We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabard Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tabard Inn
1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Quaint and lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

Amazing hotel, so much history and just wow. We shared a bathroom, but as it was a one night stay and we only used the toilet we did not find this to be a problem. It was well worth the money (you can have private bathroom).

Location was excellent, short walk to the white house.

The restaurant food was top notch.

And the room, it was gorgeous, old, classy, very pleased.

Thanks Tabard Inn.

  • Liked — The "old" feel
  • Disliked — Many stairs to climb, narrow and steep
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    34
    23
    13
See reviews for
24
59
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

The Tabard Inn has friendly staff, a good location, wireless internet throughout the hotel (our room was on the first floor) and a relationship with the YMCA around the corner with nice work out facilities.

The matresses leave a little to be desired and the price tag is a bit high for the 'ambience' of the hotel.

If you want to be in this area and the hotels are running high in price this might be a good option, but it is nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niftyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Great music scene in the living room area. I saw a senator. Delicious
restaruant. Good breakfast included. Interesting decorations. Knowledgeable, friendly staff members.

I have stayed here several times in rooms of all prices. The smallest
rooms are quite small but they are also reasonably priced. I did not mind sharing a bathroom. The largest rooms are absolutely spellbinding. Large, with inspired decorating and interesting personal touches.

I always stay here in Washington DC but rooms here are often hard to come by. Book well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olema
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

A friend told me about the Tabard and when I travel to DC (which I do about twice per year) it is one of the highlights of the trip. Great location, good prices, breakfast included and the option of dining on site in one of the best restaurants around. The place draws a great crowd and I have spent many an evening in the lounge sipping wine and pretending to read while listening to the great conversations around me. The place has wireless internet to boot! The staff is low key and friendly. The rooms are clean and pleasant with great accents and wonderful colors. I have recommended this place to many people. In fact several folks who were in DC for the same event stayed here and it was fun to all hang out. I'll be back and I'll stay here again. I don't mind climbing the stairs to a comfy room. A great hotel with the feeling of a B&B.

  • Liked — Great old building with lots of character.
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

Myself and three friends stayed at the Tabard Inn for two nights and fell in love with it straight away.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful.

The location is convenient and quiet and the restaurant fantastic.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will be urging anyone who visits Washington to get a room there.

  • Liked — The fantastic decor
  • Disliked — No TV in bedroom
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

I recently spent an evening at the Tabard Inn. The Inn is wonderful - eclectic, the staff is great, and the location is unbeatable.

We started the evening with cocktails in the lounge with the fireplace, followed by dinner at the Tabard itself. The food was great - about $160 for 2 people, with wine, taxes and tip included. At about mid-night, we headed out for a night on the town - many cool places are within a short walk or cab ride from the Inn.

The room was fine - albeit a bit small. But, it was clean and had a nice view.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

Having stayed in hotels of every class and location in Washington DC, I can say without reservation this is my favorite--at least for its romance, charm, location, and fantastic food. If you're looking for a standard American hotel experience--giant sterile rooms with a TV, clock radio, etc.--this is not for you. If you want a more European-style experience, complete with shared bathrooms (for the cheaper rooms), a working fireplace in the ultra-Victorian lounge, and friendly but often otherwise-occupied staff, this is the place for you. It also has free Internet and is located within a very short walk from the DuPont Circle Metro station, which puts you in the heart of the action. The restaurant is phenomenal--and a real breakfast is included in the price.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Address: 1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tabard Inn to your Saves list