 3 nights on Cherry Blossom Festival weekend at the Hamilton. Room was pleasant and quiet--we were facing the inside and not the street. Restaurant appeared pricey for my standards but the hotel is within walking distance of the Country Bakery at the corner of F and 14th, where one could eat for a reasonable cost. A Starbucks is attached to the hotel next door as well. The electronic keys to get into the room seemed to continuously have "issues"...which happens many places and is not exclusive to the Hamilton by any means. Wifi in Lobby. Beds were nice and soft. Ventilation could be controlled or shut off completely for absolute silence. On measure I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear rollingstone730,

Thank you for sharing how you enjoyed your recent stay with us during the Cherry Blossom Festival. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so much about your stay and know that appropriate managers have been alerted for noted areas we can improve upon.

We very much look forward to being at your service once again the next time you are visiting Washington, DC.

Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.

Actions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dover
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff was very helpful and the rooms were great. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean, plus the hotel was in a great location. The check in and checkout were very easy and the staff made the check out time flexible to our needs without a problem. The only problem was the club level needs to have a bit better service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Vermonttours,

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed so much about your stay and know that appropriate managers have been alerted for noted areas we can improve upon. Our overall team ensures that each of our guests has a wonderful experience and it is satisfying to know that we met your expectations on many different levels.

We very much look forward to being at your service once again the next time you are visiting Washington, DC.

Nicole G., Director of Rooms Division
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I picked this hotel based on price and TripAdvisor reviews. We had a king room which was comfortable and very nicely decorated. The Staff at the hotel was extremely helpful and we took advantage of the Valet parking. There is plenty to do in the area and even though it's a long walk to the museums, there's so much to look at on the way. I would stay here again next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Greetings thecressmans,

We love when the headline of a review reads "Great Stay". Thank you for ensuring the Trip Advisor community is aware of your experience. Our team takes great pride in meeting all of our guests needs and they go out of their way ensuring this happens.

It would be a pleasure to have you with us again the next time you are in the Nation's Capital.

Thank you again,
Nicole, Rooms Director
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My sister and I stayed her and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel and rooms were cute and comfortable. The best part was the location! We were able to walk everywhere! That made the trip very convenient. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear GishFish,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to being at your service for your next visit to Washington, DC.

Nicole, Rooms Director
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#81 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#54 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#88 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C...
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.