We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #63 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a family trip to attend a function at the National Press Club and we made a four day weekend out of it.
The hotel is in a very good location, we could walk to a lot of stuff. All service people, door men, porter, check in, conceirge, bar & restaurant staff were excellent. The room was very good, lobby and entrance were very attractive.
We were on the third floor right at the front. Not much of a view because of the facade over the entrance, but OK. There was not much street noise.
The Starbucks off the lobby was handy for take back to the room breakfast. The restaurant food was very good. Happy hour prices in the bar (M-F only) were nice. We ate supper in the bar twice, once from the bar food menu and once from the restaurant menu.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Planetjim,

It's always a pleasure to read such a wonderful review. Many people say location is everything and we are lucky to be in an excellent location but we believe it is the staff that makes the hotel and we are even luckier to have an excellent staff as you have mentioned.

Please be assured that your praises will be shared with our teams and we all look forward to being able to serve you again on your return to D.C.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    487
    177
    70
    38
See reviews for
220
304
70
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nites while in DC. Very central location within walking distance to tourist sightseeing and attraction, and pretty safe to walk back late at nite. Breakfast included was great and fabulous with smoked salmon and shrimp as part of full range of american buffet. Good quality settings in room and bathroom.
Downsides - room size relatively small especially when you have 2 large luggage; executive lounge is closed from Fri-Sun (of all things on days when you have spare time to use it); probably the few hotels that still practice charging guests for wifi; add-on daily parking @$22++; valet only (+grautity) which takes away the spontaneity of traveling with a 15min wait for your car to be accessible. So considering all these, it is pretty pricey. But then what else do you expect from pricey DC. As the old saying - politicians and politics do not come cheap for the public purse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Gary_Bris,

We’re quite pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had the opportunity to experience our new weekend brunch menu. In regards to the valet time, with our hotel being a Historic Hotel (http://www.historichotels.org/) our hotel was built before the age of underground parking garages so we utilize a parking garage a block away. As you mentioned, our Executive Lounge is closed on the weekends but as everything we are always re-evaluating our practices and looking for new ways to add to the enjoyment of the guest experience and will take your comments into consideration.

We look forward to being at your service once again when you return to D.C.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent 5 great nights in the Hamilton Crowne Plaza in May 2012. The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing being only 10 minutes from the White House. We were upgraded to the executive level through my Priority Club platinum status which gave us a very comfortable spacious room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant serve good tasty food, staff very friendly and efficient. Only downside executive area closed at weekend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear David L,

Well it appears our staff did a wonderful job of placing a lasting memory with you during your stay. I have some wonderful news for you, since your stay, we have done a complete renovation of our guest rooms. I encourage you to view them on our website and hope that you’ll come back to see us again on your next trip across the Atlantic.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiryat Tivon, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for business - very good internet connection, bed is comfortable, breakfast is very rich with good selection (besides the coffee which was poor). Lunch menu is very basic, though.
location was an advantage for my purpose (both business and some sightseeing).
Very expensive, like the rest of the hotels in that area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Shai R,

Your review of your recent stay is much appreciated. We are quite pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and your comments about the lunch menu have been passed on to the Food and Beverage Team. We are always looking for new ways to delight our guests and many things we do come directly from reviews just like yours.

We hope that you had an opportunity for sightseeing while you were in town and hope that you'll have the opportunity to come back for more a pleasure trip and leave the business at home.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great tourist stay location. EVERYONE was very friendly and courteous. Rooms were immaculate and bathroom was well lit, large, and very clean. Only downside is the windows/noise. The windows are either very old or just bad windows. Lots of night life sounds come in through the night and we were on the sixth floor. Didn't bother us as we were exhausted each night and passed right out in the very comfortable bed. The location is great, well within walking distance of the tourist spots and two blocks from most of the main subway lines. The bar staff was amazing and worked their butts off election night while we were there. Bottom line, for the price, this hotel far outperforms anything else.

Room Tip: High as you can get and away from park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Adam K.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your recent trip to DC. Election night...what an exciting time to be in DC! You are definitely right about having a great location for all the "tourist spots" as well as some great local spots. And of course with that great location does come with the "city noise" that you mentioned but are extra comfy beds generally put even the guest who just finished a cup of coffee in our attached Starbucks right to sleep.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location. Everything in DC is very close, a quick walk or short cab ride. We had our 12 year old son with us and it was great for him as well. Every time we went in or out of front door someone was there to open it I saw a review of this hotel and someone mentioned the park across the street and homeless people . The truth is at night they are not there and all over DC there are homeless people. Hotel was better than I had hoped. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Lisa R,

You’re review is much appreciated. We know that when travelling to a city like DC you have many options for lodging and as you said we go have a great location. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to our Nation’s Capital.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was maybe a good one but this is no more the case. One elevator only is working. Rooms are not that large. Wi-fi is not included. Guests are noisy.
No need to ask a room overlooking the square, windows are so dirty that you cannot look outside.
Food is just American.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Patrick D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent trip. I see from your post that you found our hotel to be oldish and that is definitely not what we aim for our guest to perceive our hotel as being. Based on the fact that you said you stayed in October leads me to believe that you may have stayed in one of our pre-renovation rooms, as we have just wrapped up a complete renovation of all of our guests rooms and lobby area in October and the new rooms are quite modern. We also just have the all exterior windows pressure washed recently as well.

I do encourage you to visit our newly redesigned website to view images of our new rooms and perhaps on your next trip to DC you will give the Hamilton a second chance. We hope to see you again and thank you for the feedback.

Best Regards,

Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.