We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight value, even better bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabard Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tabard Inn
Save
You added Tabard Inn to your Saves list
1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great overnight value, even better bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Charming, historic building in a great location. I loved eating breakfast in the courtyard and I enjoyed a few dinners that were more than respectable. The rooms are tiny and there are shared bathrooms which is to be expected with the price. I spent one night in the penthouse suite which was lovely! I have to say, though, that the best part of my experience was the bar. The mixologist who was working during the evenings was spectacular. She made amazing drinks. That might explain why I slept so well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    61
    37
    24
    13
See reviews for
26
63
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in April. Loved the unique decorating and our dinner was outstanding! The room was very comfortable. Need to be able to walk up and down stairs and step into a claw foot tub. Staff were very accommodating. Good vibe throughout!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A lovely spot, charming, with an away from it all feel...though in bustling restaurant-laden area.
Meal was innovative, interesting, tasty. Staff friendly and competent . Back patio a delight.inside warm, inn feeling

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Love this place for brunch when the weather is nice and you can get a table in the back patio. It really feels like a little secret in the big city.
Never stayed at the hotel so can't say anything about that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wandered over to the Tabard Inn over the past weekend for a late afternoon meal, and it was a wonderful experience. It is charming - and unpretentious. We sat in the lounge area which is mostly large old sofas and upholstered chairs - very dark and quiet - which was just fine on a day with a temperature over 100 degrees. If it had been a little more pleasant - the outdoor patio would have been very nice. The staff was absolutely friendly and helpful - and definitely enjoyed working at the Tabard. We shared the salmon plate and the white bean dip - they were wonderful. And the wine selection is also very good. Would definitely return to the Tabard - not far from Dupont Circle, and the Phillips Collection. And within walking distance to the Foggy Bottom metro stop - although there are other Blue Line train stops a little closer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week in Washington DC and wanted a different experience than a larger hotel. We found the Hotel Tabard Inn on line and decided to check them out. The rooms are quaint, very comfortable bed, and VERY quiet at night. We didn't have to experience the heavy door slamming you hear at large hotels. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were on a very casual vacation, and the restaurant seemed to cater to a more professionally dressed crowd. The only draw back that would keep some people from staying, is they do not have an elevator. My husband and I are very fit, but we did stay on the 4th floor and the flights of stairs would be prohibitive to older people, or those who cannot handle stairs. It is not a place really for people with disabilities. It is also in a great location, quiet street, and very close to the METRO, coffee shops and restaurants. The decor throughout the Inn is very interesting and adds to the uniqueness of the Inn. It is also close to a YMCA if you like to work out, swim, etc...

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs I would ask for a room on a lower floor. We booked a room with a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Tabard Inn for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! The rooms are very charming and the staff is very friendly! We stayed in the Penthouse and it was absolutely wonderful. Very spacious room with a private kitchen with fridge. The decor in the rooms is absolutely unique. Our friend stayed in a another room with a private bathroom and her room was amazing as well. Plus the tempur pedic mattresses in the rooms are a real treat.
The complementary breakfast seemed small when we read the choices on the menu, but it turned out to be plenty. The restaurant is very chic and is full of people who work in the offices in the area in the evenings. A nice little touch are the glass bottles of filtered water in the rooms to be environment friendly. When the bottle is empty, the guest can simply go to the reception and exchange the empty one for a full bottle. No unnecessary plastic bottles, yay!
The area is very nice, close to all the attractions (we walked to the White House and the trolley stop taking us everywhere around town). Although the inn does not have parking, there are plenty parking garages around, just check out bestparking.com, download a coupon, and you are good to go.
We will definitely return to Washington DC, and stay at the Tabard Inn!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Address: 1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.