We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #60 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We Loved It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are looking for a great hotel in the heart of DC, this is it! We stayed at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza during a long DC weekend. The location is perfect, 1 block from the Metro and also close to one of many DCs bikeshare stands. The hotel is posh without being stuffy. Decor is historic and its just the perfect hotel for a walk thru history. National Mall and Monuments are 3 blocks away! Theres a very nice bar in the lobby and a Starbucks is attached to the hotel. It doesnt get better than that in my opinion. We loved it!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor facing Franklin Park. Theres a great view of the Washington Monument...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear mrod27,

We just love reading reviews like yours. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to your return so that we can continue to wow you.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    521
    181
    72
    39
See reviews for
247
325
71
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I book a 5-night stay through hotwire and got a very good rate during the government shutdown. We were given a room with quite possibly the worst view in all of DC. It is my assumption that due to the fact that we paid such a low price for the room (below the listed price on their website) that this is the room chosen for us. The heating/cooling unit in the room made a consistent tapping noise whenever it was in use. The room was decorated nicely with updated, modern, and comfortable furniture.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear kirvol,

We are quite sorry that the you found the view from your room to be unsatisfactory, unfortunately being in a downtown city area we do have some rooms that aren't the best view but do provide excellent shelter from the outside noise of DC. And of course for those who prefer rooms with a view, we do have our deluxe level park view rooms that are situated over Franklin Park. We hope that you were able to have a very successful time in DC during the shutdown and hope you'll be back soon. And thank you for the feedback about your stay.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I loved the hotel rooms and the location very close to everywhere. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful . Rooms very clean and nice park view but the beds were not comfortable. But overall experience was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Management at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear MIdo M,

We sincerely appreciate the great review you've shared with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to having you back again very soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location close to the national mall and china town. The hotel is extremely nice, the lobby is especially nice. The bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning as a bit loud (but it was not a big issue and would not stop us from staying there again) Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice room, wonderful large comfy bed and great bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful and the onsite restaurant was good. But please...can US hotels cater for people who drink hot black tea with milk! A jug to boil water and some teabags would have been perfect. Very close to the white House and National Mall. I have been disappointed with hotels chosen on the internet but not this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful building, great location, nice decor that blends modern and traditional. Way better than a lot of the cookie cutter hotels you'll find in the area.

There were a few details that were off for me. Most important, the windows in my room on the 10th floor were obviously failing - there was condensation between the panes and there is a lot of street noise (an issue since the street outside the hotel is a major bus thoroughfare. I'm a city dweller, so I slept fine, but lighter sleepers may have issues.

The second issue was the wifi. $13 per device and the service was poor. I had to hold my computer by the door to get consistent coverage in my corner room. If you're going to charge me, you should make sure the service works from the desk in each room.

Room Tip: There's a park to the south side - nice view to have.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Rooms Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear 1987312,

We appreciate the time you've taken to review your recent stay with us. We're very pleased that you had a good nights rest at our historic hotel. Please accept our apology about the internet service that you experienced. It sounds as if we may have had a router go down during your stay that would have required you to use a wireless access point that is a bit further from your room. We certainly hope that if you brought this to our attention while you were here that our team was able to get everything worked out for you. We are also going to begin offering complimentary WiFi beginning in 2014 for guests who are enrolled in a FREE loyalty program, IHG Rewards.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope you'll be back again soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excelent location, nice room. But charging for the internet and for each device? I was charged twice for using my iPhone and MacBook on the same day!!!
Any way the room was clean, nice bed, and big. There was a constant noice on the shafts during night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Daniel R,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Be sure to join our free IHG Rewards program to receive complimentary internet access for all of your devices at over 4600 hotels beginning in 2014. We look forward to having you back again soon.

At your service,

Joseph Meuse
Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#81 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#54 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#88 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,640 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters in Washington, D.C...
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington DC Down...
#83 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.