We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as cute and quirky as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabard Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tabard Inn
Save Saved
You added Tabard Inn to your Saves list
1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“About as cute and quirky as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For our first trip to D. C., my husband and I took a chance and booked four nights here. The first night was a little noisy, but it proved either atypical or we simply got used to the sounds coming up from the restaurant. The location was ideal, close to transportation, shops and places to eat. Our room was charming. There are eccentricities in the decor, to be sure. I was initially taken aback by the glass brick wall between the bathroom and the hallway. Yes, if someone had wanted to look in, they could have probably made out our exposed forms. I draped a blanket over the glass and problem solved. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal we ate there and decided we stay here on subsequent visits. We recommend this hotel to anyone tired of chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    59
    35
    23
    13
See reviews for
25
60
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tabard Inn in January 2013. After staying in the penthouse on our wedding night we have returned periodically through the years after moving 1 1/2 hours away from the DC area. We have enjoyed the location, eclectic atmosphere and unusual assortment of "vintage" furnishings, but what we have in the past considered charmingly quirky has become dog-eared, threadbare, unkempt and unwelcoming.

On our prior visit we were in a room over a dining area, very noisy until late at night. So this time we requested a quiet room in the front of the hotel, and were given a room on the 4th floor. It was a real slog up narrow stairs with luggage and purchases (no elevator), to a room with no temperature control that was so warm we needed to open the windows, a very unpleasant experience since rowdy and noisy club goers traverse the block until the wee hours. The rug was threadbare and didn't look clean; as always the lighting in the bathroom and the room was horrible; outlets in inconvenient locations. No clock, coffee maker or iron in the room. Very uncomfortable mattress. No wi-fi as advertised.

The restaurant has always been a draw, and we have the Sunday brunch whenever we stay. The hotel will not book brunch reservations more than a month in advance, even for hotel guests. This visit we were joined by three guests for brunch, two of whom are Tabard veterans. We all agreed that the food was merely good, not the taste adventure the Tabard is (or was) known for. Perhaps their chef has changed, or he/she was on vacation. But when you add to the less than stellar food the mediocre service it is not worth bothering to mark your calendar to reserve a month in advance ... or not go to a different brunch venue. Since I had dined there several times, I had specifically requested a table away from the high-traffic area by the bar. The person I spoke with was contradictory and disagreeable and we were in fact seated exactly where I had requested not to be seated.

One of the still-attractive features is the cozy lounge areas. We decamped after brunch to a recently-vacated table in the front lounge. During the half hour we were in the lounge no one ever came to clear the prior patrons' glasses or clean the table. Our service in the lounge areas over the two days was so-so at best. Many of the servers (as in waiters/waitresses, not bus staff) and front desk staff seemed disinterested and disengaged, with a dash of superciliousness.

Hey Tabard Inn, the DC hotel and restaurant landscape has changed dramatically in the past 10-15 years, there are many attractive options in your price category. You are very much in need of a facility and attitude adjustment!

Room Tip: I wish I could!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed Dec 29 &30 at this historic Inn in Dupont Circle. I had always heard from friends how very much they loved dining there and were particularly fond of brunch on Sunday. So, as we were on our way to NYC, it seemed a half way point and we naturally decided to stay there.
Well, perhaps we stayed one (or even 2) nights too many. Parking was easily managed with the valet service but pricey (this is DC and we were informed by the Inn of the cost). The reception was covered by a "new" staff member who was unsure of some issues but was prompt in managing our check-in. Here is where things start to get difficult. Our room, #41, was on the fourth floor. We are by no means spring chickens and had a variety of bags and hanging clothing to carry as our trip extended beyond DC. When I asked for help, we were accommodated quickly by the general hotel maintenance staff (1 man). He was most helpful and fast. The climb up the stairs is daunting. Please do not book a room on the 4th fl unless you are fit and/or young and buff. That's the point where I should have asked for a room on a lower floor. I do believe we would have been accommodated. My error. The room--cold, no heat on. This is an old Inn with steam heat and the heat had been turned off. It took a good part of the night to warm up. Next day we needed a space heater-quickly delivered by the same general maintenance man who helped with our luggage the day before. The bathroom--well, not for anyone with limited mobility or balance issues. The design is slightly askew-desert sand tiles with a gold claw foot tub very difficult to get in and out. The design of the faucets and shower are completely without thought and the plug for the tub is a screw in metal plug located exactly in the middle of the tub. Suffice it to say, not safe and no hand rails for entry or exit. I must say, they need to replace the toilet seat. Enough on that. The entire sink faucet swings from right to left onto the sink itself allowing water to flow onto the floor. Tricky to manage but once you get water all under the sink, you figure it out.
The beds, the worst I have ever experienced in the USA. Slats that stick out from under the mattress. Mattresses that make you sleep on one side of the bed because the other is so uneven, you roll back to the overused side. I love old hotels and unique overnight settings. Some of my favorites include the New Oriental Hotel in Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka and tented camps in the African bush. The former were old but well kept with excellent service. The Tabard Inn in not well kept but does have good service. It is not shabby chic or chic or cute or unique or eclectic at all. It is old and run down and needs a makeover in order to make it shabby chic. No, I would not consider staying overnight there again.
The restaurant-very good. My husband had Brunch on Sunday and enjoyed it very much. I had the continental breakfast on the day we left and had lovely scones. Dinner the night before was so-so.
Sitting in the lounge near the fireplace was pleasant, but the sofa is so low, it is difficult for non-spring chickens to get up when leaving--then to the 4 flights up. Lighting is a problem in both the rooms, stairwells and the lounge. I could not read a book sitting near the fireplace. It was difficult to read in the rooms as well. The lighting is a problem. I think, had I brought these issues to the attention of the management, there would have been some change. But, I guessed, 2 nights and nevermore, I would rough it. Research your room thoroughly before booking. It is a great location in DC and so close to tourist attractions, it is too bad it did not offer the comfort we sought. I think it is a great gathering place for DCers for a drink, brunch or to listen to the occasional live music with friends. Overnight, not so much.

