We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #68 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for a short business trip and was really impressed with the service and amenities of this hotel. I stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms which was extremely comfortable (great bed) and unique among hotels catering to business travelers. The location is superb and the food in hotel restaurant is delicious. To top it off, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Person-from-Porlock,

We are all very pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms. We are quite thrilled to say that our renovation is not complete and we have 318 superbly appointed guest rooms now.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent trip and we look forward to serving you next time you return to our Nation's Capital.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    429
    167
    65
    36
See reviews for
199
274
66
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room I stayed was completely renovated, modern, classy and very comfortable. The bed was so comfortable that I am now on the hunt for a very similar mattress for my home. The room is furnished with all the modern conveniences - and well designed. Very clean and all of the staff members were friendly and accommodating. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and an excellent restaurant that offers tapas that are reasonably priced and you get a lot for your money. I loved the fish tacos, so much so, I had them twice :-).

This is the 2nd business trip where I stayed at The Hamilton and I love this hotel and highly recommend it.

Special shout out to Ravi, the hotel manager, who arranged a special rate for me to extend my stay (paid for personally, not the company) and also personally walked me up to my room with my bags. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure that you are in a renovated room on a lower floor. The elevators were sometimes slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Tracy D,

It truly places a smile on our faces to read such wonderful things about our staff, service and hotel. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that our team is doing such a wonderful job. You can be assured that your praises will be shared with our teams.

We hope that you'll remember all these wonderful experiences when planning your next trip to Washington DC.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hamilton room extended a good corporate rate for my weekend stay.
Cleanliness - The room was clean when they came - nice decor.

Location - It was slightly inconvenient to most of the areas that I wanted to hang out in, about a 15 min ride to U Street/Georgetown areas. However, very convenient for downtown.

Service - The cleaning team didn't come back to clean one night after trying to clean when I was still in the room. They knocked aggressively to ensure that we checked out on time on Sunday, which was annoying. But the staff downstairs was fantastic - went the extra mile!

Food - I had a lovely afternoon sipping wine and snacking on the patio at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear kkf114,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. In regards to the location, it is very true that we are quite convenient to the downtown business districts, Smithsonian museums and all the monuments but a short ways away from Georgetown and the U-Street corridor but we are located on the corner of 14th and K where both DC Circulator bus routes pass. Both of those bus routes are only a $1 per person and run all day at about 15 minute intervals so perhaps for your next trip that might be an alternative option for you.

We also appreciate the feedback in regards to the housekeeping services and that will be passed on to the housekeeping management team so that they can address it with their team.

We hope on your next trip you’ll come back and be our guest again and we can show you that we are better than just good enough.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for business purposes, however had some time to enjoy the beauty of the city (now, my favorite from the US apart from whole Hawaii's ones).
This was because the staff really helped me out to plan what to see, where to buy, what to expect... And the food is really good, speciacially the morning's buffet plenty with great options. And a plus: right inside the building, am exclusive entry to a Starbucks ;)

The rooms are really comfy and modern but classy.

But the best part was the location, in the middle of the area where the White House, the Smithsonian museums and the Washington monument are.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Arelittle,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to DC. We are quite glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time visiting one of your new favorite cities and that our staff helped to achieve this for you.

We hope on your next trip you’ll come back and be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Joseph Meuse
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hamilton is a grand hotel in a fantastic location just off K street in DC.

Staff were very friendly and professional.

My biggest issue was that the room was somewhat outdated and VERY noisy (despite asking for a quiet room). This made sleeping quite uncomfortable. Also, the sink was outside the bathroom and part of the room (i.e with the moquette, etc...). Quite odd.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Paradectral A,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so glad you liked the great location of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. I am sorry for the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations. I am also sorry for the experience you had with the noise. I understand the discomfort this has caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned from 4 fabulous nights. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment which on day one caused us a small problem with a lack of hot water (a workman had burst a pipe I believe) After a couple of hours the water was back on and we were compensated with a bottle of sparkoing wine and chocolate coated strawberries which were very much appreciated. The hotel's location is perfect and I must compliment the hotel on the food - it was simply superb, we ate there every night. All of the staff we so friendly and helpful they really made our holiday, in particular Mario the restaurant manager went out of his way to chat to us, provide advice and ensure that all our needs were met ( they were, and more) I would unreservedly recommend this hotel, the quality of our room and bathroom were excellant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

As will all of my reviews I like to start with the good aspects of a property and then provide the less than good portions of my review. Outside of being in the Caribbean, this property has the most friendly staff I have ever encountered in the U.S. Considering this is an East Coast property, that makes it ever more shocking. The workout room is really nice. Way above the usual Crown standards. They had 3 stepper/glide machines, 3 treadmills, 3 stationary bikes, dumb bells that went up to 50's, and 2 separate machines for the legs. The 14K bar is really nice and they have amazing deals for their happy hour (5 - 7 pm EST). Jose is the main bartender during the week and he is soooo friendly. A really nice guy that can pour a good drink. I strongly recommend the fish taco happy hour meal. The breakfast buffet was very nice as well. I really appreciated the omelet to order. They also had french toast, pancakes, fresh bacon and sausage to select from. An overall good breakfast experience.
The other part of this property that was enjoyable is the White House and Department of Treasury buildings are easily walkable. There is also a METRO site within 2 blocks for the blue and orange lines. I found this to be especially helpful as the blue line is what runs out of Regan International airport.
The downside of this property is that it was under construction while I was there. Now none of the 'dust' bothered me and it appeared as if they were done with the heavy stuff and were working on more of the decoration stuff. The bummer for me was the concierge level was completed but not up and running. I wasn't able to have the full concierge experience. That being said, it looked very nice and when it is operable I assume it will be at the usual Crown standards for that level of room.
The only down side is this is the East Coast and their idea of a 'spacious' room is far different than the rest of the U.S. I was upgraded to the King suite level super-dee-duper room and it was nice sized but not overwhelming by any means. The TV was large and had a great picture. I could see the Washington Monument from my room, so that was cool.
The only real 'problem' I had with the room was the phone. It was horrible. I let the front office know about it but I guess there was no fix for it. I think once the renovations are complete there will be a nicer phone but as it is now the phone stinks. The phone in the complementary business room downstairs was horrible as well. If you need to make calls, plan on using a cell phone not the room phone or the business center's phone.
The one point I think this property should advertise a bit more is there is a $15 per day fee if you want to access the Wi-Fi. You either pay the $15 or pay per minute, but the per minute fee is so high you might as well pay the $15.
When my business travels will bring me back to WDC and I do plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Be a platinum rewards member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.