We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned hotel providing great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #61 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned hotel providing great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from the White House and only a couple of miles from the National Mall, so it is in the heart of D.C. downtown area. In addition to the typical sightseeing for Washington D.C., i would also recommend you walk north a block or two for amazing churches devoid of tourists (truly a gem for D.C.).
One of the major perks of this hotel is the room+parking option, which is a great value! It may not be available on typical online reservation websites, though, so consider calling the hotel directly.
As for the interior, the hotel is housed in an old building, yet it strives to deliver lovely ambience and typical room amenities a guest would expect from Crowne Plaza class of hotel.
All in all, this hotel offers very good value for money.

Room Tip: our room was in front of elevators, and i could hear some of their noise (didn't disturb my slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Eugene D,
Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope the next time you are in Washington, DC that we can be at your service once again.
Nicole, Rooms Division Director
Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    521
    181
    72
    39
See reviews for
247
325
71
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Hamilton over Christmas week with a family or 5 and highly recommend it. Walking distance to the Mall and a short taxi ride to the Zoo. We were very happy with the rooms and the included breakfast was amazing. Best of all were the staff !!! Better service then almost any hotel we ever stayed in and we have stayed in many top end hotels, but they beat them all. By the way they allow small pets to stay on the 3rd floor, so we brought our little dog. There is a park right across the street when we needed to walk the dog.

This hotel is first class and a bargain to boot. Dont even bother to look elsewehere in Washington DC.

Room Tip: Dont bother paying for a park view..... you are not there for the views from the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear llistwa, Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful to read your comments and know they have been shared with our entire team. Our goal is to ensure that each of our guests has an amazing rewarding experience and we are happy we met that with your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to being at your service again during your next visit to the Washington, DC area. Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was very bad! The shower's water was too cold!! We told them this and they did nothing!! The room service was terrible! They do not clean room well! It is not a calm place! And they charge you for every simple things!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Parinaz1,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and where our hotel fell below your expectations. Thank you for bringing this feedback to our attention as the comments we receive from guests like you is used for coaching/training purposes.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The pictures sold me on the hotel and the low price was the closer. Sad to say I got what I paid for. The rooms are nicely decorated they are modern and newly updated. There is a Starbucks on site which is convenient. However, my room didn't have a closet or a place to hang clothes anywhere. The room faced a wall and the location is not great as I would have preferred it to be closer to Pennsylvania Avenue. The walls are paper thin and they provide ear plugs along with their sewing kits...that was odd. However, all of that was tolerable until...our toilet backed up and stayed that way all day long. It didn't flush in the morning and we didn't have time to call when we were getting ready. We forgot on our way out to tell the front desk and then figured housekeeping would advise when they came to clean the room. Well Housekeeping obviously doesn't clean toilets here. When we left at 8:00 and returned at 10:30 pm our bathroom smelled horrible as the toilet was still backed up. I called the front desk and told them I didn't understand how the person cleaning the room didn't report this problem. They had nothing to say and didn't apologize for the oversight. Just said they would send someone up. The fact our bathroom didn't really get cleaned was disgusting to say the least. Our fault for not reporting but their fault for not opening a toilet to clean it. Will not be staying again. What else do they not clean here!!!!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room facing a wall and without a closet or place to hang clothes. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear TravelStickerQuest, Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.
At your service, Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have stayed here several times on business, most recently in early December. Located at 14th and K and across the street from DC Coast, a favorite DC restaurant, the hotel is just a few blocks from many downtown office locations. You can easily walk to the MacPherson Square metro station and from there get anywhere in DC. The lobby is small but well appointed and comfy and there's a Starbucks just down the hall from the reception desk. I booked online for my last visit and reserved a park view room facing 14th street. Do not do this. The park in question is Franklin Square, which is inhabited by loud, rowdy homeless people and squawking police cars at night. After two nights of no sleep, I asked to be moved. My next room, though smaller, was on the tenth floor on the other side of the hotel and was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. The rates were good for DC and I would definitely stay in one of the quieter rooms here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on "the quiet floor" away from 14th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Grizzlies901, Thank you for your review and we appreciate you sharing your experiences during your recent stay with us. We will certainly be taking your review into consideration and know we are currently in the midst of replacing all of our guestroom windows for our guests to enjoy a restful nights sleep. Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with a 5 star stay when you return. At your service, Nicole, Rooms Division Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel. I had a couple problems at check in, but the manager Joseph and guest relations took care of it right away. I was very impressed. Also the restaurant in the hotel was nice as well. The food was excellent and the servers Cori & Gino were simply amazing. We were in town for a friends 21st birthday. This hotel suited us very well. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Ariana M, We appreciate your review and thank you for your comments. All of our team members/managers strive to provide excellent service to ensure your stay is most enjoyable and it is great reading that this took place during your stay. We hope that you'll return to stay with us again when you find yourself in the DC area. Nicole, Rooms Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Location:

Great location in the heart of DC. You can walk to the White House and other monuments/attractions and is two blocks from the metro. Lots of restaurants and lounges around to have fun.

Service:
The hotel staff is absolutely the most pleasant and helpful staff I have ever came across. We had a conference and the staff went above and beyond their duties to ensure our guests were satisfied and our event was a success.

Amenities:
Standard comfortable beds in a standard size room. 3 of us stayed in a room with two double beds and were comfortable. I was knocked out as soon as I hit the bed. The rooms and bathroom were clean. Although, my view wasn't the best view, I had other friends that stayed in rooms with a great view of the city. As a coffee drinker it was a delight to have a Starbucks in the lobby. The food at the hotel restaurant is delicious. I had the wings which were fantastic!!!!! The burger was even more delicious.

Other:
You would not need a car staying at this hotel as the bus stop is only a few steps from the hotel and taxi's are readily available at your service. In addition, the metro is literally one block away.If you do decide to drive, the hotel has overnight parking and there are cheaper parking garages within walking distance of the hotel.

Overall:
I had a great stay and the would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sunita M, Thank you for the amazing review of your recent stay. Our team takes pride in every interaction that we have with our guests and it is wonderful to read when they have accomplished all we strive for daily. We hope that you'll return to stay with us again and we would be happy to do our best to get you into a room on a higher floor with a view. At your service, Nicole, Rooms Director, Hamilton Crowne Plaza, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#82 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#54 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#88 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,637 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C...
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington DC Down...
#83 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.