We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real conundrum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tabard Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tabard Inn
Save Saved
You added Tabard Inn to your Saves list
1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A real conundrum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Definitely charming, the old inn is loaded with atmosphere. But the room lights are very dim, rooms lack television and hair dryers, and there are no elevators. There is a beautiful lounge and restaurant on the first floor. Just be prepared for the quirky combination of antique and wifi. I am not sure I would have chosen it myself, but I was part of a group of 8, and someone else was in charge of accommodations. We were here 5 nights, and this seems like a two -night stay, in my opinion. Convenient to many sights and to Metro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    60
    35
    23
    13
See reviews for
26
61
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My first choice in DC. Charming, quaint, friendly and a reasonable price. Not your standard international business or family hotel. A little funky, but cool. And I used to live in DC, so I know about bassist Victor Dvoskin's very cool Sunday night jazz duos in the lounge. #1!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There really is no better spot in any city for comfort, service, location, charm and exceptional food! I love the old world ambience and the eclectic mix of art and vintage furniture....with a sense of humor! The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating....when two in our lunch party got caught in traffic and were nearly an hour late, they were gracious and patient.

The warmth in the lounge for late afternoon tea or a drink was cozy and inviting. This is an excellent value and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: We liked the quiet of a back room( #4)....cozy, quiet and good for sleeping. Great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fantastic quirky hotel in the Dupont Circle area. We ended up with only the penthouse available over the 9/11 week we spent in DC, so it was a bit expensive but certainly worth it. Wireless was a bit of a problem but they worked it out eventually. The restaurant is a real gem with outstanding quality and value meals for dinner and the breakfast staff and food are equally good.

Room Tip: check with the hotel and let them know what your room requirements are before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

If you spring for one of the larger rooms it may be better value but we paid over $170 per night for a closet and a share of a bathroom down the corridor. Really poor value therefore but the location is good (and the restaurant is great).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Charming inn with decent rates in a convenient location off Connecticut Avenue near Du Pont Circle. This is not a slick hotel, but that is a relief. The restaurant is excellent. The clientele is friendly, as is the management. Try not to stay in rooms on the alley in the back: it is noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

While the room (though cluttered) served its purpose as a base of operations - it's located perfectly for the White House, Washington Monument et al - the service for which the US is famed is sadly lacking. On check-in, after a surly swipe of the credit card, we had to then carry four suitcases up two flights of incredibly narrow stairs with no assistance. Not the worst place I've ever stayed by a long way, but I'd go elsewhere just for a smile and some assistance from the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Address: 1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.