Room Tip: Nothing on the 4th floor if stairs are a challenge for you. Adjoining rooms have paper thin doors b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This historic hotel is well located, close to Dupont Circle and an easy walk to the White House, etc. however the "shabby chic" look seemed more shabby than chic. Our first issue was the service, which was not terribly friendly, and the valet was simply unavailable for 2 hours (parking in the area is very challenging). We stayed in a queen room with a private bath and while it had some nice touches, such as the filtered bottled water, the sink was located across the room from the rest of the bathroom, quite odd. The tempurepedic bed was very firm and uncomfortable, to the point where my arms fell asleep and I woke up whenever I wanted to turn in bed. The rooms are also fairly noisy, esp on a Saturday night. The lounge area is pretty neat, with a fireplace, but the lighting makes it impossible to read. Breakfast was ok, nothing special but the coffee was surprisingly good. We did not eat dinner there but the restaurant does have an excellent reputation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Loved the stay at Tabard Inn in Washington. It is a hotel with oodles of character. We were overlooking the historic church, walking distance from everything, and adored the lovely garden terrace, antique bar, and amazing brunch. The staff were super sweet and gave us a great "local" restaurant recommendation. I couldn't have been happier with my choice. If you want a break from sterile hotel chains, you can't beat the Tabard.

Room Tip: We had top floor room with bathroom in the hall next door and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Scenesetter: on our US trip we looked for unusual accommodation with a bit of character.

The Tabard Inn fitted these requirements exactly.

When we booked, the room size we wanted wasn’t available for all four nights, so we agreed to take the more expensive ‘penthouse’ room for two nights, and hope for a cancellation. Turns out there wasn’t a cancellation, so the hotel staff put us in the penthouse for all four nights but without charging us extra – great service.

The good stuff about the penthouse and the Tabard Inn more generally:
• excellent staff & service
• the penthouse is utterly enormous; fittings were an eclectic, delightful mix of vintage and modern furniture, wall art, ornaments, and plenty of lamps for indirect lighting
• two queen-sized beds with fabulously comfortable memory foam mattresses
• bathroom has a free-standing clawfoot bath with a shower fitting in it
• fast, free wifi
• powerful airconditioning
• really good restaurant for dinner
• really good bar; free live music on some nights
• comfortable lounge areas for patrons
• breakfast included – plain but good, additional menu items can be purchased
• short walk to downtown, hire bike stations, a rail/bus stop

To be aware of:
• there’s no elevator, and the stairs are steep and narrow. So if you have mobility issues, make sure you book a ground floor room and ask ahead for assistance with your luggage
• there was a kitchenette, but everything was locked up – clearly you weren’t encouraged to use it.

Small things:
• the shower setup could be improved – the curtain was ill-fitting, leaking water all over the bathroom

The hotel is clearly a local hotspot not only for accommodation but also entertainment; the restaurant/bar/lounge was full of locals on dates or meeting friends. If you’re travelling alone, it’s very convivial.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, make sure you book a room on a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is clearly a very cool, eclectic inn with a rich history. If you let your imagination go for a bit, you could almost feel that you're in a english lodge when relaxing by the fire. The ambience allowed for great conversation. The dining was perfect, the wine delicious. The pleasure of not having a TV in the room was certainly a big plus. However, be careful, the bed felt a bit too flimsy.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Address: 1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.